We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A gateway into North Wales” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bryn Holcombe

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bryn Holcombe
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Colwyn Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
109 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“A gateway into North Wales”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

We have been in many cities but this time, we avoided staying in London but country traveled by car in a group of four to visit N Wales and Bryn Holcombe was a perfect location to rest for the first night after a long drive. The B&B is just off the main road and is in a very quiet location. The hostess was very hospitable and helpful. We love Wales and the way people here speak. She explained all the local attractions and helped with names of restaurants that we could visit and marked them on a map. We found a great restaurant on the seafront (another review). We also took her advice to visit Conwy castle a 15-min drive away. We discovered a terrific estuary/bay at sunset and took the best pictures of the trip of both the bay and outside the castle. The breakfast was quite fantastic. As regards the room, we had two rooms and had no particular preference. The location was quiet regardless of which way the room was facing. Should a twin bedded room be desirable, and we wished we had two of them, guests will need to book as early as possible. It is possible to visit Llanberis and take the train to the top of Snowdonia using this B&B as a base to travel by car.

Room Tip: Any room is good; for twin-bedded room, book early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emmanuel123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    16
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
84
6
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

A great B&B a few minutes walk from the centre of town. The decor was tasteful and our room was clean and well looked after. The landord and landlady were very helpful indeed when we asked about some local information. Breakfast was a gut busting cooked full welsh with cereal fruit and muffins if you could fit them in.
I would certainly recommend for a stay in Colwyn Bay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TBenn69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

Lovely small hotel, walking distance to town and sea front. Quiet location and comfy beds in good sized and nicely decorated room. Good breakfast with choice of fresh fruit too. Landlady is a little gem who can't do enough for you!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jules M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

We recently stayed here for one night in an en suite room. Accommodation was clean and well set up, with a nice atmosphere to the place. It was a decent sized room with a small sitting area and comfortable bed. Welsh cooked breakfast was very tasty and the owners accommodated my request for soya milk. Good location about 10 minutes walk from the beach and promenade and maybe 15 minutes to city centre. Recommend this B&B if you want a quiet, comfortable place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MC1122012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dinas Powys, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

I normally stay in Hotels as I don’t like the idea of staying in somebody’s home. At Bryn Holcombe the arrangements were perfect. They separated their family life from the business so did not feel I was invading their privacy. I had an absolute ball here with my family who are adults too. The whole place was spotless. It had so much character with original features. Well decorated in a traditional style which I love. It is like looking into the past with all the modern necessities. For me it had a real WOW factor. The balance was perfect.

The Landlady is a real gem. She is proud of her business and makes your stay perfect and will help in any way possible. I will not forget her in a hurry. I thought we might have a problem with Breakfast as all four of us are Vegetarians. I mentioned it the night before so she would not cook a load of meat for us. She was glad I mentioned it or she would have had to eat what we did not order. Breakfast was spectacular, and we were spoilt for choice. There was even fresh fruit laid on for all her guests. We enjoyed every mouthful. Very impressive.

If I was celebrating my Wedding Anniversary, there is a special Romantic Bedroom with a special bathroom attached. It has a beautiful rolled top bath in the middle of the room. Decorated beautifully. I know if I wanted to book that room it would have to be done way in advance.

I would highly recommend staying here, and would go back again if I stayed in Colwyn Bay area. No hotel for me in that area. Definitely back to Bryn Holcombe

Room Tip: Romantic Bedroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

This place is delightful. Comfortable, friendly and a really delicious cooked breakfast. Excellent value for money. The room was nice, good bed and a decent bathroom as well. But mostly I'd be going back for the breakfast!

Also, family friendly - we have a baby and a good cot was provided.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank willda5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selby
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

Nice, traditionally appointed, clean room. Traditional but not dated. Delicious breakfast with loads of choice, fresh fruits to full English...

Lovely friendly landlady, always seemed to appear when she was needed, highly recommended place to stay!

Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
4 Thank Richard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Colwyn Bay
2.5 mi away
Premier Inn Llandudno (Glan-Conwy) Hotel
Premier Inn Llandudno (Glan-Conw...
#1 of 1 in Llandudno Junction
4.5 of 5 bubbles 686 reviews
2.1 mi away
Lyndale Hotel
Lyndale Hotel
#3 of 3 in Colwyn Bay
3.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
2.7 mi away
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
#12 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#18 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,110 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Quay Hotel & Spa
The Quay Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Deganwy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,407 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bryn Woodlands House
Bryn Woodlands House
#3 of 11 in Colwyn Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bryn Holcombe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bryn Holcombe

Property: Bryn Holcombe
Address: 9 Grosvenor Road, Colwyn Bay LL29 7YF, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Colwyn Bay
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Colwyn Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bryn Holcombe 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Bryn Holcombe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bryn Holcombe Hotel Colwyn Bay
Bryn Holcombe Colwyn Bay, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing