We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fast and friendly.”
Review of China Club - CLOSED

China Club
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Llandegfan. Anglesey
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fast and friendly.”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We have been going to the China club now for 4 years or so. We have never been let down by either the staff or the food. We will continue to go, hopefully for a few more years yet.

We book online and even then, get a friendly response and our usual table is always waiting for us.

I agree about the toilets needing some improvement but then again, Bathrooms are what I do for a living and therefore somewhat bias.....Lol

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank steveransome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    11
    8
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire
Level 6 Contributor
360 reviews
223 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
“Good surprise”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Came upon this little restaurant by chance and I am glad we did. When we arrived they said they were full ( we were a party of 5) but asked if they could give us a minute. They totally rearranged the tables to fit us in. As someone else mentioned the chicken and sweetcorn soup was wonderful. We had the Taster menu which pleased us all. I especially liked the king prawn dish that was offered. The decor is very unusual, see through chairs and everything black and red. The toilets were upstairs and clean, but I know what other people have said about the smell - it is in the stairway and just an old musty smell. Would go again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ruby37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selby
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice little restaurant with interesting decor”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Visited whilst staying in Colwyn Bay on business, was immediately shown to bar/waiting area whilst I pondered the menu over a cold Tsing Tao beer, service was polite and good.

Good selection of traditional and contemporary Chinese cuisine, cannot fault the place. Ignore comments by others about toilets, the toilets are clean and well presented, the only smell is in the stairwell leading to the toilets and is just the smell of an old building...

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llanelli
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A most enjoyable evening”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

My wife and I visited early evening on 16th and thought it was welcoming with simple but elegant decor. The staff were very friendly and service was prompt. We tried the "tasty" menu (starter and a choice of 3 mains from a wide selection). It lived up to its name and the portions were more than adequate for our needs. We just managed to find room for some champagne sorbet - delightfully refreshing. Will definitely visit again when in the area. Cant really comment on atmosphere as we were the only customers in early.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Daideegoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent!!”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

As a lover of Chinese food and a hater of big overcrowded restaurants the China Club was a perfect choice. Me and the wife were made to feel welcome from walking through the door to walking out of it - the staff were very friendly and I'm so glad they recommended the roasted belly pork! To die for! All in all, a nice quiet restaurant that just radiates authenticity. Will definitely be going back because there are many more menu choices I've yet to try! :)

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank James A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed China Club also viewed

Colwyn Bay, Conwy County
 
Colwyn Bay, Conwy County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing