We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Three visits in one week!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Toad

The Toad
Ranked #1 of 80 Restaurants in Colwyn Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Welsh
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Special occasions, Large groups, Scenic view, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Three visits in one week!”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

I have always been impressed with the food at the Toad, but lately i feel they have excelled themselves.

I went 3 times last week with my partner, twice just the two of us and once that week with the family and even went again for sunday dinner the following week with the family again!

they have a fantastic lunch deal menu for only £5 and a dinner menu for £10, we tried both at different times and was very impressed, the quality and poritions were very reasonable. i recommend these menus very much. The staff always make us feel welcome.

The sunday dinner was brill too! (except the melbu toast for the pate was quite stale, that being the only problem!) if you pass i recommend The Toad.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank culinaryclass-nw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pete h, Owner at The Toad, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thanks for your lovely comments ( your shares are ready at the Toad when your next around ). This makes all the hard work worthwhile when we receive great comments like these, thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

741 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    461
    196
    46
    19
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
conwy
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“home made biscuit”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

i have eaten here many times and the food and service is always top marks.
had the muscels this time..sure i spelt that wrong, nicest i have had for a long while,followed by a very nice coffee with a home made biscuit !! i can't wait to go back for the coffee and buscuit

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sue m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pete h, Owner at The Toad, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thank you for your review. Yes we all love the home made biscuits but unfortunately they don't like our waistlines ( i've got one stuffed in my mouth as i'm writing this reply haha). Look forward to seeing at the Toad in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“First visit to 'The Toad'”
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Warm welcome and excellent service throughout the evening. Food was very good - a wide selection of great meals.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pete h, Owner at The Toad, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thank you Steve B we hope this is your first of many visits to the Toad.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Top marks”
Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

Had a few beers was great service friendly atmosphere even got lift home of landlord bouns highly recommend

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pete h, Owner at The Toad, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
The Toad's new years resolution was to reply to every review (good or bad), so here goes.

Thank you for your kind remarks and we look forward to seeing you in the near future. There that was too difficult was it!!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hebden Bridge
Level Contributor
223 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Decent place to eat”
Reviewed December 18, 2012

A business trip in early December can mean dificulties finding somewhere open or not just doing group bookings, particularly on a wet Monday evening. The Toad has a good ambience and I was able to get a table in an area separate from the Christmas party zone. The meal was very pleasant though the menu was a little restricted, probably due to the festive meals on offer. Pretty reasonably priced, good outlook over the bay (though it was dark when I visited). A good safe choice for a meal out.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RP-HebdenBridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Toad also viewed

 
Colwyn Bay, Conwy County
 

Been to The Toad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing