We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truely a 5 star hostel.”
Review of Plas Curig Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Plas Curig Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 12, 2012

Recently stayed over for a night whilst doing a charity walk up Snowdon. Spotless rooms, bathrooms were very modern and showers powerful, staff and reception area very pleasant. In all definately a 5 star hostel. Great cafe next door for breakfast and great Inn the other side for some quality local food and cosy drinks. Only little gripe is the parking,definately need a strong first gear to get up the slope but I believe the owners are currently looking at expanding parking round the rear of the hostel. In all a great experience and will definately be returning.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AAMac25, Owner at Plas Curig Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2012

Thankyou for the kind review, yes you are right, we are in the middle of improving our exterior, but due to poor weather this was delayed. We really appreciated your patience and promise that on your return our driveway will be far easier to drive up! We look forward to your next visit.
Kind regards
Amy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (446)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

410 - 416 of 446 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2012

My partner and I had a family room, also with a double bed and the bunk above, room 13, which was very, very nice. The communal areas are also very nice. The dining areas are decked out with planks of wood, but it's done in a stylish way. The beds are very comfortable and the whole place is very pretty. Down points and they are big, though fairly minor and easy to fix. There were not enough mugs!!!!! I couldn't have a cup of tea this morning and to me that is a daily ritual, there was only one kettle and no free mugs, not enough for such a big hostel. Then the car park, which I realise is under construction. My partner scraped his bumper on the rocks there, as did at least one other guest this weekend. Beautiful hostel, just some finer points that need tweaking and they are important ones! Also, you are not allowed to have friends meet you there. I had arranged to have a friend meet us there, as I was unaware of this rule. Unless I missed it, this rather important fact is not available on the website.

Room Tip: Room 13 is very nice, but please read the review in full before deciding. Also look at the date rele...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rockysgirl38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AAMac25, Owner at Plas Curig Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2012

Thankyou so much for your kind words.
With regards to the improvements:
MUGS- We have enough mugs for everyone, but on the odd occasion customers take them to their rooms and leave them there, or they do not wash up in the self catering kitchen, so the mug count becomes low.
I wish you would have asked a member of staff to get you some more from the store room. We count all crockery on a daily basis so unless we are told that the mugs have gone missing in the last 24hours we cant help.
The kettle was broken on your weekend and a new one was bought first thing Monday morning. We have since got a spare for when this happens, it was the first time a kettle had broken so we admit we were not prepared considering they were very expensive and supposed to be bullet proof!
As you were notified upon check-in the ground-works were delayed so the exterior was half finished and cars were parked at your own risk. Again I wish you had said you struggled with the rock barriers as we could have pointed out a car park nearby for you to use.
As regards to non-residents, this is a strict policy as we only have enough facilities for our guests and would loose our 5 star rating if the facilities were not available to paying guests. This is the same with all hostels and Bed and breakfasts so we presume customers would know this. But as perhaps you are not a hosteller we will of course take your comment seriously and put this information on our website. We have 3 pubs within walking distance and this is advertised in the hostel clearly so we hope you were able to meet with your friends close-by.

On the whole you seemed to enjoy yourself and we hope you come and stay with us again.
Your compliments are received with thanks and your improvements are taken seriously.

Kind regards
Amy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2012

My husband and I stopped here on the first night of a 4 day tour in Snowdonia/Anglesey. It is a stunning hostel. We stayed in a double room with bunk over the top. It was quite a small room and not en-suite but directly opposite was a bathroom rarely in use by anyone else.
The bathrooms were super clean and very modern. No mould like in our YHA later on in our stay!
The fact that it was small did not matter a touch, the social areas are really clean, cosy and inviting. Just wish we would have had more time to spend there! I haven't "hostelled" for the last ten years but I would have to say Amy and her team have done an amazing job, who cares if it's a few pounds more when it's so nice! Would love to see more around the UK. I hope the style, philosophy and price remains as it's such a good deal. We kind of forgot we were in a youth hostel and had to strip the beds and bring a towel but what the heck at this price you cannot complain. We were lucky to be blessed with amazing weather (just before Easter) so this made us all the more happy. I can totally recommend a stay here, would love to return in the future. I think it's family friendly but possibly maybe for older children like 6/7+
Oh and the pub (Bryn something) just down the road did delicious food. The only thing that was a negative was the parking but I think this was because of the snow that fell the night before blocking one terrace. Maybe an investment in a mini snow plough is needed! Wishing you all the luck for the future!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bluestarfish25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AAMac25, Owner at Plas Curig Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2012

So glad you enjoyed your stay! Thank you for the kind words. That snow shocked us so we admit we were unprepared! A constant store of salts will be kept on-site from now on even through 'summer' and perhaps a mini snow plow will indeed be considered! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2012

Plas Curig is a newly refurbished hostel in a small Welsh village. I stayed in a dorm which had Raddison standard bedding in a bunk bed format. The accommodation is very warm and the showers spacious with hot water available 24 hours. The Kitchen is modern and spacious also (not that I personally spent much time there. There is a very good hotel nearby for meals.) Plas Curig was fully booked when I was there, but did not feel crowded at all. I do not usually stay in hostels, but I was quiet happy here at £25 per night. The staff were very friendly and unobtrusive (Hi Amy!). The only significant complaint I heard was a difficulty in accessing top bunks (I was in a lower bunk). The ladders up are built-in vertically, with insufficient steps. Management may need to alter these ladders to be placed at an incline and include more steps.

Advance booking is advisable.

Room Tip: I would check in earlier (6pm) rather than later, so as to grab a bottom bunk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CelticNomadLimerick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AAMac25, Owner at Plas Curig Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2012

Thankyou for your review,
Your kind words are much appreciated and we know that the bunk-bed comment was only a friendly complaint BUT In defense of the bunks for potential customers reading this...
Although our bunks are indeed higher than most and the ladder is vertical like most bunk beds, the fact ours are built in firmly to the wall unlike free standing hostel bunk beds, there is no wobble or risk of pulling the bed over, so as long as you have strong-ish arms (we presume you do have with all the mountaineering you are doing - hence the reason you stay with us!) then you will be fine. All beds are health and safety checked so no need to panic about them being dangerous.

We hope you stay with us again and have a go on our high bunk beds, I think you would like them they are very cosy! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2012

The perfect place to stay for a few days walking. We were very impressed with the quality of the accommodation, the bunks are just fantastic, based on the dutch windmill bunks, these give great privacy whilst sharing a room. The bed linen crisp and clean and the showers were good and hot and plenty of them and all individual. The pub is an easy stagger just down the road with good food and breakfast. Easy walking right from the door or do as we did on day three and drive a few miles to more fabulous mountain walks. We will be back!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AAMac25, Owner at Plas Curig Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2012

Thank you! We are so pleased you enjoyed yourself and we look forward to your next stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2012

This is our second stay and would now never stay anywhere else when in this area. The owners are extremely friendly, polite and go the extra mile to make guests feel welcome. The new car park makes things much easier. It is an ideal place to stay after a trip mountain biking.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AAMac25, Owner at Plas Curig Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2012

Thank you for your review, we are so glad you like the parking facilities they are a massive improvement from what we had before and we are glad you appreciate that. When the outside is finished we know you will be even more impressed!
We look forward to your next stay! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2012

Stayed here with a friend for one night over a weekend of mountain climbing in the area. I'm a hostel virgin and would normally stay in top end hotels but was pleasantly surprised by Plas Curig!

We stayed in a four-bed mixed room with two other single people. There was plenty of room for all our walking gear and the beds were roomy and comfortable with lovely, warm bedding.

The showers and toilets were plentiful and wouldn't look out of place in a 5* hotel.

Everyone we met in the hostel was friendly and Amy, the owner, genuinely seemed interested in making sure everything was right.

And for £22.50 - who could complain?! Will definitely be back :)

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank simonp820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AAMac25, Owner at Plas Curig Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2012

Thank you we are so glad you had a great time in your first hostel! Hostels really are a fantastic place to meet people in a relaxed atmosphere and we hope now you are converted!
We look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Capel Curig
2.4 mi away
Swallow Falls Hotel
Swallow Falls Hotel
#6 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
542 reviews
4.2 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
769 reviews
4.7 mi away
Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
4.7 mi away
Ty Gwyn Hotel
Ty Gwyn Hotel
#1 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
686 reviews
10.3 mi away
Bryn Eglwys Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plas Curig Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plas Curig Hostel

Address: Plas Curig Plas Curig Plas Curig, Capel Curig, Snowdonia National Park LL24 0EL, Wales (Formerly Capel Curig Youth Hostel)
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Capel Curig
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Capel Curig
Price Range: $31 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Plas Curig Hostel 5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Plas Curig Youth Hostel commands an impressive position in the heart of the Snowdonia National Park. This charming former YHA hostel has been stealing the hearts of many an intrepid traveller since 1945. Since 2010, Plas Curig Youth Hostel has become a family-run hostel offering clean, comfortable, homely, fun and most importantly cheap accommodation from which to experience the beauty of Snowdonia. This luxury hostel offers the best of both worlds to its guests – modern amenities with relaxed comfort. Everybody is welcome and we offer dog-friendly accommodation. Explore a timeless landscape overflowing with craggy mountains, wild moors, ancient forests, thunderous waterfalls and vast sweeping beaches.Our cheap accommodation means the magic of Snowdonia can be enjoyed by everyone. Bask in the enchanting scenery or take part in an adrenaline filled adventure. Snowdonia has it all! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Plas Curig Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plas Curig Hostel Capel Curig, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing