We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Ashbolts”
Review of Monachty

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Monachty
Ranked #10 of 12 Aberaeron B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 29, 2013 via mobile

Cannot fault this super, friendly harbour side pub and B and B.Lovely comfy room,happy friendly staff and belly filling breakfast! Second time we,ve stayed and already planning next trip including our little Jack Russell who has been warmly invited :-) Thank you to all at The Monachty!

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Heather A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (220)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

150 - 156 of 220 reviews

Reviewed November 28, 2013

Aberaeron has always been close to my heart and it was with mixed feelings when I came back but only to find it hadnt changed and the location of this pub/hotel was central to all my needs. There was no noise and the rooms where cosy and warm ideal for the bitter weather when we were there, food and drink excellent and welcoming log fire.Who could ask for anything else, oh yes just one more thing to top it off I would like to take the opportunity of thanking the manageress who was so helpful and so kind and welcoming, always smiling.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alarch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2013

Our two friends and ourselves enjoyed our weekend at the Monachty. The staff really welcoming and we particularly want to thank the chef. Our rooms overlooked the river and harbour respectively and although quite pleasant, did need a little t.l.c. Aberaeron is a beautiful little place, the Monachty is central, warm and welcoming. We probably would visit again.

Room Tip: Make sure you have a sea view and unless you particularly want a family room, choose a double.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eirelav57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Arrived in Aberaeron after realising that New Quay is for people who don't have one leg longer than the other or are four legged with bells round their neck. Tried at the Harboumaster but that was full so very pleasantly surprised to find the Monachty with a double room with a walk in shower. Car parking is just along the road and is free and as others have said the Monachty has the river running at the rear.

The accommodation is basic, clean and adequate. There are stairs going up from the bar and another short flight to room 3 where we were. There was no noise at night from the bar and just a little from the road but not enough to disturb sleep.

Our evening meal was quite superb, well served, hot, presented and wholesome. The Rev. James ale was exceptional quality even to the exacting standards of this CAMRA member. The staff were friendly and accommodating.

Breakfast was certainly something to set the day on; served hot with good coffee and toast.

All in all this Inn is highly recommended and a bargain in both food and accommodation. A credit to Brains.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NevMeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

treated to a very tasty bar meal last weekend at this great little place impressed with how clean the kitchen looked too compliments to the chef. Friendly and polite staff would visit the place again hopefully in the day light to see the lovely views.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheFarrers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We booked this accommodation after spending an hour following B & B recommendations from the information centre, and just happened across the Monachty. We were pleasantly surprised at the high standard of the accommodation, our room overlooked the little inlet and we saw the tide flowing and ebbing from our window. The room was large and clean and the atmosphere in the pub was friendly and welcoming. We ate our evening meal in the pub and the food was of a really good quality. Breakfast didn't disappoint, and even though we were only there one night, it felt as if we were family members. It was a very pleasant stay and would thoroughly recommend the Monachty.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel, they're larger
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chrisPerth_Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Bit unsure when I booked this but any concerns quickly forgotten. The Host was welcoming and the bar area attractive. The Reverend James was well kept and the atmosphere in the bar was friendly. The bedroom was tidy and clean and beds comfortable. All was capped by a first class breakfast. Well worth a visit and great value for money

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aberaeron
0.2 mi away
Feathers@Aberaeron
Feathers@Aberaeron
#1 of 2 in Aberaeron
229 reviews
0 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Aberaeron
176 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Penwig
The Penwig
#4 of 19 in New Quay
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
The Ship Inn
The Ship Inn
#1 of 2 in Tresaith
384 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Cambrian Hotel - B &B, Pub and Restaurant
0.1 mi away
Arosfa Harbourside Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monachty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monachty

Address: 7 Market Street, Aberaeron SA46 0AS, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Aberaeron
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Aberaeron
Price Range: $79 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Monachty 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Monachty Arms is a small, individually run 8 bedroomed hotel situated in the holiday coastal town of Aberaeron on the beautiful west Wales coast 20 minutes south of Aberystwyth.Internationally noted for its fine original Georgian architecture, Aberaeron is equally famed for the brightly coloured houses which nestle sleepily round the picturesque harbour.The hotel is owned and operated to a high standard by the Welsh brewer, S A Brain and Company, known for high standards of comfort and customer care. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Monachty reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monachty Aberaeron, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing