We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seven Architecture Wales Weekend”
Review of Plas Curig Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Plas Curig Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Second year of exclusive hire at Plas Curig for our group of architects and their families. It's the perfect venue for a relaxed and informal group activity weekend - spotlessly clean, stylishly furnished and extremely helpful staff. Thanks for looking after us so well....we have booked exclusive hire again for 2014.

Room Tip: All rooms decorated in a similar style and all to a very high standard. Good quality double glazing...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SevenArchitecture
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (438)
There are newer reviews for Plas Curig Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

345 - 351 of 438 reviews

Reviewed August 25, 2013

This place is brilliant, A big friendly welcome on arrival, dogs welcome too. Clean comfortable room, very good shower rooms. A cafe for breakfast one side and a pub for dinner the other, or use the shared kitchen facilities.

Room Tip: All rooms are the same standard just different bed arrangements.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moragthehag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Had a wonderful stay at this hostel, firstly the decor was amazing, our room was clean with a lovely view, the bathrooms were extremely clean too.
Reception staff were amazing, very friendly staff, very welcoming, the lady (sorry cant remember your name) was very chatty and bubbly and Rob her partner was very knowledgable on the area and even took time out to show us routes on maps and advise us on different walks. They really made our stay. Thank you we will be back.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Silverfox0000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

stayed here for only a couple of nights whilst two of us went walking around wales.
it was perfect for what we needed. It definitely doesnt feel like a hostel, its kept sparkling clean, and is the perfect place to get your head down before your busy days.
Rob and Rebecca run the hostel and were so helpful and give the hostel a lovely welcoming vibe and made our trip even more enjoyable! x

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abby B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

What a wonderful hostel. Gorgeously decorated with a very comfy tv room and a well stocked library. We loved the bunks, really roomy, extremely comfortable beds and loved the curtains for privacy.The well equipped kitchen had everything we needed to self cater and there are 2 great hotels serving delicious food just a short walk away. Rebecca and Rob were fantastic hosts; so friendly and nothing was too much trouble. The views from the hostel are stunning and with Snowdon just up the road, you can't go wrong with Plas Curig hostel!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SarahB16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

OK, so Plas Curig is expensive for a hostel. But that's OK as they make that very obvious in their advertising and that gives you the choice, you can pay £12 somewhere else or £25 at Plas Cruig.

For your money you get a made-up bunk in a dorm and very well appointed communal areas. The bunk beds are solid (not the creaky old things you get elsewhere) and have a curtain closing them in so you get a reasonable amount of privacy and you're not keeping everyone else awake if you read at night. A nice touch is that each bed has a power point on the outside which makes it very obvious if you've left your charger behind on departure.

The sitting areas are nicely done, I'd be happy to have one as my living room. Plenty of books etc.
The kitchen is large and again very well done with plenty of everything and all very clean. There were even cafetieres for coffee snobs like me although powder coffee and tea seemed to be provided free.

The toilets and showers were again well equipped and done to a very high standard although some are quite small. Crucially the automatic cut-off taps and the shower were adjusted to give a decent run-on so they were actually nice to use, auto-taps which cut off immediately are a particular bug-bear of mine!
Actually, on that theme, the communal area in the foyer has an automatic light switch. I can see why they've done this and it is adjusted to a long setting but having to leap up and push the switch every so often does lose it's amusement value after quite a short time.

The staff were very friendly and super-helpful. The lovely woman who checked us in also got a weather forecast for us and chatted to us about our plans for the next day, she really made us feel welcome. And she gave us the low-down on the local pubs too!

If you feel you can justify a treat this is the hostel to choose.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Calvin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Surprisingly high quality decor and interior - cant fault it - the only thing that can let it down which isn't a fault of the hostel is if some guests don't heed the be quiet after 11-11.30pm curfew. Thoroughly recommended, I don't think you will find a better 'hostel'.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bradders901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Capel Curig
2.4 mi away
Swallow Falls Hotel
Swallow Falls Hotel
#6 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
539 reviews
4.2 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
757 reviews
4.7 mi away
Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
4.7 mi away
Ty Gwyn Hotel
Ty Gwyn Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
681 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Vagabond
The Vagabond
#4 of 12 in Betws-y-Coed
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plas Curig Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plas Curig Hostel

Address: Plas Curig Plas Curig Plas Curig, Capel Curig, Snowdonia National Park LL24 0EL, Wales (Formerly Capel Curig Youth Hostel)
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Capel Curig
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Capel Curig
Price Range: $64 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Plas Curig Hostel 5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Plas Curig Youth Hostel commands an impressive position in the heart of the Snowdonia National Park. This charming former YHA hostel has been stealing the hearts of many an intrepid traveller since 1945. Since 2010, Plas Curig Youth Hostel has become a family-run hostel offering clean, comfortable, homely, fun and most importantly cheap accommodation from which to experience the beauty of Snowdonia. This luxury hostel offers the best of both worlds to its guests – modern amenities with relaxed comfort. Everybody is welcome and we offer dog-friendly accommodation. Explore a timeless landscape overflowing with craggy mountains, wild moors, ancient forests, thunderous waterfalls and vast sweeping beaches.Our cheap accommodation means the magic of Snowdonia can be enjoyed by everyone. Bask in the enchanting scenery or take part in an adrenaline filled adventure. Snowdonia has it all! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Plas Curig Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plas Curig Hostel Capel Curig, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing