We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A last ditch attempt at accommodation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Drovers Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #8 of 13 Llandovery B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 13, 2011

Stayed there for just one night with me and my partner and would certainly recommend it to others. The pub opposite (The Castle) managed to find us this accommodation when we just turned up in Llandovery. Very pleasant people, a great breakfast and a nice clean and well decorated room. Parking is in the adjacent pay and display, which doesn't charge for Sundays and is cheap as chips on all other days.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ashmant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (75)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 75 reviews

Reviewed April 12, 2011

Stayed in a lovely spacious double room overlooking garden. Jill welcomed us with a pot of tea and home made cake. The Drovers is set in the peaceful Market Square in this lovely small town, and is full of character. It was a pleasure to stay here.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 186356Christine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2011

If it is good food(locally sourced),that you want
If it is a very comfortable place to stay, that you want
If it is style and charm that you want
THIS IS THE PLACE TO STAY

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Bert084
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2011

Jill & Mike made us feel very welcome. They have made their listed, Georgian town house into a very elegant, comfortable, welcoming place with spacious en-suite bedrooms and large cosy open-plan lounges with log fires.The rooms have comfy beds with white cotton sheets. Beautifully prepared and presented breakfasts. Ideally located on the historic cobbled Market Square, within short walking distance of local restaurants, cafes, and independent small shops.We were also delighted to be able to use their private parking facilities.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2010

Very welcoming and friendly with well appointed and decorated rooms with crisp white linen and all the charm of a character home. Lovely warm lounge for residents with wood burning stove and a great breakfast served in a spacious dining room. We also appreciated the secure parking for our vehicles.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JACDSonning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2010

Jill and MIchael are very warm. Breakfast is great and the place is comfortable. Good location. I will definately go back again.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank margaretchoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2010

Suggested by local Tourist Info - Jill welcomed us with a cup of tea and a piece of her excellent cake. Introduced to Mike who has a great touch in the garden. Lovely room overlooking the garden with ensuite that had the best shower (hard to find in UK). Warm atmosphere all around - nothing was a problem. The breakfast was beautifully presented with plenty of choice but I suggest the bacon ( 2 sorts) and sausage (very tasty) for a great start to the day. At £75 a bit expensive but still good value!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bennlew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llandovery
11.4 mi away
The Cawdor
The Cawdor
#2 of 3 in Llandeilo
472 reviews
10.3 mi away
The Plough Inn
The Plough Inn
#1 of 3 in Llandeilo
835 reviews
0.0 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#3 of 13 in Llandovery
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Kings Head Inn
Kings Head Inn
#4 of 13 in Llandovery
174 reviews
5.9 mi away
The Royal Oak Inn
The Royal Oak Inn
#5 of 13 in Llandovery
93 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Level Crossing
The Level Crossing
#2 of 5 in Llandovery
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Drovers Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Drovers Bed and Breakfast

Address: 9 Market Square | LLandovery, Llandovery SA20 0AB, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Carmarthenshire > Llandovery
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Llandovery
Price Range: $114 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Drovers Bed and Breakfast 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A grade 2 listed 17th century town house situated in a historic market square opposite the fountain. All the bedrooms are furnished to a very high standard with en-suite bathrooms. The guests have a comfortable sitting room and choice of breakfast rooms, use of the walled garden, and private and secure parking at rear of property. We have created a warm, quiet, friendly and relaxing environment with excellent home cooking and congeial hosts. Visit the lovely town of Llandovery and enjoy the wonderful surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Drovers Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Drovers Bed And Breakfast Llandovery, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing