We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 star comfort, breakfast, welcome and style”

The Drovers Bed and Breakfast
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Drovers Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #8 of 13 Llandovery B&B and Inns
Wales
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“5 star comfort, breakfast, welcome and style”
Reviewed January 29, 2011

Jill & Mike made us feel very welcome. They have made their listed, Georgian town house into a very elegant, comfortable, welcoming place with spacious en-suite bedrooms and large cosy open-plan lounges with log fires.The rooms have comfy beds with white cotton sheets. Beautifully prepared and presented breakfasts. Ideally located on the historic cobbled Market Square, within short walking distance of local restaurants, cafes, and independent small shops.We were also delighted to be able to use their private parking facilities.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    11
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
37
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sonning
Level Contributor
74 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2010

Very welcoming and friendly with well appointed and decorated rooms with crisp white linen and all the charm of a character home. Lovely warm lounge for residents with wood burning stove and a great breakfast served in a spacious dining room. We also appreciated the secure parking for our vehicles.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JACDSonning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
Reviewed September 26, 2010

Jill and MIchael are very warm. Breakfast is great and the place is comfortable. Good location. I will definately go back again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank margaretchoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Queensland
Level Contributor
321 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2010

Suggested by local Tourist Info - Jill welcomed us with a cup of tea and a piece of her excellent cake. Introduced to Mike who has a great touch in the garden. Lovely room overlooking the garden with ensuite that had the best shower (hard to find in UK). Warm atmosphere all around - nothing was a problem. The breakfast was beautifully presented with plenty of choice but I suggest the bacon ( 2 sorts) and sausage (very tasty) for a great start to the day. At £75 a bit expensive but still good value!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bennlew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2010

There was just something so, so comfortable and inviting about this place. Beautifully decorated with every conceivable touch to make the stay just amazingly comfortable. To say it was home from home, would not describe the comfort that this small hotel/bY&b affords even the most world weary traveller.

We booked for a night, stayed longer and still, did not want to leave.......

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Borneobound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2009

We were just on our way home when we called in at Llandovery . Luckily we pulled up outside the Drovers and it looked a picture. For £65 a night we got 5 star accommodation and great service. Stay here you will not regret it

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chalkywhite26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatchewan
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2008

We booked our room at The Drovers through the Welsh Tourist Board.

The Drovers could not be better located in down town Llandovery. As soon as we arrived Jill made us feel so welcome with a delicious home made aperitif. Our room was perfect - cosy and with all sorts of nice touches.

Jill recommended an Indian restaurant to us a short distance away. It had only just opened and the food was the best.

The Drovers is well situated to walk around this ancient market town and explore the castle ruins.

In the morning there was a lavish and delicious breakfast.

As The Drovers is so centrally situated, it was nice to be able to have secure parking.

  • Liked — Great location. Nice being in a home with dogs.
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Buzt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llandovery
11.4 mi away
The Cawdor
The Cawdor
#2 of 3 in Llandeilo
440 reviews
10.3 mi away
The Plough Inn
The Plough Inn
#1 of 3 in Llandeilo
788 reviews
0.0 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#3 of 13 in Llandovery
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Kings Head Inn
Kings Head Inn
#5 of 13 in Llandovery
160 reviews
7.9 mi away
Ffrwdfal Country House
Ffrwdfal Country House
#3 of 5 in Llanwrda
8 reviews
0.1 mi away
Penygawse Guest House & Tea Rooms
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Drovers Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Drovers Bed and Breakfast

Property: The Drovers Bed and Breakfast
Address: 9 Market Square | LLandovery, Llandovery SA20 0AB, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Carmarthenshire > Llandovery
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Llandovery
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Drovers Bed and Breakfast 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A grade 2 listed 17th century town house situated in a historic market square opposite the fountain. All the bedrooms are furnished to a very high standard with en-suite bathrooms. The guests have a comfortable sitting room and choice of breakfast rooms, use of the walled garden, and private and secure parking at rear of property. We have created a warm, quiet, friendly and relaxing environment with excellent home cooking and congeial hosts. Visit the lovely town of Llandovery and enjoy the wonderful surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Drovers Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Drovers Bed And Breakfast Llandovery, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing