We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent base for a relaxing stay in Carmarthenshire”
Review of The Level Crossing

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Level Crossing
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Sally was very welcoming and an excellent host for us and our little dog. Very clean and modern. Fully deserves its 4 star hostel rating. Food excellent too and well worth paying the extra for. See for yourself, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alfiehine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (67)
There are newer reviews for The Level Crossing
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 67 reviews

Reviewed August 3, 2013

A wonderfully warm welcome, excellent accommodation, helpful and friendly service, delicious food and excellent prices meant this was a top quality stay. Will certainly visit again. We were impressed by the high standard of the refurbishment and modern facilities.

Very helpful, in that they found safe storage for our motor bikes.

Room Tip: The establishment offers flexible accommodation for different sized groups but you only pay for the...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sian E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

My wife and I (Allan and Louisa) stayed here on the 27/07/13 (with a group of friends for a re-union) and were very impressed. Not only were Sally and Stefano wonderful hosts and extremely helpful and friendly, but the rooms were spotless and comfortable. The breakfast was great and nothing was too much trouble. They certainly made us feel very welcome and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this lovely place or stay again if we plan to visit the area.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Allan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Stayed at TLC 26/07/13 - 28/07/13 with my partner and his friend, not what you think we were on a very long bike ride from essex!! What a gem of a place. Sally and Stefano give such a warm friendly welcome, and wow what amazing breakfast she does all herself. Rooms are very clean and spacious, all new fittings, bathroom just perfect. Would defianantly recommend, we will be returning, its on a great location for visiting many local attractions. Well done Sally and Stefano. 5 star all the way from us :)

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sharon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

I do a lot of Hostelling and this is with out a doubt the nicest, and friendliest, place I've been ever.

Sally and Stefano were really welcoming, the room was clean and spacious, the beds looked brand new and were really comfortable and all the facilities worked well. Our breakfast was delicious and was served with a smile despite Sally having been out at a wedding the night before.

We spent ages in the bar; Stefano was really welcoming and it was great to relax in there with a beer. After a long day cycling, we really couldn't have asked for more.

All this and a decent price too.

Normally when you are Hostelling you expect to "rough it" a little; but not here. Looking forward to heading back to Llandovery and will most certainly be stopping at the Level Crossing.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank largedanish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Ate here last Friday for their Tapas Evening, the food was great, good atmosphere & attentive service, we particularly liked the linen napkins, will definitely visit again.
Didn't stay but was shown around the rooms & they looked clean, comfortable & spacious.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FamilyHill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

The Level Crossing is a fantastic little place to stay if you're looking for somewhere that oozes value for money. I booked last minute so that my boyfriend could join me at a wedding, the staff at TLC were extremely accommodating, allowed me to check in and provided a front door key so that we could get in on our return from the evening reception. Whilst our room wasn't en suite and the communal bathrooms were a little walk away, this didn't really matter too much. Everything was clean and comfortable, plus the breakfast in the morning was delicious - especially as we came down late. Would highly recommend the TLC to anyone looking to stay in the area.

Room Tip: If you ring TLC over using the booking enquiry form, they'll be happy to discuss your stay.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Francesca C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llandovery
11.3 mi away
The Cawdor
The Cawdor
#2 of 3 in Llandeilo
466 reviews
14.0 mi away
The Lake Country House & Spa
The Lake Country House & Spa
#1 of 1 in Llangammarch Wells
914 reviews
0.2 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#3 of 13 in Llandovery
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Kings Head Inn
Kings Head Inn
#4 of 13 in Llandovery
170 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Drovers Bed and Breakfast
The Drovers Bed and Breakfast
#7 of 13 in Llandovery
75 reviews
0.3 mi away
Penygawse Guest House & Tea Rooms
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Level Crossing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Level Crossing

Address: The Level Crossing, North Western Hotel | Queensway, Llandovery SA20 0BH, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Carmarthenshire > Llandovery
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Llandovery
Price Range: $39 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Level Crossing 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our four star graded Hostel, Café with our hygiene rating of five and Bar provide good quality accommodation, food and value for money, with a warm Llandovery welcome from Mandy & Mick. We are a business encouraging new visitors to Llandovery. We provide family and bunk bed accommodation for up to 35 people. Many rooms are En-suite. Delicious homemade food is available to visitors as well as our overnight guests, Hearty portions with good value for money. The café & Bar is open every day, during the day we sell lite bites and snacks including cakes and pastries, rolls, jacket potatoes. Then in the evening we do steaks, curries,pies and more all enjoyed with the beverage of your choice. We also do a set menu for party bookings of 10 or more, please see menus & information at the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Level Crossing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Level Crossing Llandovery, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing