We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Carno House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Aberaeron
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Carno House
Ranked #1 of 12 Aberaeron B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I are amazed at finally finding a place that is not only of a high standard but also extremely child friendly!!! The owners were absolutely fantastic in making sure that we had everything we needed for a comfortable stay. We can wholeheartedly recommend this wonderful B&B!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tinkerings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carnohouse, Owner at Carno House, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Thank you for such a wonderful review. We are pleased you all enjoyed the stay and hope you had a good trip back home. We do pride ourselves on being child friendly at Carno House and will do all we can to assist you in having a comfortable stay. Thank you and we hope to see you and the boys again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (176)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

156 - 162 of 176 reviews

Reviewed August 11, 2013

Our visit to Carno House on this occasion saw us staying in the Garden View room. Although we did miss the views from Aeron View it was a lovely room - spacious, beautifully decorated, and comfortable place to rest following a day watching dolphins! My mum also stayed with us, accomodated in the Sea View room. This was also spacious, beautifully decorated, and enjoyed glorious views to sea! This was not ensuite but had private bathroom facility practically next door - clean and spacious, Once again we enjoyed the delicious breakfasts and the warm welcome. Looking forward to our next visit!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gweni29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carnohouse, Owner at Carno House, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

It was lovely to see you again and this time with your mum. Thank you for your wonderful review, it makes it all worthwhile for us. If we were able to do guest reviews, you can rest assured you would have a 5 star rating from us. Take care and we look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Pleasant room very clean good breakfast plenty if choice
Side street can be noisy from cars but window shut stopped the noise
Recommended as easy reach to the town
Parking right outside
Very good value for money

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
Thank branstonthecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carnohouse, Owner at Carno House, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your comments. Carno House is well placed and has all the facilities you need to help your stay be that more comfortable. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Had an opportunity to return to Wales for a second time. Without hesitation, we immediately made reservations to stay a second time at Carno House. Upon our arrival, it felt as though we were visiting old friends. Linda and Gary are great hosts and just fabulous folks!

Carno House is spotless and tastefully decorated (love the new colors!). The rooms are quiet and very comfortable and the tea tray always appreciated!

Breakfast is delicious and plentiful, every detail has been thought of!

Carno House is well situated in Aberearon, close to the village shops, the waterfront and bus stops. Linda and Gary are well informed about the area and do not hesitate to help with whatever you might need.

I can't say enough about my great experiences with Carno House. I would, without any hesitation, highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank glecur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carnohouse, Owner at Carno House, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Thank you so much for your wonderful comments. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay, it was good to see you again and to meet your mum too.

We are please you enjoyed your stay at Carno House and your time at Aberaeron.

Be sure to come back for a third visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

This is the second time for us to stay and we are already planning our third! Rooms are beautifully decorated and are very comfortable. Breakfast is delicious and sets you up for the next few hours to explore the Cardigan Bay coast!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gweni29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carnohouse, Owner at Carno House, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

We are pleased you have enjoyed both of your stays and good to hear you will be coming back too. Carno House is positioned well within Aberaeron giving easy access to the coastal path and surrounding areas.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We stayed at Carno House for a friends wedding (May 2013). Having travelled from County Durham with our one year old - a trip that should have taken 5 hours - and ended up taking 9.5, we were made very welcome by Linda with a lovely cup of tea. Even though they were not expecting our little boy (we hadn't booked the hotel) he was made very welcome. The hotel was immaculate and our room (Aaron View) was perfect for us with a lovely sea view. Breakfast was delicious and catered for all of us. Linda even got up with us and made us a cuppa to set us on our way home at 5am on the Sunday morning as we had to be back to Durham for another wedding. We would definitely stay again only next time for a little longer.

Room Tip: Aaron View has a beautiful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Corinne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carnohouse, Owner at Carno House, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review, it is very much appreciated. At Carno House, we endeavour to provide our guests with a high level of service. Carno House do cater for children of all ages and it was our pleasure to meet your needs. Aeron View does have a lovely outlook and with a clear view of Cardigan Bay too. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you all again, this time for a longer period.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Carno House is located at the north end of Aberaeron, just off the main road and a 5-minute walk to the town centre. It has parking for 2 cars. We stayed Friday/Saturday night with my parents. We stayed in Aeron View (room 3 - a double) and my parents in Town View (room 1 - two singles).

Our room was functional rather than luxurious, but it had everything you would expect in terms of facilities and it was warm, well-maintained and spotlessly clean. It had en-suite shower & toilet. There was also a small single bed and a small single chair. The room had a distant 'sea-view'. I found the bed a little hard for my tastes and the pillows a little flat. My wife had no such problems and could have slept jn until the cows came home.

Breakfasts were excellent, with cereals and juices as well as a good selection of Full English ingredients all beautifully cooked. Coffee (filter) was also of decent quality.

Linda and Gary were excellent proprietors; friendly and amenable. Each had an excellent local knowledge and were able to provide good suggestions of places to visit.

Aberaeron itself is a lovely picturesque town between Aberystwyth and Newquay. The sea-front is stony and uninviting, but it has a lovely marina. The whole place looks very well cared for. There are some good eating options (see reviews).

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JesOakley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carnohouse, Owner at Carno House, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

Both of us would like to thank you for your kind comments and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay.

Aeron View is a delightful room which does have a great outlook to the sea, a very short distance away. The quality of our beds is high, with the room you refer to having a Sealy mattress and feather pillows. However, we appreciate that everyone has different needs and we do try our upmost to find a happy medium, which sounds as though it suited your wife and we assume, your parents.

Thank you for taking your time to place comments and we look forward to seeing you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aberaeron hotels
0.2 mi away
Feathers@Aberaeron
Feathers@Aberaeron
#1 of 2 in Aberaeron
230 reviews
0.2 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Aberaeron
177 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hazeldene B&B
Hazeldene B&B
#8 of 12 in Aberaeron
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Merwerydd Guest Accommodation
0.3 mi away
Arosfa Harbourside Guesthouse
0.2 mi away
Monachty
Monachty
#10 of 12 in Aberaeron
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carno House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carno House

Address: North Parade, Aberaeron SA46 0JP, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Aberaeron
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Aberaeron
Price Range: $49 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Carno House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carno House B&B offers cleanliness, relaxation and comfort at an affordable price. We are well placed in Aberaeron, a picturesque seaside town that has been crowned the 2016 winner in Wales' Best Places competition. Carno House B&B has light and spacious modern amenities. All rooms are ensuite, furnished with toiletries and our rooms have Freeview LCD TVs, radio/alarm clocks, adequately stocked complimentary trays and free WiFi. We have rooms overlooking the sea and our accommodation is strictly non-smoking. Limited private parking is available. A warm welcome awaits you at this family owned bed and breakfast, which offers you relaxing furnishings while providing a friendly atmosphere. We have accommodation to suit singles, couples and family requirements. This B&B is ideally situated close to the centre of the Georgian harbour town. You are well placed to explore the delights of this part of Wales. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Carno House Aberaeron, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing