We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still first class!”
Review of Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Castle Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Aberaeron
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Have stayed here before and could not wait to return to visit my relations over Xmas and this was my first choice of hotels within the area again I really enjoyed my stay the rooms are well decorated in a modern style without being over the top and very clean and comfortable the breakfast was really well presented and the hospitality very warm at a decent price could not ask for more the restaurant in the evening was very enjoyable as the whole family joined us for dinner what tasteful food overall we really enjoyed ourselves and will be returning in the. Spring keep it up!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarahblond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (175)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

100 - 106 of 175 reviews

Reviewed January 15, 2014

Excellent local hotel. Did not stay but ate 3 times and the food was very good and plentiful.

Locals and tourists alike give the bar a great feel even in mid Jan. Sunday lunches are particularly good value. Give it a try, I bet it gets really busy in summer even though the "in set" may go elsewhere?

Room Tip: Sorry did not stay but heard good reports
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snafuPulborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Whilst showing two visiting friends around West Wales, we stumbled upon this beautiful hotel, where we had the greatest experience. Firstly, I'd like to say that I cannot find a picture that actually does this place justice, so be advised that it's more charming than it looks online! The staff were delightful, and offered us a fantastic deal on two rooms (Efa and Non). We started out at the bar, which is cosy, cute and well-equipped with local ales, Penderryn and Danzy Jones (which is apparently not ordered very often, but really ought to be!) We spent a fantastic night in this enchanting and very comfortable hotel, and then had an absolutely delicious breakfast (cooked and Continental!) The breakfast was made-to-order, and fabulous. I had kippers and poached eggs. Anyone who stays in Aberaeron knows that it is gorgeous, and The Castle Hotel is a beautiful, well-run and friendly addition to it!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexandra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

My Partner and I had a two night break in the castle in November the staff who

checked us in were very helpful. Our room was nicely decorated and clean and

just what we wanted. We ate in their restaurant that evening as they had a

two course for £15 for guests. The food was delicious and very well presented,

we found the waitress very polite and helpful and the atmosphere was great

and the music was very relaxing. The breakfast in the morning was also very

delicious on both mornings. We will definitely be returning to the Castle again and

recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fdmainetti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Had two nights 'Autumn break' at the Castle Hotel and it couldn't have been better value, service or food. Dinner, b&b for £90! Great rooms, bar has French feel to it. Would definitely stay again, and recommend to others.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank LondonPiccolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

This is my second visit to the Castle restaurant, this time reluctantly as I'd not enjoyed either my food or the service first time round earlier this year. However, I went with the majority vote of the group I was travelling with and had such a pleasant surprise. Friendly waiting staff who were attentive but not in your face, and delicious food. I went for the 2 course option £15 of field mushrooms with goats cheese followed by sea bass with veg - boiled new potatoes, carrots and broccoli. All beautifully cooked and presented. I succumbed to a dessert £5.50 of chocolate cheesecake which again was really good. I will definitely return and recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank louiseholistic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

An absolute wonderful long weekend at the Castle in Aberaeron over the August Bank Holiday, so much going on in the town. The hotel staff were very friendly and the rooms were top drawer. Such a convenient location for a hotel for the harbour and beach walks as well as the Aeron river. A good breakfast served every day.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter130391
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aberaeron
0.2 mi away
Feathers@Aberaeron
Feathers@Aberaeron
#1 of 2 in Aberaeron
227 reviews
10.9 mi away
The Falcondale Hotel
The Falcondale Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lampeter
736 reviews
4.0 mi away
Plas Morfa Hotel
Plas Morfa Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanon
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.1 mi away
The Cliff Hotel & Spa
The Cliff Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Cardigan
866 reviews
13.9 mi away
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
#5 of 13 in Aberystwyth
326 reviews
16.6 mi away
Emlyn Hotel
Emlyn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Newcastle Emlyn
574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Hotel

Address: Market Street, Aberaeron SA46 0AU, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Aberaeron
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Aberaeron
Price Range: $72 - $166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Hotel Aberaeron, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing