We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Oasis”
Review of Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Castle Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Aberaeron
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Travelling back from York to my home in Solva I needed somewhere comfortable and relaxing to get my Mother a meal. We went to the restuant upstairs in the Castle Hotel and found it to be exactly what we wishes for. Great service from an attentive and caring young woman and delicious food which arrived quickly and was really well presented well. Thank you Castle Hotel we shall come there again.

Room Tip: Don't just look downstairs in the pub area - go upstairs and see how welcoming it is.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hbsolva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (172)
There are newer reviews for Castle Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

133 - 139 of 172 reviews

Reviewed October 18, 2012

Stopped here recently for a short break. Hotel is very well presented, friendly staff and very clean. Very efficient and friendly check-in.

Room was well decorated, comfy bed and had everything we needed (although hot chocolate and/or biscuits would have been nice on the tea/coffee tray). Only slight issue I had was dish left on table for housekeeping tips. Never come across this before in a hotel and it did make me feel uncomfortable. Did feel obliged to leave a tip each day which personally I was unhappy about, feel that we paid more than enough for the room. Bathroom is excellent, wonderful shower and spotlessly clean.

We didn't get the room we booked and there was no explanation given. We didn't make a fuss as the room we had was perfectly fine (looking at their website all their standard rooms appear to be the same). We just thought it strange that you are given the option when booking on their website of choosing which room you want and then they give you a different one. Didn't make any difference at all to us (and perhaps the room we were given was quieter) but it is something that people should be aware of.

The restaurant was closed on our first night so we decided to eat in The Royal Feathers Hotel which was excellent and had a lovely relaxing bar area. It was so good that we ate there the other nights as well so can't comment on the food at the Castle. We also preferred to stop in the Royal Feathers bar area for a drink afterwards as the Castle bar can be very noisy and we preferred a more relaxing atmosphere.

The hotel is situated on the corner of what can be two quite busy roads and we hadn't appreciated just how much traffic passes through Aberaeron (ear plugs useful on a night). We parked on the public car park (free) overnight. It was impossible to get a space when returning on an afternoon so we parked further down the road by the sea front and then moved the car on a night when we were leaving to go for a meal, by which time it was easy to find a space.

Overall we would recommend this hotel as it is friendly, clean, well decorated and efficiently run. However, next time we would pay extra and stop in The Royal Feathers as this was more suited to our tastes, being quieter and more relaxing but this is very much our personal choice and no reflection at all on the Castle Hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cakesy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Stayed for a two night weekend stay. Arrived early evening and met by a chap in the bar and taken to the room. Very clean and modern room quite compact but served our purpose as not planning to spend too much time in the room. Good power shower but limited toiletry supplies. Cooked breakfast included that was good. Was woken first morning at 6am by the television on the next room and the residents chatting so not really happy when planning a relaxing weekend. Did not eat in the restaurant in the evening but had a few drinks in the bar where there was a great atmosphere

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank judith_aubrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Just what we wanted for a lunch lite bite during our passing through day out ....and it wasn't extortionate...... and it was tasty and well presented.....well done to the young man behind the bar who appeared to be a good all rounder!!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimboSaundersfoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

whilst visiting the area in the caravan we booked in here for our eveng meal it was just beautiful i had the fish stew for starters and rump steak for mains i couldent manage a pudding the waitress steph was nicly attentive and the food was brilliant

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sueflintshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2012

Centrally located and easily accessible the Castle is efficiently run by proprietors Dai and Meinir.Modern public areas and comfortable bedrooms add to the welcoming feel.A good hearty breakfast set us up for a strenuous days walking.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SwanseaWalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

My booking was made by internet on the day before we arrived and there was a indeed a record of it when we arrived. Friendly welcome from the chap behind the bar.

The room was on the second floor - not good if you don't like stairs. I found the room a bit cramped and as it was on the corner had traffic noise on two sides. The bathroom was well appointed with a very decent shower.

We only ate breakfast at the Castle, having decided to try a couple of different restaurants in the town. The waitress was pleasantly chatty and the breakfasts set us up well for the days ahead.The bar did however, offer a decent drop of beer!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 558JohnP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aberaeron
0.2 mi away
Feathers Royal Hotel
Feathers Royal Hotel
#1 of 2 in Aberaeron
225 reviews
4.0 mi away
Plas Morfa Hotel
Plas Morfa Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanon
65 reviews
10.9 mi away
The Falcondale Hotel
The Falcondale Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lampeter
730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.1 mi away
The Cliff Hotel & Spa
The Cliff Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Cardigan
835 reviews
14.0 mi away
Y Talbot
Y Talbot
#1 of 1 in Tregaron
329 reviews
0.1 mi away
Arosfa Harbourside Guesthouse
Arosfa Harbourside Guesthouse
#10 of 12 in Aberaeron
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Hotel

Address: Market Street, Aberaeron SA46 0AU, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Aberaeron
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Aberaeron
Price Range: $121 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Hotel Aberaeron, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing