We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stop for mountain biking, or a country weekend!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cimla
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Green Lanterns Guest House
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cimla
Reviewed June 17, 2014

I've stayed here twice. Once in the main hotel and once in the bunkhouse. The main hotel is on another level, but even the bunkhouse is great value at £20 a night, breakfast and linen included and beds are very comfortable as well. Compared to other hostels we've stayed at in Wales (no hot water, no restaurant, middle of nowhere) this place is incredible.

The steakhouse produces really good food at reasonable prices. All locally sourced. The beer selection's not the best (Coors Light? Why?), but I'd not advise getting drunk the night before hitting the trails!

The staff, Rachel and Lucy really make you feel at home. We felt more like we were staying with some friends than in a guesthouse. They even stayed up to serve us because we wanted to watch the England v Italy game.

Only downer was the rude woman who was at the front of house who had a go at one of us for playing with the very playful dalmatian (one of 3 dogs that live in the house). I gather she's employed by the owner? However, the other staff more than made up for her rudeness.

I'd come back here even if it wasn't for a mountain biking weekend with the wife.

Room Tip: If you're in the bunkhouse sleep in the one furthest from the door by the corner. Stops you bein...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RamblerMaiden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (51)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 51 reviews

Reviewed April 22, 2014

We stayed at Green Lanterns over Easter. We wanted somewhere close to Afan forest for mountain biking, and somewhere equally close to the fantastic Gower beaches. Green Lanterns was perfect on both fronts, being less then a 10 minute drive to Afan forest visitor centre, and 20 mins from the Mumbles beaches and bays.

The guesthouse also has an onsite equestrian centre and 'interactive' farms where kids (and adults) can meet the animals. There are a few there you wouldn't expect to find in Wales! There is also a secure area for storing mountain bikes. We had no issues, but I would imagine at busier times you may struggle for space. A larger shed / secure outbuilding would be a great addition and investment!

The staff at Green Lanterns are very welcoming and do justice to the famed Welsh hospitality. When busy, service can occasionally be a little slow, but never to the point where it becomes an issue. Beside, we're always happy to wait a bit longer for freshly cooked local produce, rather than food thats been kept warm on a hotplate for hours on end!

If you are after the latest in contemporary design and out and out luxury, then Green lanterns won't be for you. However, the guesthouse is far more in keeping with its traditional roots, and if you care more for looking at the magnificent scenery that surrounds Green Lanterns, then you won't be disappointed. The rooms are spacious, clean, warm and comfortable, and it has a much more homely feel than bland chain hotels.

Also on the plus side, the rates are very reasonable, and at the time of writing include a full cooked breakfast. Great for filling up before a hard days activities! And for after, there is an onsite steakhouse restaurant (T Bones) which has an american memorabilia theme and some superb food, with more than generous portions. At the time of writing, mains were between 10 and 20 pounds, with options for cheaper smaller portions. Not the cheapest, but the quality can really be tasted!

I would definitely recommend this guesthouse to friends and family, and will definitely return to use it as a base for mountain biking.

Hope to see you again in the near future.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WarksBells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

This guest house is great for mountain bikers. The rooms are spacious and the staff are really helpful and friendly. The added bonus is that T-Bones steak house is part of the Green Lanterns gueat house so you can have a much deserved monster steak and pudding after a hard day in the saddle!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TrailRaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We had a great stay last weekend; it's the perfect location if you want to explore the local area, either by foot, car or Mountain Bike! The rooms are clean and comfortable and there is the added bonus of a restaurant right next door that serves up the best that Wales has to offer!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JimmySJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We have stayed at The Green Lanterns three times in the past 12 months whilst mountain biking at nearby Afan Forest Park. The house is very homely and the rooms comfortable, clean and spacious. We have always been made to feel welcome by the owners with any request never too much trouble.

A bonus is the T-Bones restaurant on site which has fantastic food (welsh black beef highly recommended!) and a pleasant atmosphere. It is nice to relax in the conservatory with a drink and enjoy the views whilst your meal is being prepared before being shown to your table.

There is always a good variety of breakfast cereals available, with orange juice and fresh coffee and tea provided. A freshly cooked breakfast is also offered and is the perect start to a full day of riding!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

My husband and I, along with our 2 daughters, stayed at the Green Lanterns over the Easter weekend - after several recommendations we chose to stay here and I have to say we are so glad that we did. The room was comfortable and spacious, the staff were both friendly and professional and the food was amazing - T-Bones restaurant is definitely now a favourite of ours! Our eldest daughter had great fun at the Battle Field Live experience and they both loved the horse riding and seeing all the animals. We live not too far away and will definitely be spending more time here and will not hesitate to recommend the Green Lanterns to everyone we see! Thanks to Caren and all her staff for a great weekend :-)

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Warloway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

This is the first B&B I’ve stayed in that I will definitely never return to. For £70 a night and described as 'luxury', it wasn't at all what we expected.

We were told we could not check in until 4pm, despite the check in time on the website being noon. Our booked room was being refurbished and was not available, so we offered an alternative – with broken blinds, blocked sink, dirty wardrobes (mud and grass), no hot water and no heating. We asked for another, and were given a cleaner one with an electric shower. Although the shower was hot in this room, the TV didn’t work and there was no hot water in the sink. The owner would not turn on the heating until 5pm and turned it off at 10pm, not turning it on again until we asked them to at 8am. Although the heating had been on for around five hours, the radiators desperately needing bleeding and didn’t work fully - it was also -2*C outside. I slept in a woolly hat and jumper – despite them knowing I’m pregnant. Our next-door neighbours complained over breakfast to us that they had also been very cold overnight (with a 19 month old child) and one of our friends didn’t even have hot water in his shower, having been allocated the room we’d initially turned down.

We ate at their own T-Bone restaurant. The steaks were great, but don't get the chicken - it's dry and flavourless. The service was also very slow - we had to find our own menus and it took another 45 minutes before we were able to order. We slept terribly, being directly above the bar – music and talking going on quite late and quite loudly. At breakfast the next morning, we waited 45 minutes for our food, despite there being no other guests at that time, because they had no bread and had to go out and buy it.

Despite all this, we’re not usually fussy and are happy to compromise – we’re outdoorsy people, well used to camping! We thought perhaps it might be okay if we could just get a small electric heater, but the response was along the lines of “Nothing’s been right for you since you arrived, so it’s best if you find somewhere else.” At least she let us off payment for the night we stayed and for that I’m grateful. After we’d left to pack all our things, our friend then complained about his room – having no hot water in his shower and no heating and the owner apparently complained about us, saying she had no time for people who complain. It turned out that the owner didn’t want to put the heating on in our building (which meant no heating or hot water), as it would cost her a lot of money – despite one room housing a toddler and one housing a pregnant woman. They’d deliberately not turned on the heating until after we arrived and deliberately turned it off in the evening, with no intention of putting it on again in the morning. The rest of the staff were lovely and helpful, if very disorganised and clearly preoccupied with other events - too much going on to manage everything properly (battlefields, equine centre, animals to care for).

I would say, finally, that if you don’t need heating or hot water, or if you go in peak season when all the rooms are occupied, or it’s hot outside, you may not have any problems. If you are able to stay in another building (not the one with the bar/restaurant in), you may also be fine - though we were originally booked in the other building and our booking was changed on arrival. Our friends in the main building said their rooms were lovely and hot and they had plenty of hot water.

It’s wonderfully located for mountain biking at the Afan Centre – it’s just a shame they don’t know how to treat paying guests – providing at least the basic legal entitlement of hot water and heating!

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room in the main building if you want hot water and heating. If you *are* in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ninkistar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caren J, Owner at Green Lanterns Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2013

Thank you for your review .
Can I say in 20 years you are the only guests I have ever asked to leave !
You were obviously unhappy from the minute you arrived .
Soya Milk , Gluten free , sugar free , natural honey this and that .
Your friends ( who stayed that were more than happy , did say to me you were serial complainers and wondered why you ever went anywhere )
I asked you to leave and didnt charge you .
The people who booked into your room that night were very happy .
I have spoken to the restaurant staff , if you were not happy with the food why did you leave a tip ? You didn't mention the chicken was dry on the night .
The heating was on , the water was on . Everyone else that stayed that weekend were happy , we had 34 guests that evening .
Pregnant ? Good luck !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cimla
4.0 mi away
Best Western Aberavon Beach Hotel
2.4 mi away
The BlueBell Hotel
The BlueBell Hotel
#1 of 3 in Neath
325 reviews
2.4 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#2 of 3 in Neath
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Lanterns Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Lanterns Guest House

Address: Hawdref Ganol Farm, Cimla SA12 9SL, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Neath Port Talbot > Cimla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cimla
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Green Lanterns Guest House Cimla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing