We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent value for money” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bryn Holcombe

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bryn Holcombe
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Colwyn Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent value for money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at Bryn Holcombe whilst visiting my parents in Old Colwyn. We will definitely return! The room was extremely clean and comfortable. We were greeted by the owner who was very hospitable and welcoming. The breakfast was lovely and the food fresh.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Max018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    16
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
84
6
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2013

Lovely large bedroom and impressive bathroom. The bed was large and comfortable and whole place seemed decorated to a high standard and very clean. Breakfast had a range of fresh fruit, rarely seen elsewhere and good cooked breakfast. Would certainly go again and would recommend

Room Tip: Superior room excellent and large
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JacquiB513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed at Bryn Holcombe for one night. The welcome was warm and the house had lots of lovely period features throughout. We stayed in the superior room which was at the front of the house. The bed was very large and extremely comfortable. The television and Freeview box made our stay very enjoyable and homely. The bathroom was amazing, free-standing bath and separate shower. A very good selection of towels and soaps. By far more than we expected for the money we paid. It included a breakfast which was lovely! The landlady was incredible, such a lovely lady. Didn't hassle, was just there when we needed her. She was very helpful with directions and had maps on hand!

In my opinion, having a landlady as lovely as her just made our stay more comfortable and secure. I would recommend anyone who is booking, spend the extra £10 to stay in the superior room.

Would go back again, definitely!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in the Superior room for 1 night. Very comfortable stay, lovely big room with comfy bed. Huge bathroom. Only one thing would have made it better would have been some large bath sheets to go with that nice bath - towels a bit on the small side!

Breakfast was good and service great. Would definitely return.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank clairemillie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

One of the best B&Bs I’ve ever stayed.

Good sized rooms having nice décor.
Genuine and tasty breakfast. Very clean.
Extremely accommodating and pleasing landlady.

Available private parking just in front of the house.
It is situated in a beautiful and peaceful area, close to Colwyn Bay seafront.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RCV-MT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

Stayed two nights. The welcome was warm. The room was excellent. the Welsh breakfast was impressive and filling. Parking for car off the road in front of the house. Just watch which way you drive out of the house onto a one-way street! No noise in the night. WiFi available but a little slow.
I wouldn't hesitate to return.

Room Tip: I don't know about other rooms but mine had a shower cubicle and no bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jpaandla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

We stayed at Bryn Holcombe for 3 nights (Thur, Fri, Sat) in mid September in the room with the fantastic black & white tiled bathroom (as in the photo gallery linked to the property). Great location & off road parking. Great room with comfortable bed, TV (although there was too much to do in the area to bother watching it), tea & coffee making, and the wonderful bathroom. A deep free standing bath in the centre of the room was fantastic to soak those tired muscles in. Great breakfast - fruit, cereal, cooked breakfast etc. Very friendly and informative host.
Masses to do close by including walking up and down the Great Orme in Llandudno (it was too windy to take the cable car), walking the beach from Colwyn Bay to Old Colwyn and back to Rhos on Sea (for a lovely country style sunday lunch at the pub on the seafront) or walking around the town walls and visiting the castle at Conwy followed by a pint of real ale at the Albion Pub (in Conwy). We went to Llandudno and Conwy by train from Colwyn Bay leaving the car at the B&B. Was a great way to explore and relax.
We found a good variety of pubs in Colwyn Bay - the Toad overlooking the sea front - good for food but best to book - very busy, the Wetherspoons Picture House for a good value meal & real ale or (when we were there) an acoustic blues night at En Gedi (in the Old Imperial Pub opposite Colwyn Bay station). Anglesey and Snowdonia are also within easy reach. Superb.......

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank InnerSunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Colwyn Bay
2.5 mi away
Premier Inn Llandudno (Glan-Conwy) Hotel
Premier Inn Llandudno (Glan-Conw...
#1 of 1 in Llandudno Junction
4.5 of 5 bubbles 686 reviews
2.1 mi away
Lyndale Hotel
Lyndale Hotel
#3 of 3 in Colwyn Bay
3.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
2.7 mi away
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
#12 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#18 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,109 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Quay Hotel & Spa
The Quay Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Deganwy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,407 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bryn Woodlands House
Bryn Woodlands House
#3 of 11 in Colwyn Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bryn Holcombe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bryn Holcombe

Property: Bryn Holcombe
Address: 9 Grosvenor Road, Colwyn Bay LL29 7YF, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Colwyn Bay
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Colwyn Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bryn Holcombe 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Bryn Holcombe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bryn Holcombe Hotel Colwyn Bay
Bryn Holcombe Colwyn Bay, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing