We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent short break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Towers Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Jersey Marine
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 6, 2013

We wanted to get away for a lazy spa break somewhere comfortable and affordable - and the Towers was perfect. Excellent treatments and food - and a lovely room (superior double.) We even had sky sports to watch in there too which was great :)

The spa was lovely - clean and well managed with lovely staff. The restaurant was great with lovely food and again, excellent, helpful staff. The wine selection was surprisingly good too, and the rates amazing considering the quality of the food. The hot buffet breakfast works well too, and the food was great...don't be fooled into thinking it's usual drab buffet fare! Fresh and well cooked even in the last hour of serving.

Great stay - Now we just have to adjust back to the daily grind!

Room Tip: Superior doubles in the annex mean a quieter stay - especially if there's a wedding.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jnkpix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (632)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

496 - 502 of 632 reviews

Reviewed May 2, 2013

I didn't stay at the hotel, but did eat in the restaurant.

Really quite average, sorry guys, and not worth the price you charge for meals. I had the Towers Burger, not overwhelmingly cheap at £10.50. Burger came with bog standard frozen wedges, which turned out to be the best part of the meal. There were two burgers in an large bun with blue cheese, mayonnaise and onions, and strangely, half a tomato rather than slices. The burgers were of decidedly average quality and whether they were or not, did taste like mid range supermarket burgers. The salad mainly consisted of iceberg lettuce with a few bits of onion thrown in for good measure. Whilst there was plenty of it, quantity does not equal quality.

Service was ok, although we were not asked if we wanted any more drinks.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Nellicat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

A lovely hotel, I found the staff very helpful but not "in your face", the room was very well appointed with air conditioning, sofa bed, double bed (very comfortable), two TV's both with Sky, a large shower and a bath I could have done the backstroke in. We needed one more "camp bed" and this was setup for us for no extra charge, although we didn't eat our evening meal here or use the Spa the breakfast was so good I went back for more

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seanduffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

My 5th time to this venue for food/functions
The standard if food is great, the value is even better. Can't wait to go again to be honest. Maybe entertainment in the restaurant it felt like you had to eat and go, rather than enjoy the whole night and not rush off

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Laurajenkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Went here for a spa day I have been before 3 times in fact with different friends etc, and although we had a good enough time we thought that the place was in need of some decorating. The decor looked tired and in need of a spruce up.
Our booking in was fine but our treatments were straight away! we had only just got into our dressing gowns and did feel a bit rushed actually. Firstly the whole spa area was not warm enough especially on a windy day like yesterday. The treatment room was decidedly cool ! We had a back neck and shoulder massage. There were no essential oils used in fact it was probably a light base oil and when I saw the bottle it looked like an olive oil bottle? may be or maybe not but there was no scent !. As there are no clocks there it was difficut to gauge how long the treatment took but it did not feel like half an hour. There was no relaxation lounge to go to after the massage, an essential I think in a spa as all you usually want to do is rest and sometimes sleep ! We had to go to the lounge, where they have now put the bean bags. This is reasonably comfortable but again it was not warm ! The area around the pool does not have enough loungers there are too many deck chairs and it was a terrific wind coming through one of the doors blowing the curtains and making the area even colder. The pool water was not warm enough - this is always the case there, and the jacuzzi the same. Then the sauna broke ! There should always be a shower by the sauna and steam room to shower off before going back in the pool, and essential for good hygiene. The pool area needs some decorating and tidying up. The buffet was good enough but the salad was not that varied and only a few tomatoes sprinkled around what looked to be various leaves. Plenty of tea coffee etc to be had and this was good but there was no water in the lounge you had to go down 2 floors to get water from the gym - come on you need to sort this out ! In conclusion although we had a nice enough time I will not be rushing back. There are many spa locations around the uk and they would do well to take note of this. However in the Swansea area there is little competition, which is a big pity for the rest of us.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WalesMuriel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frances186466, Manager at The Towers Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

Firstly many thanks for taking the time to review your recent visit to the Spa. I was sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your time with us but please see below for some responses to some of the points that you have raised. The hotel is currently in the process of a rolling refurbishment programme, and some of the treatment rooms have already undergone a refurbishment, and we are also extending the Spa and leisure facilities. With regards to the treatments, these were booked for 9.30am and this would have been confirmed to you at the time of booking. The Spa is open from 9.00am, so people are welcome to arrive from 9.00am which then provides people with enough time to change into the robes and relax ready for their treatments. Your treatment which was a Back, Neck and Shoulder massage is a 25 minute treatment which uses Almond Oil and not Essential Oils. As a relaxing Spa venue, we purposely do not place clocks in treatment rooms, to enusure that customers get to relax. We do have a relaxation room on the top floor of the Spa building. We do also provide water for our guests to help themselves in the Chill-out-lounge at all times, the bottles of water are stored in the fridges, so no need to trek to the gym for water. Our showers are located in the changing areas and disabled areas, right next to the pool area. Hope that you will visit the Spa in the future to enjoy the extended facilities once completed. Many Thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

My daughter had her wedding reception here, 10 years ago, the week before Peter Haine MP, so that should speak for itself. This was our first return.
We had booked for a tribute night (Bee Gees- OK, but they are a hard act to follow, even if there's only 1 left!!). and splashed out to stay for the night.
I cannot fault the hotel, Staff are polite, helpful (cruise ship perfection) and anxious to please.
Our rooms on the ground floor looked out onto beautiful grounds, and were immaculate. They are really spacious, with an enormous comfortable bed, (slept like a log!). Linen (both bath and bedroom) was spotless.
The very roomy bathroom was spotless with toiletries etc. (amazingly no tissues in the room). Tea and coffee making facilities (Welsh tea - what else??) are to hand. There is ample storage space, even if you are staying for longer than our 1 night.
The hotel is quiet and well maintained.
The evening meal ( part of the tribute night) was a carvery. Food was plentiful if lukewarm.
The staff were hard put to keep up with demand, but tried really hard with smiles (and apologies) if food ran short, resulting in waiting times. My only complaint here or suggestion would be to use food warmers, as vegetables, etc were simply served on stainless steel platters (not the best heat retainers) . There must have been at least 150 people that night, so queues were inevitable, even if we were called up table by table.
It was a pleasant surprise to find that drinks were not exorbitant, as is often the case
where there is a captive audience.
The actual evening was highly enjoyable and this I can recommend for anyone just wanting a different night out, or a celebration. ( I believe they occur 5 or 6 times a year).
The spa facilities are amazing and if you fancy pampering (men and women) it is well worth a look. Treatments and sessions are reasonable and varied, staff are knowledgeable, and again every aspect of the spa and amazing pool are spotless.
After a really good nights sleep, we had our Welsh breakfast (part of the package).
Waitresses were attentive polite and quick to help.
There was a large selection of cereals,fruit etc, hot cross buns ( it was easter after all!). Toast was plentiful and refilled on request.
The cooked breakfast was excellent ( it was Welsh so what else would it be!!) Bacon looked like it had been sliced by hand, so thick was it. Everything was plentiful hot and easy to access.
All that was left then was to get in the car (free parking) right outside the hotel main entrance) and a very short drive to the M4.
It may seem like a glowing report, but that is all the hotel should have. In these days of cut back, it was really pleasant and relaxing to find somewhere like this at reasonable prices, and easy to get to.
Try it you won't be disappointed.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
Thank des
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frances186466, Manager at The Towers Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

Thank you for lovely review and am so glad that you enjoyed your time with us. The tribute acts are fantastic value for money and we do get lots of positive feedback from these events. I have passed on all your suggestions and feedback to the staff and different departments at the hotel. We very much look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Many Thanks - Frances

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We have just come back from staying at The Towers! Wow great room, fab service from reception staff! Even the spa cleaner was friendly!

We attended a tribute night could not fault the evening! Great Bee-gees tribute, wonderful food and a overall fantastic evening! We would fully recommend a stay at this hotel.

The Spa is a wonderful place to relax! Clean, bright and what a way to wind down.

We are already planning our next visit!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jersey Marine
2.7 mi away
Village Hotel Swansea
Village Hotel Swansea
#3 of 22 in Swansea
1,753 reviews
3.7 mi away
Swansea Marriott Hotel
3.9 mi away
Blanco's Hotel & Restaurant
Blanco's Hotel & Restaurant
#3 of 3 in Port Talbot
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
The Dragon Hotel
The Dragon Hotel
#6 of 22 in Swansea
976 reviews
2.9 mi away
Mercure Swansea
Mercure Swansea
#14 of 22 in Swansea
741 reviews
3.3 mi away
Morgans Hotel
Morgans Hotel
#9 of 22 in Swansea
761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Towers Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Towers Hotel & Spa

Address: Ashleigh Terrace | Swansea, Jersey Marine SA10 6JL, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Neath Port Talbot > Jersey Marine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Jersey Marine
Price Range: $118 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Towers Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Towers Hotel & Spa is an independant hotel situated only 30 minutes from the beautiful Gower, yet being sited only minutes off the M4. The hotel boasts 70 bedrooms, with full leisure facilities including an indoor pool, sauna, steam room and gym and ample free car parking. The on-site A-la-carte restaurant is open seven days a week serving local Welsh Fayre. All bedrooms are equipped with Sky TV, air-conditioning and guests get to enjoy full use of the leisure facilities. The hotel has two bar areas, with the Penderyn Bar being a residents lounge where you can enjoy a drink or light snacks in the evening. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, HRS, Hotel.de, Agoda, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Towers Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Towers Hotel Jersey Marine
The Towers Hotel And Spa
The Towers Hotel & Spa Jersey Marine, Neath Port Talbot

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing