We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Restaurant/Bar Area”
Review of Feathers@Aberaeron

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Feathers@Aberaeron
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Aberaeron
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Unfortunately we didn't stop at the Feathers. We had booked to stop 3 nights at the Castle Hotel in Aberaeron. The restaurant at the Castle was closed on the first night so we decided to book a table at the Feathers instead and we are so glad that we did. We ended up eating here for the 3 nights and stopping afterwards for a drink in the bar area as it was much more suited to our tastes than the Castle which could be rowdy on a night. The service is excellent, all staff very efficient and friendly. Good choice of food from several menus (either more expensive "restaurant" type food or from a "bar" menu - all food served in main restaurant). Food was just wonderful, beautifully presented, piping hot and cooked perfectly. Excellent value for money. Nice to sit back in comfy chairs in the bar area afterwards and relax. Judging by how busy they were the restaurant obviously has a well deserved reputation for good food.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank Cakesy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee159, Owner at Feathers@Aberaeron, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2012

Thank you for your review, we are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit to the Feathers and found both our food and staff excellent. We hope you will return soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (229)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

165 - 171 of 229 reviews

Reviewed October 12, 2012

Visited here recently whilie staying in Aberaeron , had heard mixed views but decided to give it a go. really glad we did good value for money excellent food and very nice surroundings . would certainly recommend if you are visiting

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank lizzy5158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee159, Owner at Feathers@Aberaeron, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2012

Thank you for your review, it is very rewarding to hear that although you had heard mixed reviews you came to try the Feathers and found the food excellent - we hope you will return soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

The last time I ate here (15 years ago?) it was so awful that I swore I'd never come back.

However, finding myself in Aberaeron and needing food, and with no tables available in any other restaurant in town, my local companion persuaded me that the refurbished Feathers is much improved and I should give it another try. I was pleasantly surprised, but not wowed by the experience.

On the plus side, we were able to get a table at short notice, and the food was good value.

A few small improvements and we'd have a had a really memorable meal.

After we'd ordered, I looked at my knife and it looked as if somebody had used it to unscrew something - the end of the blade was all twisted. Whoever laid the table should have disposed of it, and put an undamaged one out.

The goat's cheese starter - with fruit and a honey dressing on leaves - was fabulous, really lovely combination of flavours and colours on the plate. 10/10

The slow cooked belly pork was a bit disappointing - it didn't have the tenderness or unctuousness of slow cooked pork, it was actually pretty chewy and hard to cut though as it was in a thick chunk.The slow cooked belly pork I do at home is much more tender and juicier.

The crackling had been cooked so much that I feared for my teeth so was disappointed to have to leave it. The accompanying broccoli was cold - and I did try that before anything else on the plate. The apple sauce, parsnip mash and potato mash were all really lovely. 7/10

For pudding, the creme brulee was fantastic, but for my taste, the griottine cherries were a rather overpowering accompaniment. 9/10

I think we were forgotten between starter and main, we waited rather too long, but we were in a side room and the restaurant was very busy, so I can understand how easily it could happen.

A little more attention to detail and this could be a really great place to eat. Given the competition in this town, if it wants to do well, this restaurant needs to work just a little harder.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank goodysidno2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee159, Owner at Feathers@Aberaeron, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2012

Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you given the hotel a second chance after 15 years, and we are sorry we did not get it quite right, your points have been noted, and hopefully you will return soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

I am a local and would very much recommend this hotel.
We have many visitors and they LOVE the Feathers as a hotel. We eat there as often as we can meals are fantastic.. always. Good portions, well presented, even if you have a jacket potato at lunch time!
People who have reviewed and moaned about the service should sit back and chill, if you want snappy, impersonal service..... drive 22 miles to MacDonalds. It's a great, firendly, well run Hotel.... Try it!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dante m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee159, Owner at Feathers@Aberaeron, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2012

Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you enjoy the food and service at the Feathers, and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

2nd time at this hotel,lovely location at top of town short walk to harbour and shops. Newly refurbished bathroom, nice bedroom at front of hotel. Food excellent but portions far too large, cooked breakfast to order none of that buffet rubbish. Well worth staying just a pity that they do not serve real ale in the bar.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pemcer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee159, Owner at Feathers@Aberaeron, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2012

Thank you for your review. We are delighted that you have visited us before and hope that we can continue to be of service to you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

This is a really nice hotel,my wife and i had a meal there one night during our stay in Aberaeron.It was a lovely meal and excellent service by the staff.It would be a smashing place to stay,but it is little pricey for us,unless they do special offers in the winter months.Also they have their own car park which is a boon in Aberaeron.It is advisable to book if you want to dine at the Feathers.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bobbydazzler_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee159, Owner at Feathers@Aberaeron, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2012

Thank you for your review. We are delighted that you have enjoyed the food and service at the hotel. In the Winter months we run some superb DBB Breaks which are shown on our webiste, or you can phone us for our latest offers. I hope you will come and stay with us soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We went there with two friends for Sunday carvery and the food was excellent,big portions and the quality was top notch,friendly staff and a great manager,could do with bigger plates !!
Try and go in the "new section" a bit more room

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee159, Owner at Feathers@Aberaeron, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2012

Thank you for your review. We are very happy to hear that you have enjoyed our Carvery Sunday Lunch which goes from strength to strength. The plates are not the largest, but you can refill them as many times as you want - hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aberaeron
0.1 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Aberaeron
176 reviews
20.2 mi away
The Cliff Hotel & Spa
The Cliff Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Cardigan
871 reviews
10.7 mi away
The Falcondale Hotel
The Falcondale Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lampeter
740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.8 mi away
Y Talbot
Y Talbot
#1 of 1 in Tregaron
332 reviews
20.2 mi away
The Gwbert Hotel
The Gwbert Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cardigan
456 reviews
13.9 mi away
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
#5 of 13 in Aberystwyth
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Feathers@Aberaeron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Feathers@Aberaeron

Address: Alban Square, Aberaeron SA46 0AQ, Wales (Formerly Feathers Royal Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Aberaeron
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Aberaeron
Price Range: $164 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Feathers@Aberaeron 5*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Feathers@Aberaeron reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Feathers@Aberaeron Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing