We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First rate fish and chips”
Review of Chips Ahoy

Chips Ahoy
Ranked #11 of 83 Restaurants in Colwyn Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $9
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery
Description: We aim to provide the freshest produce daily and strive for customer satisfaction....With lots to choose from including desserts and kids meals.... we are gluten free and offer a home delivery service also
wales
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“First rate fish and chips”
Reviewed August 22, 2014

We used to complain that fish and chip shops couldn't make fish and chips like we had when we were young until we came here!! Each fish is cooked fresh to how you want it ( in my cars lightly battered) Absolutely gorgeous!! The chips were equally as good, Good quality potatoes that give perfect chips full of flavour, as I said just like I remember from many decades ago!! Will definitely be going back and would encourage anyone, you won't be disappointed!!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JENKS53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    15
    6
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Not as good as it was!”
Reviewed August 15, 2014

I wrote a review about Chips Ahoy a few weeks ago and had nothing bad to say about it. Unfortunately the last couple of times we've been the chips appear to have been reheated and were soggy and not very nice. It's a shame as we were very impressed at first.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Pammydot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChipsAhoy C, Owner at Chips Ahoy, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
hi pammy,
we are so sorry to hear you were not happy with your visit to our chip shop recently and i feel the need to reassure you that we DO NOT, and will never reheat chips for anybody especially when they are one of the cheapest commodity's any chip shop sells.
please do not be put off by your last visit and i hope you will give us a chance to put it right. we strive for customer satisfaction and all i can say is human error must have played a part, juggling fryers and their temperatures as you cook through the shift may have played a small part towards your softer than usual chips if a staff member has cooked your chips in lower than usual temperatures but i assure you i am not looking for any excuse, we always cook fresh as reheated chips would have been hollow and of a chewy texture,,,, this is just not something we practice and is simple fryer common sense to not reheat chips. please come in again sometime and mention your name so that i can personally put it right and get you back on the happy customer list.... once again i am very sorry we have let you down and please keep the faith and call in again soon. thanks for your honest feedback. we want nothing but perfection and happy customers here at chips ahoy. kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice sausage and chips”
Reviewed July 31, 2014 via mobile

Friendly staff and nice food, not bad at all. Sausage was lovely. Outside area table was a little dirty but nothing major

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank 8tpercent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Nice chippy”
Reviewed July 26, 2014

We had a meal at Chips Ahoy and sat outside. The staff in there were friendly and we were served quickly.

The price was very reasonable and although the chips weren't the best I've ever tasted, I would return.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JA12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north Wales
1 review
“Grand traditional chipshop”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

Try this chippy ... You won't regret it....

Great service and lovely food...
Always a smile for me .. Light and fluffy chips to die for... Try the sweet chipshop curry.. Mmmm.......

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank automotiveking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chips Ahoy also viewed

Colwyn Bay, Conwy County
Colwyn Bay, Conwy County
 

Been to Chips Ahoy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing