We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy days!”
Review of Monachty

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Monachty
Ranked #10 of 12 Aberaeron B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 4, 2012

Stayed at the Monachty on New Year's Eve and were lucky to find a room. Although we were in a twin room, it did'nt cause much discomfort. Were greeted by the barmaid and was kindly offered to be shown to our room but as we noticed she was alone we were happy to find it ourselves. Room was ideal and just what we needed for the night (stayed in room 4 which overlooked the harbour) the only negative being the extractor fan outside but assumed it went off before 9pm.
As we had not planned anything for the evening, many of the other establishments were all sold out fo their ticket so ended up having an Indian meal at the Spice (approx 50yards from hotel) very nice food and well recommended.
Great service and breakfast the following morning - no concerns!
Overall, a very nice and romantic evening in a pleasant village and hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (222)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

194 - 200 of 222 reviews

Reviewed December 20, 2011

Rancid, fowl smelling atlantic prawn cocktail served at lunch, guest had to spit it out. The smell was so dreadful it lingered at the table for ages. Chicken being cooked on the hot plate smelled rotten (same smell as the prawns)
All of the food served to our party from the Christma menu was of very poor standard
Stilton stuffed mushrooms with port wine dressing consisted of 3 mushrooms with a little melted stilton on the top- no port wine dressing.
The worst food I've ever had.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sarah b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2011

stayed in room six great views of harbour from double aspect windows. room good excellant bed only fault open wardrobe no doors breakfast good

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank antonycro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2011

stayed on sat 19th nov,didnt expect much,as we had an awful experience at another "brains" pub the week before.we were pleasantly surprised! lovely clean room,with views of the harbour, staff were helpful and friendly.didnt sleep very well though,we could hear music all through the night!!! it finally stopped at 8pm. in all fairness,i couldnt say whether it was inside the hotel or outside as it was more like background music.nobody mentioned it the following morning so i put it down to the fact that i am a very light sleeper.we stayed in room 7,but had no problem with the water as described by a previous reviewer,in fact it was a very enjoyable stay and i cant wait to go there again.wish all "brains" pubs were this clean as the one in aberystwyth leaves a lot to be desired!! i am surprised that they would put their name to that one!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank janine5699
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2011

My partner and I visited late in October as a late minute holiday. Thankfully the weather was good to us!! We stayed once before the year previously and had not been impressed, but with it being one of the cheaper places to stay in Aberaeron, we thought we would give it a second chance.

We arrived before check-in, but were greeted with a smile, and were able to check in as the room was all ready for us. The Relief Manager, Hayley, happily showed us to our room and explained where our resident entrance was and that we were free to use it at our own convenience! The room was very clean, basic, but what was expected for the cost. The bed was very comfortable and the room was very light and airy. Only complaint was that the paint could do with a touch-up here and there.

We spent our afternoon taking in the sights of Aberaeron, a very colourful village! Each house on the main street appears to be painted a different colour!! We had fish and chips from next door (nice, but not the best we've ever tasted!) and sat on one of the benches looking out over the sea.

We had an evening meal at The Monachty, and while we felt that the food could be improved upon (it was a standardised Brains menu, not really what we would have expected from the decor and layout of the restaurant and some fresh fish dishes would be nice in a place next to the sea!) the service was spot on! We were served by Charlotte, who was extremely pleasant and polite and made sure that everything was okay for us! We finished off our evening with a drink in the bar area and had a pleasant chat with Hayley. It was nice to meet such a friendly manager on the floor, who took time to stop and talk to customers, especially as our last visit was left negative by the attitudes of the managers there then.

We would like to say Well Done to Hayley and the team for such an enjoyable stay. We will be returning again, even though we understand that the relief manager will have moved on by then, but hopefully standards will be continued!

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 6, which gave us a lovely view over the harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gjase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2011

Very warm welcome despite late arrival. Very clean and comfortable room, basic but so was the price! Lovely views of the Harbour (room 6) and unexpectedly quiet. Only big improvement would be for breakfast timings to be extended - could do with at least a one-hour window, whether earlier or later. Food OK, once again value for money.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scotty129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2011

My husband & I stayed at the hotel on the night of Sunday 31st July - the room was fine, the bed was clean - windows could definitely do with a clean though - worst part was no hot water in the shower - mentioned it to the landlady who said they had never had a problem with the shower in room 7 before but they had previously experienced problems in other rooms - suggest you check your shower works correctly when you arrive and not in the morning when there is no one around - also we were not shown rear entrance or fire exit when we arrived - breakfast was excellent and served by a very friendly lady

Room Tip: Room 7 has lovely views but check your shower has hot water as soon as you arrive
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank taylorep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aberaeron
0 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Aberaeron
177 reviews
0.2 mi away
Feathers@Aberaeron
Feathers@Aberaeron
#1 of 2 in Aberaeron
230 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Penwig
The Penwig
#4 of 19 in New Quay
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
The Ship Inn
The Ship Inn
#1 of 2 in Tresaith
388 reviews
0.1 mi away
Arosfa Harbourside Guesthouse
2.1 mi away
Merwerydd Guest Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monachty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monachty

Address: 7 Market Street, Aberaeron SA46 0AS, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Aberaeron
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Aberaeron
Price Range: $92 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Monachty 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Monachty Arms is a small, individually run 8 bedroomed hotel situated in the holiday coastal town of Aberaeron on the beautiful west Wales coast 20 minutes south of Aberystwyth.Internationally noted for its fine original Georgian architecture, Aberaeron is equally famed for the brightly coloured houses which nestle sleepily round the picturesque harbour.The hotel is owned and operated to a high standard by the Welsh brewer, S A Brain and Company, known for high standards of comfort and customer care. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Monachty reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monachty Aberaeron, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing