We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for a Wetherspoons”
Review of The Picture House

The Picture House
Ranked #26 of 83 Restaurants in Colwyn Bay
Cuisines: British, Pub
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Barnsley
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good for a Wetherspoons”
Reviewed October 31, 2013

We called in here for a meal whilst on holiday in Wales in September. I wouldn't usually go to a Wetherspoons thanks to so many bad experiences of their food but we chanced it and we weren't left disappointed.

We had mains with some sides which all arrived hot and fresh looking. I had gammon which was very tasty and it appeared that whoever was plating the meals had decided to give me a portion of what seemed like a million peas - but rather too many than not enough. My better half had the mixed grill which I'm informed was very nice and as good as those at places like our local Sizzling or Marstons pub.

The pub itself - converted from an old cinema - has a curious layout but it's an interesting and very attractive building inside. Toilets are a bit awkward to get to but nothing too challenging. The pub did smell a bit beer-y when we first got there and the bar area seemed to be full of relatively hardcore daytime drinkers. However I can't complain about the meal and given the price point of Wetherspoons pubs it's pretty much a case of getting what you pay for.

If we were in the area then I'd call again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lavabubble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    107
    44
    25
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kinmel Bay, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Nice Meal”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Went to Wetherspoons in Colwyn Bay for a bite to eat on curry night and it was pretty good. The staff were lovely, the tables were all clean and the food was very acceptable.

Hubby (who is not a fan of eating at this type of pub) said his curry was lovely and so piping hot he could hardly eat it, praise indeed!.

My steak was nicely cooked and tender.

A very enjoyable and well priced evening.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rachy031971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Basic pub grub”
Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

The pub is lovely on the inside. It's very atmospheric and the toilets are clean. The food arrived quickly and was basic but tasty. We visited for dinner on Saturday night and breakfast on Sunday morning because we were staying locally. It's a chain pub with chain pub food and cheap prices. You get what you pay for. I will definitely come again when visiting the area because it doesn't break the bank and you can just relax without feeling rushed to leave.

Helpful?
Thank PikaChar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales
Level 6 Contributor
192 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“A Team Leader a bit abrupt.(hinting at a T.A. review didnt help...oops)”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

The female team leader on duty today had "Not Welcome" writ large on her face,so,this normally very friendly venue was not so nice due to her ATTITUDE.


Upon arrival at 1.20pm today,we met sluggish service at the bar,S L O W with a CAPITAL "S"!.
Three bar staff,two of whom seemed novices and,so,learning the ropes perhaps?,so a bit at sea it seemed,(one was operating,it seemed, at a Snail,s Pace.)The third,the Team leader,as I said,was not warm of welcome.I admit,I might have added fuel,by commenting to my friend,with me at the time,in ear shot of the bar staff,that it was sluggish service,and "One for a trip Adviser comment",I felt the mood become yet less mellow,if that were possible,behind the bar,or so it seemed.I work in customer service,I visit LOTS of Wetherspoon,s pubs,in various locations,we all have off days,But the customer is key to business,so,as my old teacher would have said in his report,if he was reviewing this visit I made,today,to that pub,In terms of attitude and speed of service,on this occasion"COULD DO BETTER!" .Hope its a blip.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rossendale, Lancashire
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent food, value for money”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

This was an excellent value meal for us with our two sons, piping hot. Lovely surroundings an old picture house, the restaurant was packed out which was a good enough advertisement for us.
We didn't have long to wait for a table and the staff were helpful, pleasant and courteousness shall return when in Colwyn Bay.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Parkington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Picture House also viewed

Rhyl, Denbighshire
Llandudno, Conwy County
 
Colwyn Bay, Conwy County
Colwyn Bay, Conwy County
 
Colwyn Bay, Conwy County
Colwyn Bay, Conwy County
 

Been to The Picture House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing