We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (192)
Filter reviews
192 results
Traveler rating
86
39
36
17
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
86
39
36
17
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslovely atmosphereyorkshire puddingserved by friendly staffhundred yardsappointed roomsmiddle of townsunday lunchnext morningpotatoeswest walesspecials boardan evening mealcooked breakfastset us up for the daycomfortable bedcooked to perfectionthe bank holiday weekend
Filter
Updating list...
124 - 129 of 192 reviews
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Stayed on the second floor, in a room called 'Non'.
The room was clean and nicely appointed.
It was a warm evening and the sash window would not open, as there was no other room ventilation it was a very hot night not very conducive for sleeping.
Woken at 5 by the room next door ,they were talking.
The walls were so thin that it wasn't possible to go back to sleep because of the noise emanating from the room next door.
The shower had two settings either scolding hot or very hot, so the best we could manage was a wash down using the sink.
Breakfast was nice...
We pointed these problems out to the duty manager and asked him to pass on my phone number to the owner...
I can't remember the last time I left a hotel exhausted and not feeling completely clean!
I'm still waiting over a month later for the proprieter to return my call.
It's a shame as its obvious they have invested a lot of money.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Great Location, Really welcoming, lovely atmosphere, excellent lunch menu, we had the lobster and chips and it was to die for, would definitely go out my way to go there again and try the rest of the menu!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank harrietdw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Hotel is in a fantastic location and really enjoyed our stay. The pub in the castle hotel had a relaxed, friendly atmosphere and drinks were reasonably priced. However, check in and out to the hotel was quite disorganised and the room was not as clean as expected. Found a few hairs in the shower and on the bedding. The room was also very noisy and we could hear the heavy doors slamming from other rooms. However, did enjoy our stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emily S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We were so impressed with the menu, sadly it would appear rather ambitious and beyond the capabilities of the kitchen staff.

We questioned the waiting staff about portion sizes re: ordering for our children. Her response was that she had no idea how much our children eat, so couldn't comment! Would it be wrong to expect staff to know their menu and portion sizes?!

Our starters arrived, and we were asked if we'd like salt & pepper with it??? Surely such condiments would normally be on the table?!

The food was average. The fish options seem to be their strength, although the portion sizes are less than generous. Salad bowls are served with everything, seasonal veggies and boiled potatoes. The basics are there, the more ambitious options need to be scaled down! Stick to what you're good at!!!

Ultimately the icing on the cake was the pudding choices. Very delicious lemon & lime cheesecake and Baileys creme brûlée- both very generous and the best part of our experience. However I have never been offered ice cream or cream with a cream brûlée?!

I really do think this could be a superb place. The menu needs to be carefully considered, the visitors book suggests as much- do the staff read it?? Previous guests had suggested that foid had merely come straight from the freezer, via the microwave to the table!
The cheap paper napkins should be replaced with linen, condiments should be available on tables for guests to use as they please and most importantly the toilet should have the basics hand soap and
towels at least!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank Andrea C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Small very clean room above a pub - well decorated and not any noisier than you would expect. Good value but let down by breakfast which was disappointing with one overstretched waitress!! Food was not hot and there was not much choice.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HolidayMaker738
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews