We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good price” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Travelodge Colwyn Bay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Travelodge Colwyn Bay
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Colwyn Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
96 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“good price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014

This hotel is excellent value and has a ggod location. Staff were vere helpful and one can park for free in the adjacent shopping centre. Rooms are basic but spotless and warm. the price is great also-would highly recommend this place-there is no restaurant but plenty nearby.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bomaolciarain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    285
    139
    25
    11
    5
See reviews for
126
221
18
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leominster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014

Travelodge Colwyn Bay is typical Travelodge - clean, tidy, large well serviced rooms, with very attentive and helpful staff.
The problem starts when you want to cancel a booking.
We wanted a 2nd night as one of our party had been hospitalised, but the hotel was full, so the very helpful manager booked us into another site at Halkyn a few miles away. Later in the day we found out that the patient could be discharged sooner than we had expected, and the manageress at Colwyn Bay cancelled our reservations for us - really helpful in the circumstances.
Now I find that Travelodge need 10 working days (weekends don't count apparently) to refund my card - strange as they are quite able to take money off the card in 5 minutes when you book.
This type of policy needs to be stopped. Why do organisations like travelodge think it is ok to make money on customers cancelled deposits.

Room Tip: Rooms are fine - customer service is atrocious. Get real travelodge - pay back as quickly as you ta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northants
Level Contributor
86 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

Normally we would use a rival hotel chain but picked this one due to price and excellent reviews. We were not disappointed and will stay here again on our next visit. Clean, quiet and easy to find. The only thing missing is a pub chain attached but we knew this beforehand and did not stop us booking this hotel.

Room Tip: We picked one room facing the front so I we could keep an eye on the car!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JR035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northants
Level Contributor
63 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014

Just returned from short stay in North Wales and first time in a Travel Lodge (usually use their competitors) but chose this on price. Excellent room and the bed was really comfortable. Spotlessly clean. The staff were lovely and very friendly and always greeted us when we walked past them. Weatherspoons less than 5 mins away for evening meals & Breakfasts - but Colwyn Bay only has a few pubs. Found a lovely little cafe called Amandas Coffee House just 2/3 minutes walk away from the Travel Lodge which did a lovely fresh cooked breakfast. Have a lovely meal in nearby chinese restaurant - once again within 5 minutes walk. Parking was easy too - just use the shopping centre across the road and get your ticket validated at the Travel Lodge. Very easy access 24/7 to car park. This was a good base for Llandudno, Conwy and surrounding area. Very quiet hotel and we got an excellent nights sleep on both nights. Will definitely use Travel Lodges again.

Room Tip: We were in room 13 overlooking the car park which kept my husband happpy coz he could keep an eye on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gertie61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2014

From arrival to departure this Travelodge was excellent! The Staff and the room were Brilliant. We will certainly return to Colwyn Bay Travelodge because of our stay March 2014, we stayed before 2011.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Lynne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales
Level Contributor
193 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014

The Hotel was perfectly situated,ideally located,the room,clean,tidy,spacious,the bed utterly perfect,comfortable.Only snag,the TV was too small.a 22 inch tv in a lovely spacious king sized bedroom was just mean.But,It was a great stay.We will be back again there soon.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014

Have stayed at this Travelodge several times. It is spotlessly clean inside and out. Handy for the beach. Wetherspoons is just the other side of the shopping centre for a great value breakfast or meal. The staff at this Travelodge are extremely helpful and one of the reasons we return.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Margaret I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Colwyn Bay
3.0 mi away
Premier Inn Llandudno (Glan-Conwy) Hotel
Premier Inn Llandudno (Glan-Conw...
#1 of 1 in Llandudno Junction
4.5 of 5 bubbles 686 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bryn Holcombe
Bryn Holcombe
#2 of 3 in Colwyn Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
1.3 mi away
Lyndale Hotel
Lyndale Hotel
#3 of 3 in Colwyn Bay
3.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Pier Hotel Rhyl
Pier Hotel Rhyl
#1 of 5 in Rhyl
5.0 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
4.5 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Conwy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,054 reviews
3.4 mi away
Premier Inn Llandudno North (Little Orme) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Colwyn Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Colwyn Bay

Property: Travelodge Colwyn Bay
Address: 1-7 Victoria Avenue, Colwyn Bay LL29 8DU, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Colwyn Bay
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Colwyn Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Colwyn Bay 2*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelodge Hotels Ltd so you can book your Travelodge Colwyn Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Colwyn Bay Hotel Colwyn Bay
Travelodge Colwyn Bay Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing