We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tried and tested formula”
Review of Pen-y-Bryn

Pen-y-Bryn
Ranked #3 of 80 Restaurants in Colwyn Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $23
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Welsh
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Business meetings, Special occasions, Scenic view, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
N Wales
Level Contributor
421 reviews
263 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
“Tried and tested formula”
Reviewed July 14, 2014

We’ve popped in here a couple of times on our way back from the coast so it was an obvious choice as we made our way home from a full day in Anglesey. We scraped in just before 9pm hoping they would be able to accommodate us. Luckily they could as they serve food until 9:30pm and we got the last small table! We were grateful as we were hungry and still an hour from home! It was very busy (and noisy, as to be expected on a Friday night at that hour) but the service was prompt and friendly. Husband chose the minted lamb pie with mash / spring veg (deliciously tender meat) and I chose the lamb kofte (a little dry and the tzatziki was watery). Came to approx £23 just for the food. Good choice of beers / wines. Clean toilets. Part of the Brunning & Price chain, does what it says on the tin. It's a bit out of the way although located close to houses / school high above Colwyn Bay. Views are incredible on a nice day / evening.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bluelizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

813 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    423
    228
    97
    38
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Birthday meal with kids”
Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

Excellent service from the moment we arrived. Staff were welcoming and the food was amazing (I had the Chargrilled Chicken)

Helpful?
1 Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llanrwst
Level Contributor
39 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Back on form!”
Reviewed July 3, 2014

After a very disappointing visit back in February, we chanced an early dinner today, and we were delighted to find the Pen y Bryn back on form. A friendly greeting, a table looking over the sea, and prompt service, were a good start to the meal. The soup was excellent, as was the fish and chips, the mushroom starter, and especially the plaice which was beautifully cooked.
The Pen is now back on our list of good places to go!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JoRLlanrwst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oswestry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
242 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Worth finding”
Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

We have visited this pub for lunch on 3 or 4 occasions when in the Conway area. You are unlikely to happen upon it, and might be hesitant to go in as it looks like a medical centre from the car park (website's own comment). Once inside it is much like other Brunning and Price pubs, with lots of space, wide variety of tables and lovely terrace/garden. It is rare to get surly service in a B&P pub and this is no exception with very pleasant attentive staff. Good choice of wine and beer. Sandwiches fresh and well-filled. I enjoyed the caramelised pear and smoked cheddar quiche with potato salad, but it did seeme expensive at £8.95. I recently paid for a sandwich lunch and drinks for 4 people at a pub in Northumberland, and it didn't come to much more than equivalent for 2 people at a B&P pub. B&P prices do seem to have gone up well above inflation in the last couple of years. Probably won't stop us frequenting them though, particularly if you collect their vouchers ( 6 gives you £12 off a main meal Mon-Thurs) and you can mix and match them at any of the B&P pubs - although The Wharf in Manchester did try and refuse vouchers from another pub.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bruce E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhuddlan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good atmosphere”
Reviewed June 22, 2014

Large, open planned pub, with plenty of seating and tables not too close to each other. The menu caters for all tastes and the wine list is just as good, also they recommend wines on a chalk board, well worth trying!
The whole package is very good. I love going here, as depending on when you go the atmosphere changes, lunch is a laid back affair, and then in the evening it livens up, making for a really good night out.
Unless you are local I would say it is a bit difficult to find, but well worth the effort!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Heather B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pen-y-Bryn also viewed

Colwyn Bay, Conwy County
 
Rhos-on-Sea, Conwy County
Colwyn Bay, Conwy County
 
Tal-y-Cafn, Conwy County
 

Been to Pen-y-Bryn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing