We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful place ran by lovely people!!”
Review of Plas Curig Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Plas Curig Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 12, 2013

stayed here for only a couple of nights whilst two of us went walking around wales.
it was perfect for what we needed. It definitely doesnt feel like a hostel, its kept sparkling clean, and is the perfect place to get your head down before your busy days.
Rob and Rebecca run the hostel and were so helpful and give the hostel a lovely welcoming vibe and made our trip even more enjoyable! x

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abby B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (452)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

362 - 368 of 452 reviews

Reviewed August 10, 2013

What a wonderful hostel. Gorgeously decorated with a very comfy tv room and a well stocked library. We loved the bunks, really roomy, extremely comfortable beds and loved the curtains for privacy.The well equipped kitchen had everything we needed to self cater and there are 2 great hotels serving delicious food just a short walk away. Rebecca and Rob were fantastic hosts; so friendly and nothing was too much trouble. The views from the hostel are stunning and with Snowdon just up the road, you can't go wrong with Plas Curig hostel!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SarahB16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

OK, so Plas Curig is expensive for a hostel. But that's OK as they make that very obvious in their advertising and that gives you the choice, you can pay £12 somewhere else or £25 at Plas Cruig.

For your money you get a made-up bunk in a dorm and very well appointed communal areas. The bunk beds are solid (not the creaky old things you get elsewhere) and have a curtain closing them in so you get a reasonable amount of privacy and you're not keeping everyone else awake if you read at night. A nice touch is that each bed has a power point on the outside which makes it very obvious if you've left your charger behind on departure.

The sitting areas are nicely done, I'd be happy to have one as my living room. Plenty of books etc.
The kitchen is large and again very well done with plenty of everything and all very clean. There were even cafetieres for coffee snobs like me although powder coffee and tea seemed to be provided free.

The toilets and showers were again well equipped and done to a very high standard although some are quite small. Crucially the automatic cut-off taps and the shower were adjusted to give a decent run-on so they were actually nice to use, auto-taps which cut off immediately are a particular bug-bear of mine!
Actually, on that theme, the communal area in the foyer has an automatic light switch. I can see why they've done this and it is adjusted to a long setting but having to leap up and push the switch every so often does lose it's amusement value after quite a short time.

The staff were very friendly and super-helpful. The lovely woman who checked us in also got a weather forecast for us and chatted to us about our plans for the next day, she really made us feel welcome. And she gave us the low-down on the local pubs too!

If you feel you can justify a treat this is the hostel to choose.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Calvin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Surprisingly high quality decor and interior - cant fault it - the only thing that can let it down which isn't a fault of the hostel is if some guests don't heed the be quiet after 11-11.30pm curfew. Thoroughly recommended, I don't think you will find a better 'hostel'.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bradders901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

I stayed at Plas Curig with some friends on a Friday and Saturday nights. We shared a 6 bed dorm. The room was big enough and functional (with plugs, mirrors, hangers, individual bed lights etc.). The beds were very comfortable – nice pillows. There are plenty of showers and toilets and I never had to queue. The bathrooms were fairly clean. The communal kitchen is huge and well maintained. The dining room was very pleasant too. The decoration is absolutely brilliant and gives atmosphere to this place. Storage for the bikes is provided. For £25/bed in a dorm it was a good value for money. I usually don’t like staying in hostels but I must say I have been impressed by the high standard of this place. The location is good as well - next to a nice café and short walk to a couple of pubs.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Crumpet2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hostel last night and all really enjoyed. We came as a large group (around 30 of us) after climbing Snowdon earlier in the day for charity. We finally arrived around 10.15 and the staff very quickly got us to our beds an more importantly showers (climbing Snowdon on one of the hottest days of the year gets quite sweaty!). A couple of us cooked our food whilst the rest relaxed in the communal areas. Kitchen had everything we needed to cook for such a large party. Showers were communal but fairly clean. Beds comfortable but the rooms very very warm. Decor was stunning. Thank you for a wonderful stay from all the team at Premier Inn South Wales.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kirstabelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We came here as part of a big group, who rented the whole place. I can say that it is without a doubt one of the best, and most fit for purpose for a group of friends, hostel I have ever stayed in. The place was spotless, rustic but not worn interior design, better bathroom facilities than my old university, better sleeping quarters than my old boarding school, huge kitchen and social eating area, close to a number of pubs, loads of parking.

Constructive comment: Maybe install some floor fixed irons in the bike store, for people to lock bikes to. Some peoples insurance is only valid if the bike is locked to an immoveable object.

I will be returning, no reason not to. Either with a group of friends or with my partner.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Capel Curig
4.4 mi away
Glan Aber Hotel & Bunkhouse
Glan Aber Hotel & Bunkhouse
#7 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
42 reviews
4.5 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#1 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
815 reviews
4.2 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bryn Tyrch Inn
Bryn Tyrch Inn
#1 of 1 in Capel Curig
361 reviews
2.4 mi away
Swallow Falls Hotel
Swallow Falls Hotel
#6 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
556 reviews
6 mi away
The Eagles
The Eagles
#3 of 12 in Betws-y-Coed
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plas Curig Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plas Curig Hostel

Address: Plas Curig Plas Curig Plas Curig, Capel Curig, Snowdonia National Park LL24 0EL, Wales (Formerly Capel Curig Youth Hostel)
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Capel Curig
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Capel Curig
Price Range: $43 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Plas Curig Hostel 5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Plas Curig Hostel commands an impressive position in the heart of the Snowdonia National Park. This charming former YHA hostel has been stealing the hearts of many an intrepid traveller since 1945. Since 2010, Plas Curig Hostel has become a family-run hostel offering clean, comfortable, cosy and fun accommodation from which to experience the beauty of Snowdonia. This luxury hostel offers the best of both worlds to its guests – modern amenities with relaxed comfort. Everybody, including dogs, are very welcome. Explore a timeless landscape overflowing with craggy mountains, wild moors, ancient forests, thunderous waterfalls and vast sweeping beaches. Bask in the enchanting scenery or take part in an adrenaline filled adventure. Allow us to help you experience the magic that Snowdonia has to offer! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Plas Curig Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plas Curig Hostel Capel Curig, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing