We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (192)
Filter reviews
192 results
Traveler rating
86
39
36
17
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
86
39
36
17
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslovely atmosphereyorkshire puddingserved by friendly staffhundred yardsappointed roomsmiddle of townsunday lunchnext morningpotatoeswest walesspecials boardan evening mealcooked breakfastset us up for the daycomfortable bedcooked to perfectionthe bank holiday weekend
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 192 reviews
Reviewed October 18, 2017 via mobile

Visited for an evening meal in the restaurant. It was Saturday night and we were the only ones there the whole time!? Waitress was so lovely. All proper home made food was really good! Only thing I can suggest is a drinks menu in the restaurant.

Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Dmhawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2017 via mobile

Adequate reasonably priced bedrooms above the pub. Not a bad choice for a short stay or one or two nights. The room was small but comfortable enough and the en suite had everything you needed. However, breakfast was top notch. Freshly cooked, extremely generous, good quality ingredients. Perfect start to the day.

Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank MKTee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2017

From the outside this looks lovely...great location with a good looking bar....the rooms let it down. They are newly refurbished, including windows that have been painted shut!!! And the room was very smelly so needed airing. The bed was not comfortable, the toilet seat did not fit the toilet and was loose. The sink shook, no grab bars in the shower and bath was slippery. Beautiful colours for decor throughout and it would only take attention to detail to make this a lovely place to stay. Did not eat there but can highly recommend the Harbourmaster for food!

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank YolandeFaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2017 via mobile

I visited the castle quite by chance two nights ago and decided to eat with my boyfriend .
Great selection of beers and wine but what really stood out was the competitively priced tasty food .
Both our meals were around £10 and great value for money .
We had nachos as a start and there were loads of them !
Our main courses well cooked and really tasty .
The owner was there and made our evening , very welcoming and nothing seamed to much trouble .
Well done to all the castle ! See you again soon .

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Joy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2017 via mobile

We stopped off at the pasty shop a few doors down then popped in here for a couple of coffees, as my mum in law got the coffees from inside my daughter rested her legs and sat on the outdoor seating, a man came out of the pub (I think he was the owner) and was rude telling us we couldn't sit there as we wasn't customers, I explained telling him we was inside getting coffee and he left, he was very rude and when he realised he was wrong he quickly left. I don't normally leave bad reviews but the coffee was poor at best and overpriced and the man ruined our day in what is a lovely town. The pasties from down the road however were spot on. Won't be returning.

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
1  Thank Conrad H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David J, Manager at Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2017

We have a policy that we only allow food or drink to be consumed that is brought from our premises only as we serve drink and food on the tables outside we have this clearly singed that this is our policy!
We feel that this is very unfair to our customers who dine with us on a regular basis and purchase food and drink from us to see litter crumbs etc all over the other tables which were not purchased from the Castle hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews