We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The ONLY place local to us that we will go to for food”
Review of The Toad

The Toad
Reserve with OpenTable
The Toad is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 89 Restaurants in Colwyn Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed January 30, 2013

I recommend The Toad to my friends all the time...it's about time I left a comment on here!

The Toad is the only place we ever visit for food anymore, the restaurant style "pub fayre" is outstanding. The staff are friendly and if ever there has been a problem a quite word with the manager and he is always happy to rectify the situation, even thankfull that the issue has been brought to his attention! a quality that has maintained our loyalty as customers for many years.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pete h, Owner at The Toad, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

Hi Laura
Thanks for your review, it's fantastic that we are getting such a great local following and it always feels well worth the hard work we put in when we receive such positive feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (863)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

725 - 729 of 863 reviews

Reviewed January 25, 2013

Have started meeting up here with a long time friend (it's her local) for lunch. Very impressed with the special lunch menu. Lots to choose from and always well presented and well cooked. Looking forward to next week for another visit.

Thank Sheila M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pete h, Owner at The Toad, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

Thank you for your comments Sheila, it is always nice to see ladies at lunch in the Toad. We look forward to seeing you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

I have always been impressed with the food at the Toad, but lately i feel they have excelled themselves.

I went 3 times last week with my partner, twice just the two of us and once that week with the family and even went again for sunday dinner the following week with the family again!

they have a fantastic lunch deal menu for only £5 and a dinner menu for £10, we tried both at different times and was very impressed, the quality and poritions were very reasonable. i recommend these menus very much. The staff always make us feel welcome.

The sunday dinner was brill too! (except the melbu toast for the pate was quite stale, that being the only problem!) if you pass i recommend The Toad.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank culinaryclass-nw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pete h, Owner at The Toad, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2013

Thanks for your lovely comments ( your shares are ready at the Toad when your next around ). This makes all the hard work worthwhile when we receive great comments like these, thanks again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

i have eaten here many times and the food and service is always top marks.
had the muscels this time..sure i spelt that wrong, nicest i have had for a long while,followed by a very nice coffee with a home made biscuit !! i can't wait to go back for the coffee and buscuit

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank sue m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pete h, Owner at The Toad, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2013

Thank you for your review. Yes we all love the home made biscuits but unfortunately they don't like our waistlines ( i've got one stuffed in my mouth as i'm writing this reply haha). Look forward to seeing at the Toad in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Warm welcome and excellent service throughout the evening. Food was very good - a wide selection of great meals.

Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pete h, Owner at The Toad, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2013

Thank you Steve B we hope this is your first of many visits to the Toad.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Toad also viewed

Colwyn Bay, Conwy County
 
Colwyn Bay, Conwy County
 

Been to The Toad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing