We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Awesome views from lovely cottage”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Penrhyn Barn

Penrhyn Barn and patio
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Penrhyn Barn and patio
Oak beams, comfy sofas and floor to ceiling windows to take in the views. Luxury, comfort and fabulous views from your kingsize bed
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
29 reviews
Penrhyn Barn and patio
Oak beams, comfy sofas and floor to ceiling windows to take in the views.
Luxury, comfort and fabulous views from your kingsize bed
Penrhyn pool leads you into a spetacular gorge
Prepare meals in the fully equipped kitchen
Beautifully fitted family bathroom with whirlpool bath
Sit by the river, fish or enjoy a glass of wine, take in the scenery and chillout.
The comfortable lounge with woodburner
The gorge at Penrhyn
Relax, entertain friends and family. Enjoy
penrhyn pool and gorge
A salmon caught in Penrhyn pool
Somewhere over the rainbow, the views from the back of the barn
Explore the Carmbrian Mountains from the doorstep
The local pub is within walking distance, sample their real ales.
Is this the lake district? No it's better, it's Lynne Brianne and there's no crowds.
Carreg Cennen castle is only a short drive
The river Towy at Penrhyn.
The river Towy at Penrhyn
Sit at the top of the waterfall and take in the view
Bluebells above the gorge
family fishing at beautiful Dinas just up the valley
stride off into the hills around Penrhyn
Breath in the fresh mountain air, it's clean enough for the lichen to grow.
magical nights by the river just outside your bedroom window
enjoy a round of golf
inviting forestry walks from the doorstep
Have fun at Pembrey Park
amazing beaches all within an hours easy drive
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Llandovery, Carmarthenshire, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Road55903...
1 review
“Awesome views from lovely cottage”
Reviewed June 13, 2018 for a stay in June 2018

We stayed for the weekend when I took part in Man v Horse. The cottage was a great base for us and worked perfectly for us for the weekend.

The swimming spot on the river was nice and cold for soothing my sore legs post run and for my wife to swim in (in her wetsuit).

If I visit the area again I will definitely check to see if this cottage is available.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 2, 2018
Thank you for taking the time to review the barn and for coming to stay with us. It was our pleasure to welcome you to Penrhyn, we were so impressed with your participation in the Man v Horse event at Llanwrtyd and hope to see you again next year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fudgeyk1n...
Borehamwood, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect isolation”
Reviewed August 16, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Beautiful house set in beautiful rural location. The barn was a great size for our party of 8 which included 3 kids. The kids loved playing outside with Bella the dog and loved the horses Woody & Roxy. Penrhyn was a great base for exploring the local area and was about an hr from the coast which was great. The host were very friendly and accommodating. We had a wonderful time, Thank you Jacquie & Mic

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 29, 2017
Thank you for coming to Penrhyn Barn, its lovely to meet new guests and share our stunning location. We would love to welcome you on your return, sometime.
`many thanks, Mic & Jacquie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ro C
Devon, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A beautiful property in a stunning location”
Reviewed April 29, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

This accommodation was perfect for a large group (10 adults). Beautiful surroundings, ideal for cycling and walking. A lovely sunny terrace ideal for a relaxing drink at the end of the day's activities. Highly recommended.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 30, 2017
Thank you so much for coming to Penrhyn, we always enjoy meeting new guests and sharing our very special setting. This is an amazing area for walking and cycling and there's still so much more for you to explore. We would love to welcome you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaveandJa...
Lancaster, United Kingdom
1 review
“A fantastic holiday home in a quiet undiscovered part of rural Wales”
Reviewed April 25, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We found Penrhyn Barn to be a very spacious and comfortable holiday home in a beautiful, undiscovered location. There was ample space for 10 of us and the barn is well equipped with 4 bathrooms/showers. The kitchen, lounge and dining room are all open-plan, ideal for socialising during meals. Under-floor heating and log burner ensure that you will stay warm even in the worst weather; fortunately for us the weather was perfect allowing us to enjoy the afternoon sun with G&Ts whilst watching the Red Kites soar above.

We discovered that the region is fantastic for mountain biking and walking. Also there are a couple of great pubs nearby.

We were so impressed we will be returning next year.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 30, 2017
Thank you for coming to Penrhyn Barn David. It was a pleasure to share our stunning secret area of Wales with you. You were wonderful guests, we are looking forward to welcoming you back.
Mic, Jacquie and Tess
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed March 16, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Mar 24, 2017
Hi, thank you for taking the time to give us a review. So sorry you got locked in the bathroom, after inspecting the lock we noticed it was damaged and we have now addressed this issue. We were available for assistance if you needed it. I'm afraid the lights went out because a light bulb blew and for safety reasons a trip goes on the main electric control box, Mic reset the trip, so everything was OK. In the summer we put up a net on the lawn for guests to enjoy soft ball tennis/badminton, sorry if you were expecting a hard standing tennis court.
We are pleased you enjoyed the walking, this is truly an unexplored area of Wales with spectacular scenery, it is often called 'Secret Wales.'
Thank you for visiting Penrhyn, we look forward to welcoming you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Dream6727...
1 review
“Fabulous”
Reviewed November 23, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Warm,cosy,clean and spacious. Perfect for 8 friends to celebrate.would be worried about taking younger children because of the near river passing close to property. Great walks and some fantastic scenery

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Driveway
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 26, 2016
Glad you enjoyed your stay in Penrhyn Barn, and hope to see you all in the near future

Mic & Jacquie.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
783pete
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fantastic loccation”
Reviewed October 12, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We booked this accommodation to celebrate a milestone birthday with friends and family and we could not have made a better choice. We had 9 people but with 5 bedrooms, 4 bathrooms, a dining table to seat 10 and a living area where we could all sit in comfort, this met all of our needs. The kitchen was well equipped and being located alongside the dining area meant that everyone "in the kitchen" was involved in the conversations going on around the table.
The location is very peaceful but within a short drive you were out in the countryside with great walks and scenery.
We would highly recommend this property and will go back again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and quality of the property
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 15, 2016
Thank you so much for booking Penrhyn Barn. It was our pleasure to have such wonderful guests and we would love to welcome you back any time. We will also offer you a loyalty discount for your next stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing