We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (194)
Filter reviews
194 results
Traveler rating
86
39
37
17
15
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
86
39
37
17
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslovely atmosphereyorkshire puddingserved by friendly staffhundred yardsappointed roomsmiddle of townsunday lunchnext morningpotatoeswest walesspecials boardan evening mealcooked breakfastset us up for the daycooked to perfectioncomfortable bedthe bank holiday weekend
Filter
Updating list...
128 - 133 of 194 reviews
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Hotel is in a fantastic location and really enjoyed our stay. The pub in the castle hotel had a relaxed, friendly atmosphere and drinks were reasonably priced. However, check in and out to the hotel was quite disorganised and the room was not as clean as expected. Found a few hairs in the shower and on the bedding. The room was also very noisy and we could hear the heavy doors slamming from other rooms. However, did enjoy our stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emily S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We were so impressed with the menu, sadly it would appear rather ambitious and beyond the capabilities of the kitchen staff.

We questioned the waiting staff about portion sizes re: ordering for our children. Her response was that she had no idea how much our children eat, so couldn't comment! Would it be wrong to expect staff to know their menu and portion sizes?!

Our starters arrived, and we were asked if we'd like salt & pepper with it??? Surely such condiments would normally be on the table?!

The food was average. The fish options seem to be their strength, although the portion sizes are less than generous. Salad bowls are served with everything, seasonal veggies and boiled potatoes. The basics are there, the more ambitious options need to be scaled down! Stick to what you're good at!!!

Ultimately the icing on the cake was the pudding choices. Very delicious lemon & lime cheesecake and Baileys creme brûlée- both very generous and the best part of our experience. However I have never been offered ice cream or cream with a cream brûlée?!

I really do think this could be a superb place. The menu needs to be carefully considered, the visitors book suggests as much- do the staff read it?? Previous guests had suggested that foid had merely come straight from the freezer, via the microwave to the table!
The cheap paper napkins should be replaced with linen, condiments should be available on tables for guests to use as they please and most importantly the toilet should have the basics hand soap and
towels at least!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank Andrea C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Small very clean room above a pub - well decorated and not any noisier than you would expect. Good value but let down by breakfast which was disappointing with one overstretched waitress!! Food was not hot and there was not much choice.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HolidayMaker738
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We had a wonderful meal at the Castle Hotel last Friday, and considering there was eighteen of us in the party, the service was superb. The food was very tasty and superbly presented. Our group varied in ages from mums and dads to kids, but every one had a enjoyed their meals. We will be making a point of going to eat there again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Evan2468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Booked for Saturday evening in August near Bank Holiday. Although busy, the waitresses were attentive and very helpful and friendly. I had dressed crab with lime dressing (to die for!). And hubby had sea bass with lemon butter sauce, beautiful. Lovely new pots and veg as well. Dessert (vanilla creme brulee) was to be shared but I never did get to try it. My husband said it was the best he had ever tasted. lovely filter coffee strong but not bitter. I understand Frederic chefs Wednesday - Saturday. Don't miss this, we will DEFINATELY be returning regularly as we live locally.
Sorry I can't comment about the rooms but we isn't stay .

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank LibbyOWalesuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews