We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Probably the best hostel in the country”
Review of Plas Curig Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Plas Curig Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 12, 2011

I'd booked Plas Curig to use while I was on a mountain navigation course. The photos and reviews looked great, but the reality exceeded these. The standard of everything is absolutey first class, and the welcome was warm and genuine. I wouldn't look anywhere else when I stay near Capel Curig again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AAMac25, Owner at Plas Curig Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2012

Thankyou! We are glad we are your new place to stay in Capel Curig! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (451)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

426 - 432 of 451 reviews

Reviewed November 27, 2011

Stayed here over the weekend of the 25-27th November. We stayed in the 4 Berth Bunk room. Having stayed in several hostels previously, I have come to accept that this type of accomodation is usually tidy, but very basic in what it offers. However...this hostel sets the bar much, much higher. On arrival we thought we had walked into a hotel. Clearly, a lot of hard work, thought and care has gone into upgrading Plas Curig to a comfortable, spacious and welcoming hostel.

All of the rooms - kitchen, dining, bathrooms and bedrooms were modern, clean and comfortable. The bedrooms and in particular the self contained bunks with their own socket and lamps are a great idea meaning that you can sort yourself out without disturbing other guests in neighbouring bunks. With the bed already made and a blanket supplied for extra warmth if needed this removed a huge amount of late night bed making hassle and disturbance. Adjustable thermostats on the radiators meant that we could adjust the temperature to suit. The bathrooms were spotless and the towel rails gave it an added feel of luxury. All of the guest areas were renovated to a high standard. The staff were helpful and professional.

The drying room was still in development but hope to come back in Q1 of 2012 and see it finished. However, there was amble racking for all the guests to dry their wet gear.

For £20 a night this offers excellent value for money. Some parts of the building such as the car park and drying room are still in development, but they are minor things and this hostel delivered what mattered - a welcoming environment with a decent bed to sleep in. The quality overall was excellent and I could not fault it whatsoever.

I'm going back next year!

Room Tip: The four berth bunk room is really spacious - lots of versatile storage space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AAMac25, Owner at Plas Curig Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2012

Thankyou for your lovely review, we can now confirm the drying room is finished and brand new! The Outside work is well on its way and will be finished by the summer! So lots of exciting new things for you to see on your return! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2011

In Fiji they call it "Flashpacking". Backpackers that have grown up & now work, who want the hostel vibe but are willing to pay for better standards. This is Flashpacking at its best. Great friendly owners & facilities that are as good if not better than the photos. Cannot recommend it enough. Staying here is a must for all from people travelling on their own & couples through to groups & families.
Well done Amy & William the hard work was worth it you have put together a gem & everything has been thought about.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fl00ze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AAMac25, Owner at Plas Curig Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2012

Thankyou! FLASHPACKING is a new word to describe us and we love it! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2011

Date of stay 14th October for 3 nights, four of us plus our dog.
It really is a 5 star Boutique Hostel! I would think unique to the world of Hostelling, superior accommodation at great value. The bedrooms/bunk rooms are luxurious, bath rooms fitted with very modern showers and basins.
The reception areas and common rooms are stunning, the thought and workmanship to the last detail is excellent.
The Kitchen is very large and equipped with everything you need for self catering ( if you want to eat out, the pub next door is very good).
Well done Amy & Co. for bringing a very innovative way of lodging to the beautiful Snowdonia National Park.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 332teresa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AAMac25, Owner at Plas Curig Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2011

Thankyou so much MollyLymington! We look forward to seeing you again VERY soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2011

Never having stayed in an hostel before, we were a bit nervous as we had heard stories of smelly bodies and dirty showers. As soon as we walked through the door i could tell that this was a different type of hostel, it has a 5 star wow factor!! The kitchen was sparkling clean, plenty of pots and pans for cooking. Showers and loos very clean and modern. The beds were so comfortable with beautiful white linen duvet covers. This hostel brings a new dimension to accomodation in snowdonia. We will definately return.

Room Tip: there are a couple of rooms with just one double bed (instead of a bunk room) book these early if yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anne f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AAMac25, Owner at Plas Curig Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2011

Thankyou Anne!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2011

Brilliant place. Interior design fabulous, extremely friendly. A credit to the owner. Would recommend this Hostel for superior but value accommodation.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andyman1310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AAMac25, Owner at Plas Curig Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2011

Thankyou so much for the great review, so pleased you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to the next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2011

This was my first time staying in a hostel, and it's definitely changed my opinion on them (although i do believe this one is unique!!). Stunning venue, extremely clean (especially the bathrooms) and luxurious. I'd highly recommend to anyone who wants a little luxury after a hard day of walking! Plus the pub is within walking distance which is a bonus!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank missiea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AAMac25, Owner at Plas Curig Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2011

We are so pleased your first experience was a good one! Thankyou for the great review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Capel Curig
4.4 mi away
Glan Aber Hotel & Bunkhouse
Glan Aber Hotel & Bunkhouse
#7 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
37 reviews
2.4 mi away
Swallow Falls Hotel
Swallow Falls Hotel
#6 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
552 reviews
8.9 mi away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#1 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
798 reviews
4.2 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
791 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bryn Tyrch Inn
Bryn Tyrch Inn
#1 of 1 in Capel Curig
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plas Curig Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plas Curig Hostel

Address: Plas Curig Plas Curig Plas Curig, Capel Curig, Snowdonia National Park LL24 0EL, Wales (Formerly Capel Curig Youth Hostel)
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Capel Curig
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Capel Curig
Price Range: $60 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Plas Curig Hostel 5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Plas Curig Youth Hostel commands an impressive position in the heart of the Snowdonia National Park. This charming former YHA hostel has been stealing the hearts of many an intrepid traveller since 1945. Since 2010, Plas Curig Youth Hostel has become a family-run hostel offering clean, comfortable, homely, fun and most importantly cheap accommodation from which to experience the beauty of Snowdonia. This luxury hostel offers the best of both worlds to its guests – modern amenities with relaxed comfort. Everybody is welcome and we offer dog-friendly accommodation. Explore a timeless landscape overflowing with craggy mountains, wild moors, ancient forests, thunderous waterfalls and vast sweeping beaches.Our cheap accommodation means the magic of Snowdonia can be enjoyed by everyone. Bask in the enchanting scenery or take part in an adrenaline filled adventure. Snowdonia has it all! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Plas Curig Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plas Curig Hostel Capel Curig, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing