We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice hotel”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Aberaeron
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Harbourmaster Hotel
Ranked #1 of 11 Aberaeron B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
newent
Level Contributor
76 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“nice hotel”
Reviewed January 5, 2009

We stayed here over New Year hotel is lovely and the staff are very helpfull the rooms are lovely we were in the Gwalia which is a lovely room with superb views the only thing to let it down was you could here the music from the restaurant so if you wanted an early night or late morning you had no chance and being pregnant and tired it proved very annoying at times.The restaurant food was fantastic couldnt fault it and as i couldn't eat some things they went out of their way to oblige.The bar area is very busy and not really a bar area it was just another eating area so no place to sit and unwind and socialise.These were the only faults.we were made to feel very welcome by the staff team and would go back again.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank casperboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

569 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    396
    107
    35
    27
    4
See reviews for
64
370
19
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wales
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2008

My first stay at the Harbour Master in Aberaeron, since they have opened the adjoining extension. The hotel, rooms, lounge, bar area, location and staff are all excellent and cannot be faulted. My only concern is the prices of the meals in the restaurant. They are charging London prices for food which I found to be - just ok, nothing special at all.

But when you wake up in the morning and open the curtains to the great view, you soon forget about the over priced menu.

  • Liked — Rooms
  • Disliked — Over priced menu
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank AirMiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2008

My husband and I holiday every year in Ceredigion but further up the coast. I've had lunch at the Harbourmaster before and had been itching to stay there. This year we planned to walk the Ceredigion coastline up to Ynyslas where we usually stay. We had 'Gambia' a wonderful quirky room will lovely furnishings and beautiful welsh beadspreads (one made into the headboard). While they were cleaning we glimpsed into the other rooms in the Warehouse which were equally lovely but not a quirky as 'Gambia'. We did feel only that check-in weird cos in a rowdy and busy bar/cafe. Also, while the restaurant was nice, we weren't impressed by the quality of the food or standard or the preparation.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alice_in_W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2008

We have stayed at The Harbourmaster on a number of occasions over the last 2 years and eaten there more frequently and every time we have been extremely pleased and impressed. The hotel and restaurant have high standards which are demonstrated everywhere from the moment you book to the time you leave. The recent extension has not spoilt the “small hotel” feel and if anything has enhanced the experience. The standard of the rooms is high with a boutique feel, all rooms individual and tastefully fitted out. The food in the restaurant (and the bar) is very, very, good, with use of excellent local produce supported by a good wine list. Staff are very efficiently and friendly and overall you get a wonderful, relaxed and friendly stay in a great location.
Top Marks

  • Liked — Great all round experience
  • Disliked — Nothing - all good
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank muffaletta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shropshire
Level Contributor
71 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2008

we have just come back from 2 nights at the Harbourmaster and loved it. The hotel is in such a good location right on the harbour wall with boats and the sea to look at. Our room was on the second floor and was spotlessly clean (so was the bathroom) with a big window looking over the harbour and the spacious bathroom had two big windows with sea views. We had a super kingsize bed with locally made woollen blanket, curtains and cushions, big pillows and duvet. There was Ty Nant mineral water in the room together with tea, coffee and hot chocolate and biscuits. Molton Brown toiletries were lovely together with plenty of hot water and a good (over bath) shower.

Breakfast was great with a good choice with lots of locally produced bacon, eggs etc and bottles of organic juices, yoghurts, cereal and many other nice things.

We didn't have any evening meals in the restaurant, although we had one evening meal in the new bar area and it was lovely with friendly service. Judging from the amount of people in the bar all day (they serve tea, coffee, hot chocolate etc all day as well as the usual drinks) it is a popular place. Aberaeron is lovely, small and well kept. We went to New Quay (6 miles south of Aberaeron) and spent 2 hours watching dolphins 30 feet from the harbour wall where we were sat.

Would recommend the Harbourmaster for a great weekend break by the sea.

  • Liked — great waterside location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jen1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2008

Why am I telling you this? It's hard enough to get a room without me telling you how good this hotel is. We usually book 12 months in advance and go 4/5 times a year. The atmosphere is relaxed. The owners, Glyn & Menna, make the job look easy (obviously it isn't), they are so relaxed and friendly. The breakfast is perfect. The staff excellent. The wall outside, over looking the harbour, is a perfect place for a drink when the weather permits. My only criticism is lunch - we would prefer a sandwich/bagette/panini/ ciabatta, etc. You will struggle to find a better placed hotel.

  • Liked — stylish
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Stretton-Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, South Wales
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2008

We have just returned from two great days at the Harbourmaster and would endorse everything that has been said by previous reviewers, adding our praise for the service we received from the owners and, in particular, the young and enthusiastic staff. The new extension has added ultra-chic, stylish and spacious extra rooms, and taken away the need for the less mobile to climb the narrow, winding stairs! The extension has also given the restaurant more space and iintroduced a sorely-needed, good-sized reception area and bar, selling excellent beers, wines and an imaginative selection of bar snacks. We liked it so much that we have already booked the same room for the same time next year!

  • Liked — Room and service
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Newportboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aberaeron
0.3 mi away
Feathers Royal Hotel
Feathers Royal Hotel
#1 of 2 in Aberaeron
4.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
0.1 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Aberaeron
4.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
14.1 mi away
Gwesty Cymru
Gwesty Cymru
#1 of 13 in Aberystwyth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
Conrah Hotel
Conrah Hotel
#3 of 13 in Aberystwyth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
11.0 mi away
The Falcondale Hotel
The Falcondale Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lampeter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 688 reviews
2.1 mi away
Merwerydd Guest Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbourmaster Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbourmaster Hotel

Property: Harbourmaster Hotel
Address: Quay Parade, Aberaeron SA46 0BT, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Aberaeron
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Aberaeron
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Harbourmaster Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Harbourmaster on the quayside in Aberaeron offers you comfort in the most idyllic of locations. This listed landmark building reopened in June 2002 after extensive renovations. We have 13 individually-designed rooms in three historic buildings - all with harbour views. In 2008 the warehouse was opened, providing a further 4 rooms. A harbour facing suite with panoramic views, two west facing sea view terrace rooms and a town view room suitable for disabled use. (lift access to these new rooms) The Restaurant and new warehouse bar specialises in fresh local produce. Come and stay for a relaxing time and watch the tides wash in and out and the sun set over the bay! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Harbourmaster Hotel Aberaeron, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing