We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Above and beyond any expectations we had!”
Review of Plas Curig Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Plas Curig Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Heber Springs, Arkansas
1 review
“Above and beyond any expectations we had!”
Reviewed November 21, 2012

Myself, my husband, and our two young daughters stayed at Plas Curig Hostel from June 1st-6th 2012. Immediately we were impressed with the location of the hostel. With the views, the proximity of Swallow Falls and Betws-y-Coed, ample hiking nearby, local pubs and other eateries it was obvious there was no better place to have stayed.
As impressive as the location of this stunning hostel was the impeccable interior design. From the luxury bedding and beautiful built-in bunk beds, to the salvaged original hardwood floor accenting the dining room; It was obvious the owner did not miss an opportunity to impress nor did they overlook a single detail. The common kitchen/dining area was plenty large enough to accommodate a full house. Looking back, the fireplace room is easily one of our most enjoyable experiences of staying at Plas Curig. Strangers quickly became familiar with one another gathered around the fire picking guitars, laughing and conversing.
This was my first time to North Wales, the staff were very knowledgeable and helpful in suggesting places to see and experience while we were there. My husband very much appreciated the time they took to inform him of the best areas to hike, taking into account what kind of experience he had with trekking. With two small children, I certainly appreciated the advice on the best places to hike with the children, and other activities nearby which were suited for ‘family’ adventures.
We have recommended Plas Curig to all of our friends and family considering North Wales for their next vacation spot or quick weekend get-away. I look forward to many more family trips to the Snowdon area and to Plas Curig!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristin3427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    374
    19
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
74
44
47
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Conwy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2012

What a great stay, fantastic and friendly staff. Great accomodation and facilllities, the best nights sleep we have ever had in a hostel due to the no expense spared bedding and matresses very informative and helpfull staff. Nothing to much trouble, on our visit we met the owners Amy and Will. Both were very attentative and had great knowledge of the area and pointed us in all the right directions for the best walks and places to visit.

We have stayed in many hostels around the world and believe me nothing compares to this experience! Cant wait for March when we return

Thank You Amy and Will

Room Tip: Fantastic location. you need nothing else than the comfy bed fro Plas Curig
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mark r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AAMac25, Owner at Plas Curig Hostel, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Thankyou for your kind words :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Stayed at Plas Curig 1st & 2nd November 2012. Brilliant facilities throughout. From the kitchen with all you need for self catering, 3 cooker hobs, 2 large fridges, toasters, kettles and enough crockery/cutlery to supply an army. The drying room with loads of space and hangers/shelves to get your gear dry. The lovely bedrooms with the privacy curtains and welsh blankets, the spacious dining area and the homely TV room, so many cushions. The shower rooms were very clean and hot water a plenty. Amy was a great host and very friendly with everyone.
Stay here now. Brilliant.

Room Tip: All excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AAMac25, Owner at Plas Curig Hostel, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Thankyou Jim for your kind words - it was a pleasure to have you stay - you seemed to really enjoy yourself! Yes the TV room is a bit of a cushion fest - I get very carried away with online shopping at times! ;) We look forward to you staying with us again. Thankyou for the kind words about my hosting skills - I love my job! Amy :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hagley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012 via mobile

Not two words I ever thought would go together but this Hostal certainly bucks the trend, with funky interiors and soft but firm mattresses it was a real surprise. On the doorstep of Gods own country if you are looking for affordable comfort in the centre of this beautiful countryside go no further this Hostal cannot be beaten in my opinion.
PS be prepared to muck in - it all adds to the fun.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela2402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AAMac25, Owner at Plas Curig Hostel, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Thankyou for your review, I am glad I have been able to create a luxury hostel as contradictory as that may sound. We look forward to your next stay and thanks again for your kind words. :) Amy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2012

I stayed here 1st-3rd August, as part of a group mini break organised by Large Outdoors. The place is superb, it has real character and lots of amenities. We watched the Olympics on the massive TV, the kitchen is well appointed, hot water plentiful and great showers. Everything is spotless. Good boot room to dry waterproofs and boots. Beds are big enough for up to 6'5" people to stretch out - this is rare for bunk beds, thanks to whoever designed these, I appreciated it as in other hostels I have sometimes had to sleep on the mattress, on the floor as they are so small.
TIP: Don't leave your window open, the midges will come in and boy do they bite.

Room Tip: Some rooms sleep more people, I guess they are cheaper but increase the risk of sleep disturbance. R...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lonelyplanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AAMac25, Owner at Plas Curig Hostel, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Thankyou for your review. I designed the beds for tall people as I too am tall! So I'm pleased you appreciated that :) We look forward to your next stay with us :) Amy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston-super-mare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012

Our party of 9 (plus 2 dogs) stayed for a long weekend during July.
Our room (no 13) comfortably slept 3 of us plus Lenny the Labrador. The bathroom opposite was almost en-suite and spotlessly clean. Beds/pillows are luxurious and the colour co-ordinated blanket was so nice, we bought one to take home.
The kitchen is fully equipped with kettles, toasters, microwaves, fridges, oven, hobs, all cutlery, crockery, pans etc - just take your food/beer
The TV lounge is comfy and a great place to relax after a hard day climbing up Mount Snowdon.
The guy on reception (Gareth I think) was extremely knowledgable about the surrounding area and recommended places for us to sea (Aber Falls and Llanfairfechen Beach were lovely)
I would definitley stay at Plas-Curig again as it is a great base to explore the gorgeous North Wales countryside

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon_Ann_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AAMac25, Owner at Plas Curig Hostel, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Thankyou so much for your great review! We are so pleased you and Lenny the dog had a wonderful stay! Hopefully see you next time you are in the area :) Amy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Stayed here with a load of fellow walkers . It is a luxury hostel and I am going back with friends in September as its the best of its kind. Quaint and useful curtains around each bunk bed. Complimentary ear plugs . phone socket inside your lovely bunk and your own little light so you can read or text in privacy. Plenty of shower rooms. Great communal lounge . Fantastic memories.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angelique5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AAMac25, Owner at Plas Curig Hostel, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
We are so pleased you have created amazing memories in our hostel. We thankyou for your kind words and are so pleased to have your repeat custom! :) Amy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Capel Curig
4.7 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.0 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
4.9 mi away
Ty Gwyn Hotel
Ty Gwyn Hotel
#1 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
4.4 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
10.2 mi away
Bryn Eglwys Country House Hotel
6.1 mi away
The Eagles
The Eagles
#3 of 11 in Betws-y-Coed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plas Curig Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plas Curig Hostel

Property: Plas Curig Hostel
Address: Plas Curig Plas Curig Plas Curig, Capel Curig, Snowdonia National Park LL24 0EL, Wales (Formerly Capel Curig Youth Hostel)
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Capel Curig
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Capel Curig
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Plas Curig Hostel 5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Plas Curig Youth Hostel commands an impressive position in the heart of the Snowdonia National Park. This charming former YHA hostel has been stealing the hearts of many an intrepid traveller since 1945. Since 2010, Plas Curig Youth Hostel has become a family-run hostel offering clean, comfortable, homely, fun and most importantly cheap accommodation from which to experience the beauty of Snowdonia. This luxury hostel offers the best of both worlds to its guests – modern amenities with relaxed comfort. Everybody is welcome and we offer dog-friendly accommodation. Explore a timeless landscape overflowing with craggy mountains, wild moors, ancient forests, thunderous waterfalls and vast sweeping beaches.Our cheap accommodation means the magic of Snowdonia can be enjoyed by everyone. Bask in the enchanting scenery or take part in an adrenaline filled adventure. Snowdonia has it all! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Plas Curig Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plas Curig Hostel Capel Curig, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing