We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent accommodation!”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Penrhyn Barn

Penrhyn Barn and patio
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Penrhyn Barn and patio
Oak beams, comfy sofas and floor to ceiling windows to take in the views. Luxury, comfort and fabulous views from your kingsize bed
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
29 reviews
Penrhyn Barn and patio
Oak beams, comfy sofas and floor to ceiling windows to take in the views.
Luxury, comfort and fabulous views from your kingsize bed
Penrhyn pool leads you into a spetacular gorge
Prepare meals in the fully equipped kitchen
Beautifully fitted family bathroom with whirlpool bath
Sit by the river, fish or enjoy a glass of wine, take in the scenery and chillout.
The comfortable lounge with woodburner
The gorge at Penrhyn
Relax, entertain friends and family. Enjoy
penrhyn pool and gorge
A salmon caught in Penrhyn pool
Somewhere over the rainbow, the views from the back of the barn
Explore the Carmbrian Mountains from the doorstep
The local pub is within walking distance, sample their real ales.
Is this the lake district? No it's better, it's Lynne Brianne and there's no crowds.
Carreg Cennen castle is only a short drive
The river Towy at Penrhyn.
The river Towy at Penrhyn
Sit at the top of the waterfall and take in the view
Bluebells above the gorge
family fishing at beautiful Dinas just up the valley
stride off into the hills around Penrhyn
Breath in the fresh mountain air, it's clean enough for the lichen to grow.
magical nights by the river just outside your bedroom window
enjoy a round of golf
inviting forestry walks from the doorstep
Have fun at Pembrey Park
amazing beaches all within an hours easy drive
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Llandovery, Carmarthenshire, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Rachel S
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent accommodation!”
Reviewed August 23, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We stayed at Penrhyn Barn for a week with friends ranging from 1yr - 40+yrs. The barn was really comfortable, plenty of comfy chairs and lovely beds. Lots of room for us all and our 4 cars. The barn was clean and tidy and had everything we needed for an excellent week away. Outside there was lots of room to play and the farms very friendly dog and horses made a great addition. We would have liked to have had Wifi or some internet access as there is no phone reception but we all managed without it. Many of the local pubs and cafes had free wifi available. The views were stunning and at night the we watched shooting stars in a sky absolutely full of stars.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Night sky and views
Liked least: no internet
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam S
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful location, friendly owners, great accommodation !”
Reviewed August 16, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We stayed for a week at Penrhyn Barn with our extended family, ages ranging from 5- 80 something!? We all had a fantastic week, it is a beautiful very well equipped barn conversion providing comfortable and extensive accommodation. Comfy beds, hot power showers, big dining table for family meals. The setting is stunning, on a farm beside the river Towey. Good local pubs, amazing walks and wildlife on your doorstep.
The lack of wifi turned out to be a bonus, our two gadget obsessed teenagers had a week of swimming in the river, walking and playing good old fashioned board games!
Mic and Jacqui could not have been more welcoming and helpful, and Tess the dog was a big hit!

Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wannes_Va...
Kuurne, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A hidden treasure”
Reviewed July 27, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

This is an excellent accommodation for our extended family consisting of 7 adults 3 children and a newborn. We didn't need any of the undersoil heating and fireplace during our stay ( an average 27 °C) but we sure did use the washer and dryer provided. Overall a top accommodation with just a few minor remarks. The rough gravel road towards the barn could use a do-over, and it would be awesome to have some wifi installed, because there is no cell phone reception in the valley. On the other hand, you have your own spot at the river and spectacular sighting. On the edge of Brecon Beacons, the area is great for hiking, biking, mountainbiking etc. The river near the barn is not suitable for rafting according to Mic, the owner.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davehalew...
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Absolutely breathtaking location.”
Reviewed January 8, 2014 for a stay in January 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Our family stayed at penryhn over the new year holiday, what a beautiful place, rooms all very clean,bright and spacious with very comfy beds. The barn itself was nicely set up with its underfloor heating keeping the place lovely and warm and also the log burner already to be lit, it was nice to be able to all sit around the table in the dining room and have our meals( the 2 bottles of wine and bowl of fresh fruit was a nice touch too). I was unsure about staying so close to the owners property whether it would be private enough for our family of 8 adults 3 kids and 2 dogs, but they were lovely and we only seen them when they let the horses out. The utility room was a god send for our wet walking gear and boots to dry out. The stars of a night really are amazing, best we have ever seen. All in all great place to stay for scenery and wildlife the location is great, we would like to go back maybe in the summer when the weather is a bit better. Quality place to stay.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
User596
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place, lovely location.”
Reviewed December 3, 2013 for a stay in December 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Really nice place: range cooker, wood burner, under floor heating, great showers, comfy beds. Good location for hiking and mountain biking; very quiet, very peaceful. Walking distance (1.5 miles) to the nearest village with a really good pub (Royal Oak). Mic very kindly booked this for us since there's no mobile phone signal.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LisaBosto...
Boston, UK
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Should I not just keep this secret to myself?”
Reviewed June 23, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

We were actually planning to go to the Hay on Wye literature festival but found accommodation near Hay very expensive with plenty of evidence that prices are set particularly high for the days around the festival, so decided to look slightly further afield. Penrhyn Barn is about 45 miles from Hay and the journey is about an hour by car but the drive is very pretty and the roads clear all the way to Hay.

Jacqui and Mic were there to welcome us and then left us in peace to enjoy a very happy week in this thoughtfully equipped and beautifully restored barn. The fire was layed and ready to light which we could not imagine needing as we arrived on a gorgeous spring day but a few days later we appreciated being able to build a fire and settle down to some serious games.

As a group of family and friends we appreciated the large and spacious communal area downstairs with plenty of comfy chairs for everyone but at the there are 4 bathrooms servicing 5 bedrooms so we had plenty of privacy when we needed it. One of the bathrooms has a jacuzzi bath and my single bad experience happened when I switched it on without knowing how to switch it off again and had to bleat for help after I thought I may have to spend the rest of my holiday in the bubbling water.

The views across the fields and hills is stunning from most of the windows throughout the barn so we didn't feel driven out of the comfort of the easy chairs to appreciate our surroundings and the days that we did not go to Hay festival were spent exploring the valley and Llandovery where we found some super tea places and pubs and a very accommodating bakery where they baked a delicious birthday cake for one of our party.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cosy, well equipped barn in a stunning location
Liked least: The people before us had gone home with the biggest casserole dish and only returned it just before we were due to leave ourselves
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 30, 2017
Thank you for staying at Penrhyn and for taking the time to give us a review. I love Hay festival of literature and try to attend as many events as I can. (I'm writing a novel). Penrhyn is the perfect place to stay when visiting the festival, it's a lovely journey to Hay and the setting is so peaceful away from the buzz of Hay at this time of year.
We would love to welcome you back any time, but especially during the festival, I enjoyed our discussions about the various artists. Thank you once again.
Jacquie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam H
Stroud, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stunning views, loads for the kids to do, friendly owners and very peacful”
Reviewed June 10, 2013 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

I went here for my 30th birthday. There were 6 adults, 5 kids and a dog. The barn was plenty big enough for all guests and with 3 shower rooms there wasn't any ques for the bathroom!

The location of Penrhyn Barn is truly magnificent, sloping valleys, kestrels soaring on the thermals, a river gorge and not another person in sight. The kids really enjoyed the horses and the lovely border collie called 'Tess' who we adopted for most of the weekend. The dad's took out a canoe and nearly fell in the water much to the entertainment of the mums. There is a small beach where the kids can cool off and skim stones.

This is a great place to take the whole family, especially if you have young kids. I re-kindled many memories from childhood and was happy to see my son entertained by just the surroundings - he was really upset to leave so i'm sure we'll be going back again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Clean facilities and bedding, Location, Friendly owners
Liked least: Can't think of anything!
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing