We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ellingham House”
Review of Ellingham House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ellingham House
Ranked #1 of 10 Colwyn Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
milton keynes
2 reviews
“Ellingham House”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

A beautiful house in a wonderful, quiet location, a short walk from the seafront. Our room was comfortable and beautifully furnished. Breakfast was all one could ask for. We thoroughly enjoyed our brief stay.

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank simon a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    303
    24
    2
    2
    2
See reviews for
52
182
18
48
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Llandysul, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

my wife and i stayed at ellingham house in 2011, and promised to return to stay in the 4postter room 1. we tried to book in 2012 but they were fully booked (a good sign) however we nanaged to get booked in this year in july, we pre booked in march 2013.
we were not disapointed, lovely room, shower,bath etc, hospitality as previous visit,food excellent.definitly worth the wait. very attentive hosts ian & chris we'll be back

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ottewell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Came to Ellingham House for long weekend to unwind after a very busy time at work and a short break before our big summer holiday. The room was amazing, Room No,1, beautifully presented and the room has everything you need, nice refreshments, biscuits, hairdryer, products in the bathroom with a lovely large shower, corner bath with jets to totally unwind you. The towels are lovely quality, bath robes provided, TV, guides to the local area, magazines, sofa in the room too! just perfect! Now we come to breakfast, everything you could wish for, a really good choice and everything is fresh, fresh fruit also, fresh coffee, not instant sachets and lovely variety of tea, juices and cooked choices. Ian and Chris catered for me having food allergies is always a worry but I told them at the time of booking and when I arrived they had catered for me, and thank you for this, so appreciated! The breakfast room is lovely and traditional and if there was one comment I would make and this is no way meant as a complaint just a suggestion would be to have some light chillout music in the background, just my personal choice. To everyone that reads this review you must stay here to appreciate this beautifully and well maintained establishment, you will NOT be disappointed. And my final comment is its clean, clean and clean. Thanks to two wonderful hosts! Darren and Amanda Northampton

Room Tip: Room Number One
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisJennings88, Owner at Ellingham House, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
many thanks for your review, pleased you enjoyed stay with us.

regards

Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Booked this charming hotel for my girlfriends birthday. Was pleasantly surprised on arrival as it was more than i had expected. Spacious room with a four poster bed, chocolates, toiletries. We both enjoyed our stay here and would definately return

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank stevephillips20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013

We went for a romantic night away & that is what we got. Room 1 with a king size four poster bed a large bedroom a walk in shower with whirlpool bath. Our room was very clean with chocolates & biscuits teas & coffees. when we arrived we were made to feel very welcome & nothing was to much trouble. We were given some good advice about the hotel & the local area.
Breakfast was great too nothing was any trouble & they catered the my dietary needs. If I was to stay in colwyn bay again I defiantly stay here it was lovely!

Room Tip: Stay in room 1
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerry K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

We had a fantastic room at Ellingham House - Room 1. By B&B standards it was huge with a large bathroom including a tub and spacious shower. The room was beautifully appointed, comfy bed, and free wifi. Breakfast was delicious and plentiful. Hosts were very helpful and friendly. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Room 1 was huge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ONTravellerCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex, England
Level Contributor
103 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We stayed here while attending a wedding anniversary party locally and were very happy with our experience. Our room was spacious and clean and the bed very comfortable. A very minor gripe would be that the toiletries were perhaps not as plentiful or luxurious as some similar places we have stayed, but given a choice between that and the room, we would prefer the room to be as it was!

The food options are limited, but Pen y Bryn, which is too far to walk, is a splendid eatery.

Of particular note was that we had to leave very early on the Sunday morning to catch a flight from London for a business trip. Chris and Ian went out of their way to leave a great breakfast for us at 6.30, which set us up really well - many thanks! We would certainly return here if in the area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peterandbrenda_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Colwyn Bay
0.5 mi away
Bryn Holcombe
Bryn Holcombe
#2 of 3 in Colwyn Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
3.0 mi away
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
#13 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
1.6 mi away
Lyndale Hotel
Lyndale Hotel
#3 of 3 in Colwyn Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Lawton Court Hotel
Lawton Court Hotel
#2 of 60 in Llandudno
5.0 of 5 bubbles 867 reviews
4.2 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Conwy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,109 reviews
2.6 mi away
Premier Inn Llandudno (Glan-Conwy) Hotel
Premier Inn Llandudno (Glan-Conw...
#1 of 1 in Llandudno Junction
4.5 of 5 bubbles 719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ellingham House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ellingham House

Property: Ellingham House
Address: Woodland Park West, Colwyn Bay LL29 7DR, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Colwyn Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Colwyn Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Ellingham House 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 star & Gold Award winner for 5 years (by Visit Wales). Ellingham House offers luxury bed and breakfast accommodation, with large spacious bedrooms, modern bathrooms and grand breakfast room. We are only a 3 minute drive from the A55 and 5 minute walk from the town, station and promenade, which has many restaurants. Ellingham House offers luxury accommodation with an informal atmosphere, so whether you are staying for business or pleasure you can be assured of a great stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Ellingham House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ellingham House Colwyn Bay, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing