We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to stay at the New White Lion again”
Review of The New White Lion

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Llandovery
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The New White Lion
Ranked #6 of 13 Llandovery B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 19, 2013

We've just come back from our second stay at the New White Lion, and it was absolutely terrific. The first time we visited we stayed for just one night in Twm Sion Catti (the rooms all have names that reflect the local area). This time we stayed for two nights in Lady of the Lake. The New White Lion has six rooms so I've got at least 4 more visits each of a greater length and I can hardly wait!

The hotel looks very quiet from outside but inside it is beautiful. Kathryn and David are the most wonderful hosts. David's cooking is superb. The hotel is in a fabulous part of Wales with excellent road connections and good rail connections. Really, it is superb. I'm already planning our next visit.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 711katyp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewWhiteLion, Owner at The New White Lion, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2013

Thank you for your kind words, we are lucky in that we have lovely guests who appreciate the uniqueness that is the New White Lion. It was lovely that you celebrateed your birthday with us and glad you took home the rest of your cake. 2 rooms down and 4 more to go and we can't wait to see you again regards Kathryn and David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (144)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

107 - 113 of 144 reviews

Reviewed January 13, 2013

We only had a night at the New White Lion but my husband and I feel relaxed, treated and refreshed. Such a lovely and luxurious place to stay, gorgeous room, delicious home made scones with jam and cream on arrival, and a really good 3 course meal in the evening and great value too. Loved the lounge and honesty bar and enjoyed reading the papers over a great breakfast. Would definitely recommend to anyone wanting a treat away with a loved one or friend, with gorgeous Brecon Beacons on the doorstep, it was a lovely break. Very peaceful room too (Room 1 - Physicians of Myddfai) we slept really well.

Room Tip: Room 1 was lovely, spacious, nice bathroom, comfy bed and peaceful. Slept very well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gudrun W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewWhiteLion, Owner at The New White Lion, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2013

Thank you for your kind words. We are very lucky that we have lovely guests who appreciate the uniqueness that is The New White Lion and David's cooking. It was a shame that you were her less than 24 hours but it was lovely that enjoyed the house so much. Major problems with the weather this weekend so it was lucky you came last week. Thanks again and enjoy your next holiday Regards Kathryn and David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

I can't begin to express how much I loved the New White Lion! David and Kathryn are the most wonderful hosts with Kathryn ensuring all your needs are taken care of and David delivering exceptional culinary delights including the best scones I've ever tasted...Fact! We stayed in the lady of the lake room which was extremely comfortable but I believe all the rooms are beautifully decorated and there is one room with a bath. Definitely a place to rest your weary legs if you are planning a trip to the Brecon Beacons.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LozzaWorley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewWhiteLion, Owner at The New White Lion, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2013

Thank you for your kind words. We are lucky in that our guests appreciate the uniqueness that is The New White Lion and David's cooking. You were such easy guests to look after and it was lovely when you offered to help wash up on New Year's Eve, next year I will take you up on that!! Thanks again Regards Kathryn and David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Not unusually we arrived in Llandovery on a wet afternoon! Our approach to the town dampened our spirits further but we had every confidence in our Mr and Mrs Smith selection………The New White Lion, owned by David and Kathryn.

Our spirits rose again when the front door was opened by a very ebullient Kathryn! We’d hardly placed a foot over the threshold when she offered us tea and homemade scones, but intrigue took over and we checked out our room first. Physicians of Myddfai, a beautifully decorated large room at the front of the hotel, with corner bath and plenty of local history.

Then a relaxing afternoon by the fire with David’s rather unusual scones, quite delicious! We then found our way around the honesty bar and selected from the menu for our evening meal.

A while later we indulged in David’s home cooked dinner, in the tiny dining room. Using the best of the local ingredients; we were treated to exceptional cuisine with a selection of good wines, all fairly priced. Feeling rather replete and enjoying the banter from the owners we invited David to join us for a game of Cribbage! Meanwhile Kathryn topped up our glasses, and kept us amused with her very sharp sense of humour. By the end of the night we felt as if we’d had an evening with friends! Not every guest’s choice for a weekend away for sure (and not always ours), but David and Katherine made wonderful hosts to those who wanted to engage…….

We were just as delighted with the home cooked breakfast, try the sticky sausage sandwich.

Alison Berneye and Peter Williamson
25th November 2012

Room Tip: We had the largest room, which was worth the little extra cost. The owners will take a single night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison2515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewWhiteLion, Owner at The New White Lion, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2013

Thank you for your kind words, we are lucky in that we have lovely guests who appreciate the uniqueness that is the New White Lion and David's cooking. It was such a shame that you were here only one night but it was fun. I have just looked up the precise meaning of ebullient and I am glad that it lasted all night. The icing on the cake is always when the guests beat David at cards!!! Thank you also for your email regarding the wine, don't worry we have not renamed it 'The Dishonesty Bar'. Tahnks again Regards Kathryn and David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

We stayed at The New White Lion for two nights to celebrate my wife's birthday and we were blown away by the hosts hospitality which included a home baked birthday cake and personalised birthday dinner menu! The rooms were lovely and the lounge was a great cosy place to sit whilst enjoying a drink from the honesty bar. We ate both nights in and the food was fabulous and a great variety of choice. Although I'm a big fan of cooked breakfast, I think the homemade granola was the tastiest thing I have ever eaten for breakfast in any hotel in the world! Well worth a visit!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GFordham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewWhiteLion, Owner at The New White Lion, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2012

Thank you for your kind words. We are lucky in that we have lovely guests who appreciate the uniqueness that is The New White Lion and David's cooking. We try to make everyone's stay special and are so happy that your wife had a good birthday, it makes us feel good when we know that people enjoy the house. I have emailed you the granola recipe so hope you will be making it this weekend, regards to the in-laws and perhaps you can make it an annual visit. Thank you again regards Kathryn and David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Booked the New White Lion for a romantic break and we certainly picked the right place! We were warmly welcomed by Kath and taken into the cosy lounge with the offer of tea and scones! Homemade scones at that.
Our room was gorgeous with a hard wood floor and very tasteful decor. Our king sized bed was made up with lovely Egyptian cotton linen and lots of snuggly cushions. There were even homemade biscuits on the coffee tray. After a hot shower and a lounge in the bath robes provided it was down for a pre dinner drink. Wow - we were so impressed we are planning building a drinks cabinet in the same proportions as the Honesty Bar. A gorgeous unit with all the usual suspects and some unusual ones as well - as a Scot I raised an eyebrow at Welsh whiskey but hey!!
We had pre-ordered dinner as the menu was left in our room. Lovely intimate dining room where the tables were just far enough apart as not to feel you were "sharing" your dinner! The food was graciously served by Kath and cooked to order by Dave. Could not fault the food at all. All local produce and cooked to perfection. We had Welsh lamb one evening which literally melted in the mouth and tasted devine. The beef cut like butter!
We retired to the cosy lounge for coffee and after service Kath and David stopped by for a chat. A lovely couple with our enjoyment and comfort at heart.
After a glorious nights sleep in our big bed, it was breakfast. You have to try the homemade granola- totally yummy. The breakfast menu catered for all preferences. Try the BLT!

We had a fabulous few days. Thank you Kath and Dave.

Room Tip: We got a sneak preview of some of the rooms - they were all gorgeous. You will not be disappointed w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorna Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewWhiteLion, Owner at The New White Lion, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2012

Thank you for your kind words. We are lucky in that the guests we have are lovely and appreciate the uniqueness that is the New White Lion and David's cooking. We try to make eveyone's stay special and we need to see pictures of the Honesty Bar in County Durham and compare notes on the Whiskeys. We are thinking of starting a Gin collection so watch this space. Thank you for your kind words Regards Kathryn and David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

We found this place through the Mr & Mrs Smith website when looking for an alternative to the Lake District for our annual walking holiday. My, are we glad we did. The Brecon Beacons made a fabulous alternative and the New White Lion is perfectly placed as a base.

Owners Kath and David are a perfect combination, bringing together great hospitality and outstanding food to create a warm, cosy, tranquil, elegant, adult space in which you can relax and be made a fuss of.

We never - ever - eat in a hotel every night, but after the delicious meal on our first night, we couldn't bare the thought of missing the treats on the daily changing menu. Breakfast is also excellent, with home made granola, fresh fruit and yoghurt just some of the treats on the heavily laden breakfast dresser before you even get to the wonderful choice of cooked breakfast.

We stayed in the Physicians of Myddfai room, which was very luxurious and thoughtfully put together - just like the home made scones and tea that are always at the ready when you return from a day's exploring.

We are not easily pleased but we were blown away. You must stay here. Frankly, you would be mad not to.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewWhiteLion, Owner at The New White Lion, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2012

Thank you for your kind words. We are lucky in that our guests are lovely people who appreciate the uniqueness that is The New White Lion and David's cooking. We try to make everyone's stay special and you were the most delightful and appreciative guests that we could wish for, it was a pleasure 'fussing over' you both and the icing on the cake was that you slaughtered David at cards on two separate occassions, you must come back soon so he can get his pride back. Thank you again Regards Kathryn and David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Llandovery hotels
0.1 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#1 of 13 in Llandovery
455 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kings Head Inn
Kings Head Inn
#4 of 13 in Llandovery
179 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Drovers Bed and Breakfast
The Drovers Bed and Breakfast
#7 of 13 in Llandovery
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Llanerchindda Farm
Llanerchindda Farm
#2 of 13 in Llandovery
131 reviews
5.8 mi away
The Royal Oak Inn
The Royal Oak Inn
#5 of 13 in Llandovery
94 reviews
0.1 mi away
Penygawse Guest House & Tea Rooms
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The New White Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New White Lion

Address: 43 Stone Street, Llandovery SA20 0BZ, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Carmarthenshire > Llandovery
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Llandovery
Price Range: $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NOW BACK UNDER PREVIOUS MANAGEMENT ( MAY 2016) The New White Lion at Llandovery continues the long tradition of giving warmth, friendliness, comfort and tasty sustenance to travelers passing through. The six en-suite-bedroomed family guest house has been lovingly restored giving it a traditional feel with a contemporary twist. The bedrooms have all been influenced in design by local folklore with stylish materials, finishes, furnishings and props all being carefully hand-selected to convey an individual essence to each room and help heighten guests enjoyment and appreciation of the local area itself.a stylish guest house that provides great comfort, delicious homemade food, considerable style and local historical insight all in equal measure.Refresh and re-invigorate yourself with the great Welsh outdoors or simply indulge in our comfortable, homely surroundings.a little luxury... in the heart of Wales. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The New White Lion Hotel Llandovery
The New White Lion Llandovery, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing