We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful cottage”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Dolboeth

Traditional stone and slate welsh cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Traditional stone and slate welsh cottage
Woodburning stove The garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
27 reviews
Traditional stone and slate welsh cottage
Woodburning stove
The garden
Bedroom 2
Lounge and dining area with woodburning stove
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 1
The kitchen
The kitchen facilities includes dishwasher and washing machine
Newly fitted bathroom suite
Newly fitted bathroom suite
Cosy woodburning stove, perfect for wintry evenings
Llanrhystud beach is a couple of miles from the cottage
The garden is bordered by a stream
View from the stone bridge where the stream borders the garden
Sunsetting on Llanrhystud beach
Ceredigion coastline with plenty of sheltered, sandy coves just a short drive away
Aberaeron, the picturesque harbour village is 6 miles south along the coastline
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Aberaeron, Ceredigion, Wales

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
AnnieR147
Harlech, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Beautiful cottage”
Reviewed July 7, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
2
people found this review helpful

This is a very comfortable, well equipped cottage. Ideal for a relaxing weekend away from the hustle and bustle of life.
Cosy, traditional decor. The cottage was clean and welcoming. A well kept garden, with the added bonus of garden furniture and a BBQ.
Ideally situated for trips to Aberystwyth (9 miles), Aberaeron (6 miles) and New Quay a little further on down the coast.
The village of Llanrhystud has a well equipped shop and post office. The Black Lion pub does a great Sunday lunch.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisajames...
2 reviews
“Beautiful little cottage”
Reviewed June 29, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

A wonderful little cottage with a beautiful garden. Had read some not so nice reviews but some people obviously just like to find fault. Would definitely recommend and hope to return sometime soon. All in all a wonderfully relaxing weekend.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fregleton
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A lovely relaxing retreat”
Reviewed June 1, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

It is a proper cottage with character.There was everything we needed for a comfortable stay and the garden was really beautiful with the stream, birdsong and the wind in the trees. We were glad there was garden furniture to sit out. All the previous problems mentioned in reviews have been sorted because the cottage was clean and warm and the mattress and TV were fine. Loved the bathroom! We would stay there again,especially in view of the very reasonable price.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Peaceful garden
Liked least: Low doorway to kitchen can be a hazard to tall people
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sulleyboo
Telford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Cosy little cottage”
Reviewed May 27, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Stayed during half term cosy little stone cottage in beautiful surroundings. Place was clean and tidy with a brand new bathroom and lovely well equipped kitchen with everything we needed. Good instructions on how to work heating etc. ideally located for exploring ceredigion coast, tresaith, penbryn and llangranog beaches. Can imagine it is warm and charming with the woodburner on but we didn't need it. Beds were comfy with clean linen. Pretty picturesque garden which would be lovely to sit in during warm summer evenings. Enjoyed our stay will definitely go back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cosy cottage experience
Liked least: Leaving!
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 2, 2015
Thank you for your feedback, it is really appreciated. I'm so pleased to hear you had such a lovely time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie B
Leek, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Country Retreat”
Reviewed April 2, 2014 for a stay in March 2014

A beautiful spot to take a relaxing break. To me the garden with its primroses and bubbling stream running along the bottom is definitely the gem of this cottage rental. We stayed in March and were always warm in the cottage with its central heating and log burning stove in the lounge. The kitchen is very well equipped (a tea towel would have been nice, luckily we bought our own.) I was surprised that the bathroom was downstairs, but this really was not a problem. We found the cottage to be clean with fresh bed linen, the mattress could do with renewing as it is rather uncomfortable. There were a few blue bottles appeared and a couple of butterflies that must have been hibernating through the winter not unexpected at this time of year and we were probably the first guests this season. There were rather a lot of cobwebs between the wardrobe and the cottage wall in the main bedroom, but this was only an issue for me (an arachnophobe,) luckily no spiders were seen.
Would we stay here if we were visiting the area again? Yes most definitely.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Mattress
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 19, 2014
Thank you very much for your constructive feedback. We do like to continually improve the accommodation and have invested in new mattresses and a new TV.
There are plans for further improvements during the winter months and we've taken on board your comments about preparing the property at the beginning of the season.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shane M
Brynmawr, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“just ok,not very clean,cold,”
Reviewed February 4, 2014 for a stay in October 2013

just ok,not very clean.
not as bad as the other reviewer on here but there was a lot of dust under the beds and other places.
the place was freezing and there was water on the floor upon arrival.
it took an age to figure out how to turn on the heating,no instructions,
tv just about working.
emailed the owners but no satisfactory outcome between us,
clearly an issue with the cleaning of the property and should have been rectified after the previous reviewers problems.
wont stay again

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 19, 2014
I am very sorry this guest didn't enjoy their stay as much as others as we have had some really positive comments left in the visitors book.
Extracts of these include: -
"lovely well equipped cottage", "quiet place where you can relax", "peaceful and convenient location".

The cottage is traditional Welsh stone walls that are 2 feet thick so in Winter it can take a few hours for the heat to get in but once it is it's really warm and cosy.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah B
Iom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“dont stay here”
Reviewed September 10, 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here but left after one night, the cottage we were shocked was so dirty. Carpets were filthy with floors really dirty and had not been cleaned. Hairs and dirt under sofas and beds. The bath and toilet was so dirty. The grill pan we didn't cook on because again was dirty. The living room very dark and cluttered. I have stayed all over the world and have never been greeted with such a dirty place

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Other facilities & amenities Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 11, 2013
I am disappointed the guest decided to place this review. There was a mix up with the booking so the accommodation had not been cleaned but this was all sorted amicably and they received a full refund. We have reviewed arrangements to make best endeavours this doesn't happen again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing