We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely comfortable guest house”

Gwennaul Bed & Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Aberaeron
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gwennaul Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 11 Aberaeron B&B and Inns
anglesey
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“lovely comfortable guest house”
Reviewed August 17, 2011

We only stayed one night but would certainly stay again if we get the chance to visit the area. very welcoming friendly hosts and Kerry is superb at cake making!! Lovely slice of cake and cuppa on arrival- nice touch after a journey. Room was spotlessly clean with all facilities needed. Nice quiet location but within easy walking distance to the town. Breakfast was superb and beautifully cooked. Overall a very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: spotlessly clean and all essentials provided
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gerlinAnglesey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
39
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Haverfordwest, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2011

Gwennaul is in a lovely quiet location close to the beach for wonderful views of the bay, about a 10 minute walk along the beach or a short drive into Aberaeron. You are assured of a very warm welcome from Kerry and Dave with a tray of tea/coffee and some very tasty cake on arrival. We have stayed here for the 5th time and will be back again regularly, it is spotlessly clean, with comfortable beds, lovely fluffy towels, and a very good breakfast choice. There is ample parking.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WelshLady010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
1 review
Reviewed January 31, 2011

This little B&B is a real gem with nothing to find fault with and in a lovely location. Spotlessly clean, bed very comfy, fluffy towels and quality bed linen. Wonderful selection for breakfast using the very best ingredients (and you don't have to choose the night before as in some B&Bs!). Kerry and Dave are friendly and helpful, going out of their way to assist with anything, without making a fuss. Enjoyed the homemade cake. No wonder we have been a few times and will be going again!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wtab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bad Fallingbostel, Germany
1 review
Reviewed December 30, 2010

For us "Gwennaul" is the perfect B&B. And we should know!! We've already been staying there for two years in a row. And though we had agreed to give Wales a miss this year ... we are not so sure anymore. It's this time of year when you start planning your next holiday. In fact this is the reason why we are writing our review this very moment. To say thank you for two wonderful stays at "Gwennaul" and the beautiful town of Aberaeron.

"Gwennaul" is situated on the fringe of Aberaeron. There's a path from behind the house to the seaside and after a short walk you end up at the harbour. Right opposite you look upon the colourful row of Georgian houses Aberaeron is so famous for.
We've come to love these coastal paths in Wales. We walked from Aberaeron to New Quay last summer and it was worth every minute. Also within easy reach (should you have a car) is the bay of Llangranog. The views from the surrounding cliffs are breathtaking. And don't miss the stately home of Llanerchaeron!
There's so much to see ... and so much we haven't seen yet. So chances are we will be back sooner than planned.

Kerry and Dave Edwards are great hosts and they provide an excellent service. The rooms are tastefully decorated, the beds are very comfortable and everything is spotlessly clean. Last but not least Kerry conjures up magnificent full breakfasts!!
But there’s more to this place than just extremely good value for money. It is authentic hospitality and friendliness all the way. Kerry herself is the "smile of the sun".

As said before: "Gwennaul" is highly addictive and so is Kerry's walnut gateau ... -:)

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank toziel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
1 review
Reviewed December 26, 2010

This place is a little gem.

If you want an exciting, high action, all singing and dancing holiday, this is just the place where you need to stay to get away from all that noise, for a good night's sleep followed by a breakfast that will set you up to take on whatever the day has to throw at you.

Gwennaul means "Smile of the Sun", and this certainly reflects the friendly welcome received from Kerry and Dave.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MMunroe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Criccieth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 17, 2010

We were lucky enough to find Gwennaul just after it opened and had been awarded four stars. We received a warm welcome, which was just the start of a wonderful stay - so much so, that we have returned twice a year since then!

The breakfasts are of the highest quality ingredients and beautifully served in the sunny conservatory. The choice is extensive.

The rooms are comfortable and spotlessly clean with a guarantee of a good night's sleep. It is quiet and has safe off-road parking.

Kerry and Dave cannot do enough for their guests, as a glance at the visitors' book will testify. We recomment Gwennaul to anyone visiting Aberaeron.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barcli2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2010

Gwennaul was a last-gasp booking after the previous day's arrangements took an unexpected twist due to flight problems.
Needless to say, I was apprehensive about booking a B&B for a work engagement, but my apprehension was utterly misguided - Dave and Kerry are the most wonderful hosts, and our rooms were spotless to the Nth degree!
Cups of tea and walnut cake appeared on arrival, and quite charmingly, our hosts didn't care for the usual sealed plastic cups of UHT "milk", preferring to provide us with little flasks of fresh (and real!) milk. A delightful touch.

The room and bathroom were perfect - fresh clean bedlinen, and fine Welsh bathroom soaps. After a long drive, I should have asked for extra towels, as I'd be needing the shower the following morning too, but in my flustered state, I neglected to do so, although I'm 99.9% certain Dave would have obliged.
The shower was the one thing that left me scratching my head - it was, as it transpired, utterly splendid. Although I didn't know this until my second shower, when I pushed the button marked "Eco" (assuming that "Eco" = "Economy", and therefore meant a far weaker flow than the already lackadaisical pressure) and was blasted by a jet so completely in contrast with the non-"Eco" version. I'm at a loss to explain the interpretation of "Eco" here, and Dave and Kerry admitted that they found it bizarre too! Aaaaanyway, I digress...

Breakfast was a class act. Home cooking cannot be beaten, I'm certain of that. Sausages and Bacon were the finest variety - sourced from Rob Rattray Butchers of Aberystwyth. Dave and Kerry had really done their homework on the best local suppliers. Coffee and Tea were never-ending, as was juice, cereal and fruit salad. Yoghurts were in no short supply, and all in all, we left feeling sated, satisfied and refreshed.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Foxtrot-foxtrot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aberaeron
0.3 mi away
Feathers Royal Hotel
Feathers Royal Hotel
#1 of 2 in Aberaeron
223 reviews
0.4 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Aberaeron
171 reviews
3.6 mi away
Plas Morfa Hotel
Plas Morfa Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanon
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
The Falcondale Hotel
The Falcondale Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lampeter
720 reviews
6.6 mi away
Penrhos Park
Penrhos Park
#1 of 1 in Llanrhystyd
139 reviews
2.5 mi away
Merwerydd Guest Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gwennaul Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gwennaul Bed & Breakfast

Property: Gwennaul Bed & Breakfast
Address: Drefach, Aberaeron SA46 0JR, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Aberaeron
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Aberaeron
Hotel Class:4 star — Gwennaul Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Gwennaul Bed & Breakfast Aberaeron, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing