We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food”
Review of The Toad

The Toad
Reserve with OpenTable
The Toad is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 84 Restaurants in Colwyn Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed September 13, 2013

We tried it after reading reviews, and were very pleased we did. We ended up booking for the next two evenings we were in Colwyn Bay. Food was excellent, well presented but in a reasonable sized portion that didn't leave us feeling hungry, and staff were very friendly. I particularly liked the Eton mess desert! Pleasant view of the sea, even though it was the same grey as the sky each evening!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (814)
There are newer reviews for The Toad
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

574 - 578 of 814 reviews

Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

Went here after finding it on tripadvisor and what a find, food is very good, service fantasic, my only complaint and its not one that anyone else will think is that there was far too much on my plate, i would have liked a smaller portion, have booked for tomorrow eveing . & i will ask if they can put less on my plate. But if you looking for an eveing meal or lunch then this is the place to go if you are in colwyn bay :)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Angela G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pete h, Owner at The Toad, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2014

Hi Angela,
It can't be bad when your only complaint is that there is too much food, we would hate for anyone to leave hungry. The Chefs and front of house staff are very accommodating though so I'm sure you had no problems on your return. Glad you found us and we did not disappoint, thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

Didn't expect much. Not many pubs/restaurant nearby.
Food as good as any posh restaurant .
Obviously had Welsh lamb- delicious.
Surprised that we needed to book . Now we know why.
Eat here if you are in the area

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Denisem186356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pete h, General Manager at The Toad, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2014

Hi Denisem
Thank you for your review. Can sometimes be hard to find good quality home made food in the area but we like to think we tick that box. Lamb is a great choice and a big favourite with the customers and myself included. Booking is highly recommended especially weekends, so glad you got in, Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

we had a family get together ,i would definitely recommend this lovely place as we are from down south ,the food is fantastic ,the staff are very good and a lovely place to a relax ,and good value for money,cant wait until we are up next time

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank longhaul2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pete h, Owner at The Toad, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2014

Hi longhaul2
Thanks for a great review, glad you had an all round great experience with us. Look forward to seeing you again when you return to North Wales.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

Called in today for lunch on the way home from our holiday in Anglesey. This was my favourite meal of the week. Great choice of food, very tasty and nicely cooked. Recommended.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Samanjeni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pete h, Owner at The Toad, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2014

Hi Samanjeni
Glad we gave you a great end to your holiday in North Wales, and really lovely to hear we were your favourite place to eat. Hopefully if you return to the area you will be back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Toad also viewed

Colwyn Bay, Conwy County
 
Colwyn Bay, Conwy County
 
Rhos-on-Sea, Conwy County
Conwy, Conwy County
 

Been to The Toad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing