We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (199)
Filter reviews
199 results
Traveler rating
89
39
37
17
17
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
89
39
37
17
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews a great evening local entertainment yorkshire pudding served by friendly staff hundred yards busy weekend middle of town sunday lunch lovely shower next morning first floor road noise few drinks an evening meal lovely place set us up for the day night stay
Filter
Updating list...
35 - 40 of 199 reviews
Reviewed July 7, 2017 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights in July. Well positioned in Aberaeron. Bedroom fittings of a very good standard and spotlessly clean. Excellent cooked breakfast.

We slept towards the front of the building which meant a small degree of traffic noise in the morning. But unless you are a very light sleeper it shouldn't be a big issue.

If staying in the area I'd recommend the walk along the former railway line.

Date of stay: July 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank DafRichards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2017

I love West Wales and have stayed in Newquay before but not the coastal town of Aberaeron a few miles away.

Living in Cardiff it was great to escape the masses descending on the city for the Euro 2017 final and stay a few days in this attractive grade 2 Georgian hotel in the centre of Aberaeron but close to the harbour.

Owners Dai and Meinir are very welcoming as are the staff they employ.

My friend and I stayed in the hotel's clean, spacious, modern apartment which has a 4 star rating and is furnished to an extremely high standard with plasma screens, Wi-Fi, two tastefully decorated bedrooms etc. - one of which has an en-suite shower.

The apartment also has a kitchen, separate bathroom and furnished roof terrace.

I had a fantastic few nights sleep in the extremely comfortable bed with luxurious duvet and pillows.

As stated above, the staff are friendly and welcoming. The bar has a good range of beers at reasonable prices and the menus (lunch or evening) have a varied selection of tasty dishes (particularly if you like fish) again at reasonable prices. The bar has a nice atmosphere and pleasant clientele.

All in all a great time in Aberaeron and thanks to everyone at The Castle for their hospitality. Great hosts, staff who go out of their way for you, lovely food and superb accommodation.

I would definitely recommend The Castle to anyone looking for somewhere to stay in Aberaeron and look forward to returning soon and additionally having a drink with Dai and Meinir if they are in Cardiff in the near future!

All the best, Ernie.

Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank ErnieL_1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2017

This is a lovely red coloured grade 2 listed boutique hotel in the centre of the pretty harbour town of Aberaeron in West Wales.
My friend I went there last weekend to escape the football havoc in Cardiff and had a cracking time.
You are greeted by very friendly hosts (Dai and Meinir) and pleasant bar staff. The bar itself is comfortable with nice furnishing and a relaxed atmosphere, a good range of real ales and premium lagers plus an interesting selection of wines and unusual variety of spirits.
The lunch and dinner menus are varied with a lot of fish dishes which were really tasty and in my opinion represent extremely good value for money.
As for the accommodation, we stayed in a fully equipped flat at the rear of the property. The boutique rooms are tastefully presented and the en-suite bathroom had nice towels and a good variety of toiletries.
Dai and Meinir have a great, family-friendly hotel which has a lovely atmosphere and is a real credit to Aberaeron. We didn't want to leave but had to head back to Cardiff on Monday! Superb in every way. Great place.
Thank you Dai and Meinir and hope to see you again soon. Best wishes Charliebach.

Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank charliebach58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2017

Stayed five nights at the Castle hotel including part of the bank holiday weekend which was very busy in Aberaeron and the Castle hotel.
My husband,the dog and myself were looked after from the moment we arrived .Lovely friendly owners and staff .The cooked breakfast was a good start to each day down in the lovely cafe bar due to us having the dog with us,other guests went to the breakfast room.The food we had for our evening meal was very good quality again served by friendly staff.
Would visit again sometime in the future.

Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank welshwalker46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2017 via mobile

Lovely lunch, nice variety on the menu and a specials board too. We were in early so not too busy but nearly all tables taken by time we were leaving. Looks like a busy place. Friendly staff, good food, plenty of beer choices on tap and sky sports on tv! What more could you want

Date of stay: May 2017
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank RichardsBach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews