We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Tyn-Y-Coed Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Capel Curig
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tyn-Y-Coed Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Capel Curig B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Havant
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

The perfect way to spend an evening after a hard day on the hills. Lovely open fires to warm you up and very a friendly, attentive service with excellent food. Rooms very comfortable and clean with yummy waffles to eat with the tea and coffee supplied in the rooms.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AliG07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    48
    10
    2
    2
See reviews for
28
41
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portishead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2012

With accomodation and service as good as any hotel and a bar as good as any pub, this is one of the best places I have ever stayed in during my many trips to Wales, Scotland and the Lake District. Spotlessly clean rooms with no shortage of hot water and a bar with a roaring log fire and excellent ale - perfect after a day in the hills!

Room Tip: If you area light sleeper, rooms at the back are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank welshhillbilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2012

Just back from 3 days walking in Snowdonia, staying at the Tyn-Y-Coed. As usual we received a warm welcome and had a great stay. Three of us walk regularly in the area. We've tried other hotels and inns but are all agreed that this is by far the best in the area in this price bracket.

The rooms are warm and comfortable and well maintained, as are the public areas. Food is good. The standard menu features locally-sourced meats and other produce, and there is a choice of half a dozen 'specials' which changes daily. Breakfasts are also good (especially the smoked haddock) and there is a large selection of home-made preserves available.

Getting to the important stuff, the beer is also excellent. Purple Moose Brewery Snowdonia Ale is usually available, together with a varying choice of two other real ales. In winter, there are roaring fires in both bars.

We'll be back!

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter, although personally I wasn't bothered by traffic noise in a front...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank morganbrg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 25, 2012

i had a marvellous stay, sadly for work and not leisure! the hotel could not have been more accommodating. the room was great - linen exceptionally clean and fresh. the food was very good quality. because i had to work, i was even offered to use a separate room to work in where there was better wifi signal! real fires in the evening, real jams at breakfast in the morning. i thoroughly recommend this hotel - hopefully next time i will be there for leisure!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bm65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hungerford
1 review
Reviewed November 21, 2012

I have stayed at the Tyn Y Coed hotel for many years with a group of friends. The hotel is comfortable and the people very friendly. The rooms are comfortable and have been modernised recently. Some are smaller than others, so check when booking. The food is good and they cater for vegetarians, including supplying soya milk. There is a good bar, large dining room and separate bar, which we use for our AGM and social in the evening.

Room Tip: The rooms closer to the reception can access wifi, but not those along the corridor. Rooms 2 and 7 a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MB576
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 16, 2012

A group of friends had a re-union in July and used the hotel for a base for a few days walking and I couldn't praise the place enough. The food and hospitality was fantastic and even though we were late arriving back one evening from a hospital visit, the staff bent over backwards in making sure we were all fine and fed. Rooms were spotless and the bar has some great real ale. Cant wait for my next visit. BTW we loved the laugh of George, one of the owners.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank whatitisis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Talbot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

just got back from spending 2 nights at tyn-y-coed this was our forth time we have stayed there.when we arrived about 7pm on friday night we went to our room which was cold(i thought the heating might have been put on in anticapation of our arrival).we put heating on and it soon warmed up,food in bar was excellent with excellent service,breakfast again was excellent with excellent service(best sausages in north wales)..all in all a lovely pleasant and friendly place to stay.room 15 is the best room there which we have stayed in before,couldnt get it this time it was already booked.my advice is try this hotel i dont think you will be dissapointed its also in agreat location to explore norh wales which has some breathtaking scenary.

Room Tip: order room 15 if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mark j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Capel Curig
4.7 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
5.3 mi away
Ty Gwyn Hotel
Ty Gwyn Hotel
#1 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
2.9 mi away
Swallow Falls Hotel
Swallow Falls Hotel
#6 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
3.5 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.0 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Meadowsweet Hotel
The Meadowsweet Hotel
#1 of 3 in Llanrwst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
8.5 mi away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tyn-Y-Coed Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tyn-Y-Coed Hotel

Property: Tyn-Y-Coed Hotel
Address: A5, Capel Curig, Snowdonia National Park LL24 0EE, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Capel Curig
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Capel Curig
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Tyn-Y-Coed Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tyn-y-Coed has recently been refurbished and upgraded to WTB 4 star inn. It is family run with fourteen individually designed bedrooms & guests are assured of a warm welcome.For more modest budgets we have a five bedded bunkroom with ensuite shower.Situated in heart of Snowdonia National park five miles west of Betws-y-Coed. Plas-y-Brenin outdoor sports centre is 1 mile away. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tyn-Y-Coed Hotel Capel Curig, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing