We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hidden gem!”

Owls Nest Tea Room Diner
Ranked #5 of 16 Restaurants in Llandovery
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $10
Cuisines: Cafe, British, Welsh
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Cash Only, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Bronze Award Winner in the Carmarthenshire Tourism Association Outstanding service in tourism award 2013. The Garden Centre closed in 2011 but we have continued to grow as a stand alone family run Tea Room Diner with a large free car park and disabled access and facilities.We aim to provide a family and familiar welcome with lively and fun atmosphere.The varied and diverse menu ranges to accommodate those after an all day breakfast, snack or an afternoon treat. With a main menu full of jacket potatoes, baguettes, sandwiches, ciabatta, rolls and panini we aim to match your needs.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Hidden gem!”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Stumbled across this place after hearing about it on the welsh bikers forum and what can i say food is great and the people are great a* from me!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonnymorgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    12
    9
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Midlands
Level Contributor
45 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“FAB Burgers!!!!”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

My companion and I are not bikers, but we decided have lunch at this Diner after reading the TA reviews. The Diner is located in a modest looking log cabin within the grounds of a former garden centre just outside Llandovery. But appearance can be deceiving!

We found this place very friendly, relaxing and welcoming. (Toilets very clean too!) For lunch, my companion chose the humongous Black Mountain Burger (2xbeefburgers, 4xbacon rashers, 2xcheese, onions, mushrooms), and I had the Owls Nest Burger (which is a mini version of the Black Mountain variety). Both burgers came with freshly prepared salad and Doritos chips, and we also ordered tea and filtered coffee. Our lunch amounted to a princely sum of about £13! Best burgers we have had for a long long time, and there are photos to prove! We left the place feeling very pleased with ourselves!

While we were at the Diner, we were recommended to try the Black Mountain Road (Llandovery-Brynamam run). It was a gorgeous day and very quiet on the road. My companion was grinning all the way while his toy was making sweet music!!!

Thank you Owls Nest Tea Room Cafe!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank IndepTraveller08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fat bloke on a biffer”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Stumbled across the place by accident and have now recommended it on a couple of club sites. Ace bacon banjo and - laus deo! - proper filter coffee from a real pot full of the stuff. A perfect start to the Llandovery - Brynamman ride.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank James D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“very welcoming”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

My partner and I stopped here for a break and a bite to eat whilst on our ride back up to North Wales. Fantastic friendly staff, very welcoming. And met some friendly locals/regulars!
Lovely atmosphere, sat outside in the sunshine. Will definitely be back. Cheers from the 2 Ducati riders!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Leahen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best breakfast for miles”
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Quick service in a friendly atmosphere, all day breakfast mid afternoon so good it replaced Sunday dinner. Great value for money. Nice to hear customers being so friendly and at ease.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Poppy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Owls Nest Tea Room Diner also viewed

Llandovery, Carmarthenshire
Llandovery, Carmarthenshire
 
Llandovery, Carmarthenshire
Llandovery, Carmarthenshire
 
Llandovery, Carmarthenshire
Llandovery, Carmarthenshire
 

Been to Owls Nest Tea Room Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing