We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Hostel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Plas Curig Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Plas Curig Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing Hostel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

This is by far the best hostel I have ever stayed in. The location is perfect, in the middle of the mountains and a short walk away from Tyn Y Coed, a brilliant local welsh pub. The staff were really accomodating, and when we were past 10pm getting to the hostel due to traffic, they were willing to stay behind to ensure we could check in. The rooms are delightful, cosy, clean, comfy beds and the kitchen and lounge areas make staying here so much better than staying in a hotel. We were too staying at the hostel when the fire alarm went off (at 6.30, not 5.30 as stated in a previous review), and this was caused by a leak in the drying room that was through no fault of anybody at the hostel. The owners were at the hostel immediately and had a plumber out straight away, the water was back on after half an hour. This in no way affected our stay and you have to be understanding that these things can happen. The hostel is the perfect place to stay in Snowdonia, and I would recommend it to anyone. It will become new place to stay in Wales.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AbbiFry123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AAMac25, Owner at Plas Curig Hostel, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thankyou for being so understanding about the leak we had on this particular weekend, its nice to read a true version of events and I'm so pleased it did not effect your stay - the fire alarm going off. We really are happy you are going to be visiting again and we look forward to your next stay :) Best wishes Amy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    364
    19
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
73
42
45
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

£58 for a double room, no breakfast, no towels, trendy taps that don't work, change your own bedding, no house keeping, what's going on. I got a B&B in Llandudno for £50 with a great breakfast clean towels, housekeeping, tea making facilities a sea view etc.

We were woken at 5:30 by a fire alarm, the trendy taps had leaked onto the fire alarm circuitry setting the alarm off, plumbers, firemen and guests now up, kept us awake till we had to get up to vacate the place by 10am.

To top it all, I asked for public travel info to get back to our car parked at the coast, having back packed in over the mountains, old fashioned style. Train times for the following Sunday were given. A long walk to the station revealed no service on a Sunday, they couldn't get that right.

Youth hostels have gone trendy. The car park is full of expensive cars, the hostel is full of pretentious people they have lost their way. They are meant to be cheap and cheerful.

I wouldn't recommend it to any one.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AAMac25, Owner at Plas Curig Hostel, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
There is no point comparing us to a B&B – you may get more facilities but none of the communal areas we offer here and I know for a fact a B&B for £50 would not be as clean, comfortable or stylish as our hostel (private rooms are £56 not £58). Our prices are the same as most of the other hostels in the area and cheaper than all the B&B’s – we have done our research and are not out to rip people off. You also can’t compare Llandudno to Capel Curig as we are in the heart of the Snowdonia National Park - not 45 minutes away in a town.

I am sorry you struggled to read our website where it said no breakfast was provided and that towels are for hire – we cant really be blamed for that, it did also say this when you agreed to your booking online. Most hostels have chores and make you make your own bed AND strip it, so all we ask is that people strip their own beautifully made bed (you obviously haven’t done hostelling before?)
As for the sea view you would have had in Llandudno – can’t really compare our landscape to that either – we only have a view of Mount Snowdon from your bedroom window. Not bad really!!

As for our ‘trendy’ taps – we didn’t go out to the shops to buy exploding taps! – joking aside, obviously these things happen in any establishment or home. You even engaged me in conversation about the problems you were having about your own taps at home for an hour – so I presumed you were being understanding about the situation. This dilemma we had on the weekend could have happened in a 5 star hotel and they would have done exactly the same. If water is running through the electrics from a leak – you call the firemen to keep an eye out and plumbers to stop the leak – I am very sorry but we cannot be expected to delay this until you had your lie in. Consequently with all of our staff and some helpful customers we got all the water back on and everything cleaned up and the tap fixed by 7 am ready for the first load of early morning showers. All our other customers were very understanding and impressed by the efficiency. You didn’t have to vacate by 10am – your friend was till asleep in bed at 11am after we let you have a late check – out.

I really don’t think people are going to be put off by your review about a fire alarm and a leak as it obvious that this would not happen every day and has only happened once in 2 years so actually you have made it possible for me to explain how efficient and professional our team were in fixing a problem.

I am sorry that the National Rail website was showing inaccurate train times –how you can you blame the hostel for this? We don’t normally have to plan guest’s trips after they leave but we did this as good customer service – perhaps you should have investigated it yourself before visiting a remote location, we only tried our best and we are genuinely sorry you struggled to get home. As for walking 6 miles to the train station we definitely did not recommend this to you and would have happily booked a taxi for you or shown you bus times. As for backpacking the mountains – we have people who do this every day so I wouldn’t say it’s an old fashioned thing?? I also don’t know how you would have managed to hike the mountains of Snowdonia from a B&B in Llandudno – another reason why people pay £6 more to be in a great location.

As for calling all of our customers pretentious? I find this very offensive and narrow-minded. We have an array of people visit us from all walks of life and I don’t think they would appreciate you calling them pretentious . You did book into the only five star hostel in Wales and it is very clear from our website what kind of establishment we are so I think you only have yourself to blame.

After chatting to me and seeming very understanding of the situation with no complaints at all I am confused as to why you went home and to write this on tripadvisor? I was very polite to you and wished you all the best on your journey home and apologised profusely about the leak and fire alarm so I wish you could have been confident enough to complain to my face and then I could have done something about your unhappiness but it is too late now.

We are happy for you not to recommend the hostel to any of your friends as we feel you have totally miss-understood our concept and have been very unforgiving for matters that were out of our control.


Best wishes

Amy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

This really is a fantastic hostel. If you don't like it you have a massive problem and should probably speak with your GP, just to start with, but I'm sure they'll be other specialists you'll be referred to. In fact stop wasting your time and don't read any more of this review, just go ahead and book.
Why are you still reading? Fine. If you're going to keep reading then I'll keep writing.
Once you get there, go to the cafe next door for breakfast and the hotel down the road for dinner. Climb a mountain. Live your life. Use someone else's hostel milk to make your tea. Put down your laptop or apple device and give yourself to the outdoors. But remember to come back to reality afterwards - dreads, pois and a forced enthusiasm for any sort of "local cuisine", no matter how objectively disgusting - are not ok. This hostel strikes the perfect balance between the two - so stay in honest comfort and be happy.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank justinzero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AAMac25, Owner at Plas Curig Hostel, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Justin - this is such a kind review thankyou :) We look forward to seeing you a third time at Plas Curig!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands UK
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

This place oozes quality, the owners have done a great job of providing economy accommodation without skimping on anything. The beds and bed linen are incredible. My only gripe would relate to not being able to easily contact the hostel in working hours but it is a minor inconvenience and doesn't materially effect my overall positive view of this lovely place.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jcody58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AAMac25, Owner at Plas Curig Hostel, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay. We do strive to "provide economy accommodation without skimping on anything" and are so happy you can appreciate that. Our office is closed during the day and opens at 6pm until 10pm. Companies who work 9am-5pm should always email us and an appointment can be made to speak to someone in the hostel during your own business hours and at your convenience. We hope next time you stay you take this advice so that your trip can be even better. Thankyou again for your kind review and we really hope to see you in the future :) Best wishes Amy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

We stayed for two nights, and honestly have no criticisms of Plas Curig. Convenient location, lovely building and excellent facilities, comfortable beds, ample parking, and good kitchen and dining spaces.

The building has been beautifully renovated, with beds, lounges, tables and chairs and bookshelves all built into the walls, and little nooks and one-off furnishings that give the place a cosy (if somewhat hipster) feel.

Choosing to stay somewhere as cosy and centrally located as Plas Curig means that if the weather is bad you can stay inside and hang about in the communal areas watching TV, playing games, eating and cooking, or reading one of the many books provided in the delightful library nook. This is especially important given the strict cancellation policy - be prepared for the fact that weather around Snowdonia can be extreme (especially Nov-April. Forget winter, really), so that you won't be disappointed when faced with a weekend inside looking at the spectacular snowy scenery outside. The weekend we went wasn't the best for travel, but we still had a lovely time, and would happily stay here in inhospitable weather again.

Of course, this IS a hostel, so you have shared facilities and must arrange your own meals, and of course there is a bit of noise here and there - but that's all to be expected in a hostel - even a "5 star" hostel.

Overall, I would recommend this to all - I saw a lot of kids around who seemed to be having a great time; it would be a nice getaway for couples; great for friends and backpackers (lots of groups staying the weekend we were there), and there are a lot of communal spaces which also make it a good place for solo travellers.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emmerage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AAMac25, Owner at Plas Curig Hostel, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thankyou for your lovely review. Your review is perfectly detailed and will really help others make a decision on whether to stay with us. We have tried to create a comfortable place for people to relax when the weather is not so good and I'm pleased you noticed that. What is good about the hostel is that we have so many fabulous views from our windows like you rightly point out and yet they can be looked at from the comfort and warmth. I am very appreciative of the fact you kept in mind that although our establishment is 5 star - it is still a hostel and is mush more communal than a hotel or B&B but that is part of a hostels charm. We hope to see you again sometime! Best wishes Amy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

We stayed her for three days with two of our kids and had a fantastic time. Ideal location; fantastically comfortable and warm beds; hot showers; brilliant kitchen; doggy friendly; and great service from friendly and helpful staff who were extremely knowledgable about the region giving excellent advice on what to do and where to go. We were lucky and got a family room which was fantastically designed - the cabin style bunks were a hit with the children who quickly made friends with the other families we met by the wood burner. I have stayed in many hostels over the years and this is in a completely different class. We loved everything about it and would recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: There are family rooms available!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ed S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AAMac25, Owner at Plas Curig Hostel, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thankyou Ed, so glad you and the Kids enjoyed it! See you soon! ;) Amy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, UK
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

Good value accommodation with comfortable beds. Showers were also great, but beware these are shared with other guests. Rooms available in various formats to suit families, couples, friends etc. Overall this was excellent value and ideal as a base for walking or exploring the area.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AAMac25, Owner at Plas Curig Hostel, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thankyou for your great review! I am so pleased you find our hostel good value. We do not have any en-suits which is clear on our website but we are glad you liked our 'private' (by that we mean once your in the bathroom you have all you need, sink, shower,WC to yourself) bathrooms. We hope you will say with us again :) Amy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Capel Curig
4.7 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.0 of 5 bubbles 691 reviews
4.9 mi away
Ty Gwyn Hotel
Ty Gwyn Hotel
#1 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
4.4 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
10.2 mi away
Bryn Eglwys Country House Hotel
6.1 mi away
The Eagles
The Eagles
#3 of 11 in Betws-y-Coed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plas Curig Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plas Curig Hostel

Property: Plas Curig Hostel
Address: Plas Curig Plas Curig Plas Curig, Capel Curig, Snowdonia National Park LL24 0EL, Wales (Formerly Capel Curig Youth Hostel)
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Capel Curig
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Capel Curig
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Plas Curig Hostel 5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Plas Curig Youth Hostel commands an impressive position in the heart of the Snowdonia National Park. This charming former YHA hostel has been stealing the hearts of many an intrepid traveller since 1945. Since 2010, Plas Curig Youth Hostel has become a family-run hostel offering clean, comfortable, homely, fun and most importantly cheap accommodation from which to experience the beauty of Snowdonia. This luxury hostel offers the best of both worlds to its guests – modern amenities with relaxed comfort. Everybody is welcome and we offer dog-friendly accommodation. Explore a timeless landscape overflowing with craggy mountains, wild moors, ancient forests, thunderous waterfalls and vast sweeping beaches.Our cheap accommodation means the magic of Snowdonia can be enjoyed by everyone. Bask in the enchanting scenery or take part in an adrenaline filled adventure. Snowdonia has it all! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Plas Curig Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plas Curig Hostel Capel Curig, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing