We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1st visit”
Review of Welsh Mountain Zoo

Welsh Mountain Zoo
Ranked #1 of 41 things to do in Colwyn Bay
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: This conservation zoo has a wide range of rare and endangered animals from around the world.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
North West England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“1st visit”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

We have lived in this area for many years but this was our first visit to the welsh mountain zoo. It was a gorgeous hot sunny day. The gardens and flowers are beautiful an well kept and,the views are spectacular. On the whole it was much nicer than I had expected. On the downside,,some of the areas were extremely smelly,,,I don't have enough knowledge to know if this is unavoidable in hot weather. I also thought some of the animals "areas" were rather small but there again that was just my opinion and I presume that they must meet some kind of regulations. I believe that there are various "shows and feeding regimes during the day" but we didn't intend to stay all day,,,It is much smaller than Chester zoo,,I think its a lovely place for smaller children,,you can see the whole zoo in a couple of hours or you could linger and spend the day there,,,,,,

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank chrystalchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,404 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    589
    474
    187
    70
    84
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
L/Derry,Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“great value for money”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

very interactive zoo small and intimate, no elephants or giraffes or lions but that didn't matter feeding the penguins been interactive with the chimps and sealions and the petting farm made up for it, only downside was the shop was closed the whole day an it was scorching and the kids had nowhere to get ice cream or drinks

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank MrsAMWilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good day out”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

A very interesting little zoo, lots to see. Signs on exhibits very informative regarding the animals. Direction signs not so good. Take a picnic though as food and drink very expensive

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank joyceecraig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Poor animals!”
Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

I've just got back from a day out in Wales with my partner and our first stop was the welsh mountain zoo. We've been to Chester zoo a couple of time lately so we gave there a go it was cheaper so wasn't expecting the vast array of animals but it was like going back in time all the animals where in cage like enclosures like I remember from trips to zoo's when I was a little boy. We first saw well smelt the penguins which smelt awful and they didn't look much better they were all red and featherless and looked sun burnt! They have a very large alligator there in what I would call a paddling pool and the alligator must be pushing 11feet long.
As well as the poor state of the animals and there enclosures the zoo isn't very well sign posted to where the animals are the zoo is spread over quite a big mountain side and it's sometimes a decent walk before you see anything unless you call 2 ravens in an enclosure anything to look at.
Overall not worth the £10 we paid each to get in when Chester is down the road!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jonhorrocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Welsh mountain zoo”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Since my last visit 12yr ago, in my opinion very bad, took us 2hrs to walk around, animals enclosures in my opinion weren't large enough, animals looked very sad, visit Chester zoo instead!!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ghostgirl72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Welsh Mountain Zoo also viewed

Colwyn Bay, Conwy County
Colwyn Bay, Conwy County
 
Llandudno, Conwy County
Rhyl, Denbighshire
 

Been to Welsh Mountain Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing