We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant place to stay with friendly welcoming staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Penygawse Guest House & Tea Rooms
Ranked #7 of 13 Llandovery B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 15, 2012

I was lucky enough to stay at Penygawse for a few weeks. It was extremely comfortable and clean with spacious rooms. They cook a breakfast for champions as well as a top class coffee shop. I would definitely visit again given the chance.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DEC85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (72)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 72 reviews

Reviewed October 1, 2012

Stayed for the sheep festival. Great hosts nothing was too much trouble, rooms were small but clean;great location right on in the middle of Llandovery and probably the best breakfast I've had in a long time!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DdraigCymraegSwansea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

My friend was fascinated with the evidence of history in the slanted doors. They have done a fantastic job though making a listed building comfortable and pretty. We had the twin room at the top of the hotel, long and narrow. They had provided a nice little table and stool so we could create our own little "lounge" to have our tea at the end of the day. Everything was comfortable and the location was fantastic. I wish we had stayed more than two nights.

Breakfast was amazing! Really good food and quite the treat of choices for coffee drinks. Yum.

Well located for everything in Llandovery. We enjoyed the craft shops, the castle ruins, the visitor center (has a nice historical display upstairs) and the nearby shops and restaurants. As it was raining and we were on foot, it was great that everything was within a few blocks!

Room Tip: I liked our room on the street side. It wasn't too noisy and we had a bit of a view to the gree...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sousin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

We found this place randomly from Tripadvisor after searching for somewhere between cardiff and swansea. Llandovery is not a town you would deliberately seek out as there are other places in Wales with more to offer, however we could not have been more pleased with our find and having never been bothered to leave a review before but felt compelled to write something to tell others what a great place to stay this is.
As we have 3 young children finding family rooms is difficult, but fortunately Penygawse was able to accommodate all of us. Included in the deal was a great breakfast and what can only be described as connoisseur coffees. Watching Allen work is like poetry in montion as he concentrates on pefecting each draw from the heads of the coffee machine.
Our 2 night stay was comfortable and you know you've got it right when you're settling the bill and you think the bargain is in your favour. Just as we left Allen drew me a double ristretto - no bitterness or aftertaste, just smooth liquid velvet reaching through the senses, Aaaah wonderful, the search is over the holy grail for the coffee junkie is in Llandovery.

Room Tip: You can easily sleep 3 kids in the double bed in the family room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eddiefree1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Fantastic stay , fantastic hosts , great for the kids (9yrs old) loads to see and do in the area , I would go back just for Allan's cappuccino ! We travelled from hull for our first visit to Wales and we will definitely be returning

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlieowen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

Called in here with my partner and his mother en route to Saundersfoot. It was lovely and clean and tastefully decorated. We all had various cakes and speciality coffees which were served by friendly staff and were totally delicious. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Relaxed33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2012

We stayed last year during the heat wave in October. It was a totlly random selection and we had a lovely time. Really friendly owners lovely breakkie and coffee was lush. Bed room was nice and the bathroom was very nice. Llandovery was a lovely town and we had the best fish and chips at the place next door. Hopefully we will return some time.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Llandovery hotels
0.1 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#3 of 13 in Llandovery
438 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kings Head Inn
Kings Head Inn
#4 of 13 in Llandovery
178 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Drovers Bed and Breakfast
The Drovers Bed and Breakfast
#8 of 13 in Llandovery
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Llanerchindda Farm
Llanerchindda Farm
#1 of 13 in Llandovery
130 reviews
5.9 mi away
The Royal Oak Inn
The Royal Oak Inn
#5 of 13 in Llandovery
94 reviews
3.7 mi away
Gwarllwyn Bed & Breakfast
Gwarllwyn Bed & Breakfast
#9 of 13 in Llandovery
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penygawse Guest House & Tea Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penygawse Guest House & Tea Rooms

Address: 12 High Street, Llandovery SA20 0PU, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Carmarthenshire > Llandovery
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Llandovery
Price Range: $90 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Penygawse Guest House & Tea Rooms 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Penygawse is a grade II listed Georgian townhouse in the ancient market town of Llandovery. All 6 bedrooms are recently refurbished and we have a mix of bath and shower en-suites to suit all tastes. Breakfast is substantial and served in our Tea Rooms along with 'barista' made lattes, cappuccinos and teas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Penygawse Guest House & Tea Rooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Penygawse Guest House & Tea Rooms Llandovery, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing