We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming and recently refurbished”
Review of The Level Crossing

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Level Crossing
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Part of a group using the place as a base for sets around the area.

Clean accomodation, lots of hot water on demand at any hour, good basic food with very pleasant staff who were helpful and polite.

No complaints and would be happy to recommend to all.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
Thank doodlepush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (68)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 68 reviews

Reviewed September 15, 2013

Recently stayed here as part of a crew. Sally and Stefano were superb hosts, nothing was too much trouble and they put up with an influx of 20+ people with ease. Their friendliness and hospitality is something I shall remember for a long time to come.
Overall a wonderful stay and will definitely be coming back at sometime to explore mid Wales

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mabboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

A film crew from Belgium with a cast of British actors, from Harry Potter and Les Miserables, chose to film around the scenic locations of Brecon, Wales.

A hotel was needed to accommodate the entire production during the week-long project; that hotel was 'The Level Crossing' in Llandovery.

The hotel had plenty of family rooms, bunk-bed rooms, showers and an extra special open space room for the costume department to store and prep actors for the days shoot.

After long days of filming, the crew where welcomed back by the staff with food and a towel for a warm shower.

Sally, Gill and Stephan who run the venue helped provide food and catering for everyone on the project; breakfast, lunch and evening dinner.

On several occasions the production faced unforeseen changes to the schedule with additional cast arrivals and departures; the staff of The Level Crossing went above and beyond to give every single person a bed to sleep, including giving up their own personal rooms to accommodate our Hollywood actors.

The bar and dining rooms where great places to socialize and enjoy the company of the locals.
Free Wifi meant everyone with their laptops and phones could easily keep in touch with friends and family online.

Overall my stay at The Level Crossing was like staying with family. I felt at home and that is something you can't get from other franchise hotels.

Sally, Gill and Stephan made the project a success, they really looked after us.
I enjoyed my stay here, and I will certainly be returning next time I stay in Brecon.

Jonny

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JonnyMason525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

I stayed here for a week while working with a film crew. We practically took over the place and are so happy we did.
The owners and staff have got to be some the funniest, most charming and cheerful people I have ever met.
The accommodation is simply and easy. The food is lovely and the whole place is spotless and welcoming.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

What more could I ask for. It was "chosen for me" probably based on price, but I was more than happy, bed was clean and comfortable, the room was plenty big enough for everyone, food was tasty and filling, staff were friendly and obliging. Did what it says on the box. Thank you for a nice stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnMarshall1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Very clean and welcoming. Accommodation was a bit basic but good value for money (except for having to pay for towels). Bistro was slightly limited in choice but all food was well prepared and delicious!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Garth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Stayed here for one night and could not believe how warm and clean the rooms and toilets were and the breakfast was beautiful, just like the welcome...will stay here again in i get the opportunity. Thanks..

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Llandovery hotels
0.2 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#3 of 13 in Llandovery
438 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kings Head Inn
Kings Head Inn
#4 of 13 in Llandovery
178 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Drovers Bed and Breakfast
The Drovers Bed and Breakfast
#8 of 13 in Llandovery
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Llanerchindda Farm
Llanerchindda Farm
#1 of 13 in Llandovery
130 reviews
5.9 mi away
The Royal Oak Inn
The Royal Oak Inn
#5 of 13 in Llandovery
94 reviews
0.3 mi away
Penygawse Guest House & Tea Rooms
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Level Crossing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Level Crossing

Address: The Level Crossing, North Western Hotel | Queensway, Llandovery SA20 0BH, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Carmarthenshire > Llandovery
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Llandovery
Price Range: $31 - $89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Level Crossing 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our four star graded Hostel, Café with our hygiene rating of five and Bar provide good quality accommodation, food and value for money, with a warm Llandovery welcome from Mandy & Mick. We are a business encouraging new visitors to Llandovery. We provide family and bunk bed accommodation for up to 35 people. Many rooms are En-suite. Delicious homemade food is available to visitors as well as our overnight guests, Hearty portions with good value for money. The café & Bar is open every day, during the day we sell lite bites and snacks including cakes and pastries, rolls, jacket potatoes. Then in the evening we do steaks, curries,pies and more all enjoyed with the beverage of your choice. We also do a set menu for party bookings of 10 or more, please see menus & information at the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Level Crossing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Level Crossing Llandovery, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing