We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superior Room lovely”
Review of Bryn Holcombe

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bryn Holcombe
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Colwyn Bay
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Superior Room lovely”
Reviewed October 29, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in the Superior room for 1 night. Very comfortable stay, lovely big room with comfy bed. Huge bathroom. Only one thing would have made it better would have been some large bath sheets to go with that nice bath - towels a bit on the small side!

Breakfast was good and service great. Would definitely return.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank clairemillie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    17
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
19
92
6
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Malta
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

One of the best B&Bs I’ve ever stayed.

Good sized rooms having nice décor.
Genuine and tasty breakfast. Very clean.
Extremely accommodating and pleasing landlady.

Available private parking just in front of the house.
It is situated in a beautiful and peaceful area, close to Colwyn Bay seafront.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RCV-MT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Stayed two nights. The welcome was warm. The room was excellent. the Welsh breakfast was impressive and filling. Parking for car off the road in front of the house. Just watch which way you drive out of the house onto a one-way street! No noise in the night. WiFi available but a little slow.
I wouldn't hesitate to return.

Room Tip: I don't know about other rooms but mine had a shower cubicle and no bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jpaandla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

We stayed at Bryn Holcombe for 3 nights (Thur, Fri, Sat) in mid September in the room with the fantastic black & white tiled bathroom (as in the photo gallery linked to the property). Great location & off road parking. Great room with comfortable bed, TV (although there was too much to do in the area to bother watching it), tea & coffee making, and the wonderful bathroom. A deep free standing bath in the centre of the room was fantastic to soak those tired muscles in. Great breakfast - fruit, cereal, cooked breakfast etc. Very friendly and informative host.
Masses to do close by including walking up and down the Great Orme in Llandudno (it was too windy to take the cable car), walking the beach from Colwyn Bay to Old Colwyn and back to Rhos on Sea (for a lovely country style sunday lunch at the pub on the seafront) or walking around the town walls and visiting the castle at Conwy followed by a pint of real ale at the Albion Pub (in Conwy). We went to Llandudno and Conwy by train from Colwyn Bay leaving the car at the B&B. Was a great way to explore and relax.
We found a good variety of pubs in Colwyn Bay - the Toad overlooking the sea front - good for food but best to book - very busy, the Wetherspoons Picture House for a good value meal & real ale or (when we were there) an acoustic blues night at En Gedi (in the Old Imperial Pub opposite Colwyn Bay station). Anglesey and Snowdonia are also within easy reach. Superb.......

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank InnerSunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We have been in many cities but this time, we avoided staying in London but country traveled by car in a group of four to visit N Wales and Bryn Holcombe was a perfect location to rest for the first night after a long drive. The B&B is just off the main road and is in a very quiet location. The hostess was very hospitable and helpful. We love Wales and the way people here speak. She explained all the local attractions and helped with names of restaurants that we could visit and marked them on a map. We found a great restaurant on the seafront (another review). We also took her advice to visit Conwy castle a 15-min drive away. We discovered a terrific estuary/bay at sunset and took the best pictures of the trip of both the bay and outside the castle. The breakfast was quite fantastic. As regards the room, we had two rooms and had no particular preference. The location was quiet regardless of which way the room was facing. Should a twin bedded room be desirable, and we wished we had two of them, guests will need to book as early as possible. It is possible to visit Llanberis and take the train to the top of Snowdonia using this B&B as a base to travel by car.

Room Tip: Any room is good; for twin-bedded room, book early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emmanuel123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

A great B&B a few minutes walk from the centre of town. The decor was tasteful and our room was clean and well looked after. The landord and landlady were very helpful indeed when we asked about some local information. Breakfast was a gut busting cooked full welsh with cereal fruit and muffins if you could fit them in.
I would certainly recommend for a stay in Colwyn Bay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TBenn69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Lovely small hotel, walking distance to town and sea front. Quiet location and comfy beds in good sized and nicely decorated room. Good breakfast with choice of fresh fruit too. Landlady is a little gem who can't do enough for you!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jules M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Colwyn Bay
0.7 mi away
Travelodge Colwyn Bay
Travelodge Colwyn Bay
#1 of 3 in Colwyn Bay
508 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Quay Hotel & Spa
The Quay Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Deganwy
2,565 reviews
3.9 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Conwy
1,164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Lawton Court Hotel
Lawton Court Hotel
#2 of 60 in Llandudno
903 reviews
10.5 mi away
Pier Hotel Rhyl
Pier Hotel Rhyl
#1 of 5 in Rhyl
361 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bryn Woodlands House
Bryn Woodlands House
#3 of 10 in Colwyn Bay
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bryn Holcombe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bryn Holcombe

Property: Bryn Holcombe
Address: 9 Grosvenor Road, Colwyn Bay LL29 7YF, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Colwyn Bay
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Colwyn Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bryn Holcombe 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Bryn Holcombe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bryn Holcombe Hotel Colwyn Bay
Bryn Holcombe Colwyn Bay, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing