We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We loved it and hope to return very soon”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ty Gwyn Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ty Gwyn Guesthouse
Ranked #7 of 12 Aberaeron B&B and Inns
Southport
Level Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“We loved it and hope to return very soon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2011

This very attractive house is in an ideal situation very close to the beach. The bedrooms were decorated and furnished to a high standard with very comfortable beds and beautiful bed linen.

Mark the proprietor and his staff were very nice and extremely friendly and made us very welcome indeed. Mark is a trained chef and the quality,variety and excellent presentation of the food could not be faulted, We were recommended to two excellent places to eat in the town which is only a short distance away. Unfortunately we were only able to stay two evenings but would have loved to have stayed for longer.

The terms are very reasonable viz. £60 in the Winter and £80 per room in the Summer

Room Tip: Two bedrooms have double beds and sea views and one bedroom either Superking size or twim beds with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maesy359
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
53
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2011

We stayed here for one night after booking at the last minute.
Mark, the host, is a very welcoming host. He is very friendly and adds that personal touch to your stay. We didn't feel as though we were in a Guest House, but welcome friends staying in Marks' home. Perfection.
The room was excellent. I commented to Mark that if this was my home, with such a fantastic view, I would be loathed to share it with others - that's how wonderful the view is.
It's in a quiet location, close to the sea and Aberaeron itself.
Every need is catered for in the room with a lovely comfortable bed!
The breakfast was like something from a top-class restaurant. Mark catered for my vegetarian dietary needs with ease and was happy to explain where all the produce came from. (Tomatoes had been picked only 15 minutes earlier so were fresher than fresh!)
An excellent host in an excellent Guest House with an excellent location.
Thank you Mark, we will be visiting you again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pinney68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2011

Have stayed a couple of times with our twins and got a great welcome from Mark. Rooms are great, particularly the Annex, and Mark was very flexible with late departures. Will hopefully be staying again soon......

Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank alexredwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaftesbury
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2011

My family and relatives stayed for one night and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. We had all three rooms and none disappointed. Very clean and Mark is a gracious host.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DebbyShaftesbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2011

We stayed here for a 2 night break, what a wonderful place. Room very clean and comfortable. Lovely sea views. Wonderful host, nothing too much trouble very friendly. Excellent breakfast & good recommendations for evening meals in Aberaeron. Location perfect. What more can we say ! Can't wait to go back. Bev & Simon

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WrexhamBev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2011

Excellent location , quiet , very tidy , the host, mark, will go that extra mile to make your stay
a great one.

Room Tip: ask for sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wallingdry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2011

The proprietor Mark was the perfect host and nothing was too much trouble. Attention to detail was perfect and the breakfast was of a superb standard, catering for all dietary needs effortlessly. The location is beautiful, only metres from the sea, in a peaceful position but close to the town. The room and house were spotless, we will definitely be re visiting very soon. If you stay here, you will be delighted.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara186302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aberaeron hotels
0.4 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Aberaeron
4.0 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
0.3 mi away
Feathers Royal Hotel
Feathers Royal Hotel
#1 of 2 in Aberaeron
4.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
0.5 mi away
Arosfa Harbourside Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Merwerydd Guest Accommodation
0.4 mi away
Monachty
Monachty
#10 of 12 in Aberaeron
3.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hazeldene B&B
Hazeldene B&B
#9 of 12 in Aberaeron
5.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ty Gwyn Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ty Gwyn Guesthouse

Property: Ty Gwyn Guesthouse
Address: Ty Gwyn Drefach, Aberaeron SA46 0JR, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Aberaeron
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Aberaeron
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
3 bedroomed b&b of 4 star grading....Also has a 1 bed disabled adapted and dog friendly self catering annex..All just 300 metres from the sea....Modern clean home with wonderful sea views...Great food served and friendly staff.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with PitchUp and LateRooms so you can book your Ty Gwyn Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ty Gwyn Guesthouse Aberaeron, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing