We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pre 2003 5*, Post 2003 3*” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Eirias Park

Eirias Park
Ranked #3 of 38 things to do in Colwyn Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
wrexham
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Pre 2003 5*, Post 2003 3*”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

My last visits to the park were in 1993,2004 and although I was only 9 the first time, the attractions have slowly dwindled in to just a leisure centre with a new rugby stadium (impressive btw)
1993 I remembered dinosaur world which was fantastic, although there was the whole "Land Before Time" film craze that happened around that time also the kids TV show "Denver Last Dinosaur", the world's interest in dinosaurs slowed down and I was not surprised in my 2004 visit that the attraction unfortunately closed a year earleir. Bordered up in 2004, the area has now been re opened (2011) and the foundations where the dino models stood can easily be seen.
Now a childrens activity area, which is very good as various types of hand weaving has been done with sticks and a very attractive butterfly shaped grid over the little eco pond.
Please be cautious as this area is a bit cut off from the park and there are the old dinosaur world entrance buildings that can provide cover for any anti social . On my visit this area was very quiet.

Gone are the boats on the pond too.

Places in life always change eventually, sometimes not for the better..... but will deffinatley come back to colwyn bay as the waterfront project will really give the area a boost it needs

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank WrexhamMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    24
    14
    4
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Colwyn Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Something for Everyone”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

Eirias Park is a large, pretty area facing the sea. There are wide open spaces to just walk peacefully, a little boating pond, tennis courts, a new cafe, a leisure centre with gym and indoor swimming pool etc. There is also a skate board area. A lot of money has been spent on providing a new stadium and music venue and in the few months it has been open a lot of the well known faces and young bands from the TV talent shows have performed there - The Undertones, Little Mix, Ollie Murs and many others. It has hosted the Jeremy Vine BBC Radio 2 show during the Olympic Torch run last year. It is a pretty, peaceful place but with plenty to do for everyone.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sally A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colwyn Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“"Not a lot to do if you're not sporty"”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

Concur with DrREvans. The park itself is a sad reflection on the town. The sport arena, however, is a very welcome addition to the area. If you're not attending or participating in a sporting event in the splendid arena, it's just a lot of grass to run/walk about on. You can play bowls, tennis or use the skateboard park, but there is not really a lot for non-sporty visitors to do. The Leisure Centre has a pool, fitness suites, squash courts and sports halls. It also boasts a "cafeteria".

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank fentonia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
301 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 286 helpful votes
“A mere shadow of it's former self.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

I'm going to sound like an old duffer now and say I remember Eirias Park in the good old days! Gone are the summer Radio 1 concerts, gone is the tacky Dinosaur World (only the enclosure and remnants of where fibreglass models remain), gone are the boats, gone is the wishing well, gone is the dome, gone are the rock gardens and yachting lake... it's now just a clean & pleasant park with an expanding leisure centre complex at one end and down the hill an ugly concrete watersports centre which has still yet to open on the other! Still, Eirias Park is a nice, clean area to enjoy a walk or picnic.... until the council sell it off for housing development. Watch this space because I bet my last comment will come to fruition...

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank DrREvans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Costs nothing but excellent family park”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

Eiras park is a beautiful and relaxing family day out. I take my children regularly as its all free. It's clean, tidy, spacious and something for everyone. There are fields to run on, spaces to picnic, and just lovely views of the sea. They have a great enclosed children's park, with all equipment working. From toddlers little park to the older child, even the adults will enjoy the zip slide (normally taken down for winter months). There is a boating lake although not sure if the boats are used as never seem to be. There is also a lake for sailing model boats. There is a skateboard park area with cafe nearby run by volunteers for the charity Dans Den. There are nice little Forrest areas with educational benefits to get small children involved. A football field. Dogs welcome too although must clean mess up!
There is a leisure centre on the grounds with swimming pool.
If you walk down to the bottom of the park, there is access to the prom and beach although a road to cross. This leads to the new Colwyn Bay waterfront project.
The park has some hilly areas but also plenty of level paths for buggy, wheelchairs, or bike riding.
Overall I would say its one of the best parks and as its all free it's great. Reading this back makes me sound like I work there, but I don't. I'm a parent but think facilities like this park are far and few between when budget is low with children.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank DaisyflowerCamper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eirias Park also viewed

Colwyn Bay, Conwy County
Colwyn Bay, Conwy County
 
Colwyn Bay, Conwy County
Colwyn Bay, Conwy County
 

Been to Eirias Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing