We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay in North Wales”
Review of Tyn-Y-Coed Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Capel Curig
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tyn-Y-Coed Hotel
Ranked #3 of 6 Capel Curig B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 21, 2014

What can I say, have been climbing in Snowdonia for last 20 years, have always liked the Tyn Y Coed as a pub and a place to eat.

Getting bit old now for Youth Hostels so took the plunge and made a booking.

Included was Breakfast, which was better than we had been used to, and I would recommend the Welsh Breakfast.

Taking Breakfast into account, with our party of actually worked out cheaper than YHA.

Honestly couldn't fault it, free Wi Fi, on suite, warm room, good beer, good food, amazing staff, so friendly.

The owners have got there finished result so right is brilliant, could not find any negatives.

We will be back next year.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Matthew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (180)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

82 - 88 of 180 reviews

Reviewed April 7, 2014

A little bit unsure when we pulled up out side as this hotel is on the roadside, but this proved not to be a problem, The welcome was excellent, The room very good. The real ales were spot on.
Looked at the menu which was basic but the specials that varied each night were very good.Had one small problem as we ran out of shower water but understand this was a short term supply problem. One reccomendation I would make is that the staff need to tidy up, dont like my beer served by some body with threedays worth of stubble and wearing a hoodie, but all in all well pleased

Room Tip: Try room 15
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

I've been using the Tyn-Y-Coed for more than 20 years. It is an excellent start & finish point for mountain weekends. You are assured of the warmest welcome, excellent beer, great bar meals and a kitchen that sympathizes with those who have dietary needs. There is a bus stop by the car park.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ThatBadger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

If you are staying in Snowdonia you need to look no further than the Tyn-Y. Excellent rooms, great meals, well-kept local ales and a very warm welcome from George, Jane, Mark and Helen. We are already booked for later in the year!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Neil G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014

I have been staying here every year with friends for longer than I care to remember and have always had a warm welcome, a great pint, good food and a comfy room. I will be back in October 2014 with the crew for the next visit.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jem C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014

I have stayed at "The Tyn Y" many times over the years and have always been rewarded with a great experience, a genuine warm welcome from George, Helen and their crew, good food and tasty local beer. The Welsh breakfast will set you up for a day on the mountains and I can certainly recommend the local lamb for dinner followed by the sticky toffee pudding. l am looking forward to returning in October.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobinJSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2013

The Tyn-y-Coed is nestled in the heart of Snowdonia, opposite the beautiful mountain Moel Siabod in Capel Curig. The food is amazing, especially if you have dietary requirements like me, as they do the best selection of gluten-free food, including pizza and sticky toffee pudding!! They also serve gluten-free beer! The accommodation is beautifully done and very comfortable and the friendly family welcome you get is second to none. Dogs are welcome in the bar and the roaring fires warm you up on a cold Welsh winter evening after a full day out on the hill or the river. You will not be disappointed :)

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tabitha A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Capel Curig
4.9 mi away
Glan Aber Hotel & Bunkhouse
Glan Aber Hotel & Bunkhouse
#7 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
34 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bryn Tyrch Inn
Bryn Tyrch Inn
#1 of 1 in Capel Curig
361 reviews
0.7 mi away
Plas Curig Hostel
Plas Curig Hostel
#1 of 1 in Capel Curig
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tyn-Y-Coed Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tyn-Y-Coed Hotel

Address: A5, Capel Curig, Snowdonia National Park LL24 0EE, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Capel Curig
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Capel Curig
Price Range: $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tyn-Y-Coed Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tyn-y-Coed has recently been refurbished and upgraded to WTB 4 star inn. It is family run with fourteen individually designed bedrooms & guests are assured of a warm welcome.For more modest budgets we have a five bedded bunkroom with ensuite shower.Situated in heart of Snowdonia National park five miles west of Betws-y-Coed. Plas-y-Brenin outdoor sports centre is 1 mile away. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tyn-Y-Coed Hotel Capel Curig, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing