We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“" A disco pretending to be a hotel"”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Castle Hotel
Ranked #3 of 13 Llandovery B&B and Inns
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“" A disco pretending to be a hotel"”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

When we arrived we were shown up to our room which was roomy clean and had an excellent ensuite. It is a lovely old building full of character and charm.
When we came down wewere planning to have a meal there but on realising how much noise there was we decided to eat somewhere else. When we came back we realised that there was an 18th birthday going on in the function room( a fact i feel we should have been told earlier).At eleven pm i enquired what time the disco was going onto as the noise in our room was terrible and was told"The bar shuts at 11.30 and we hope to close at midnight". We would have preferred to get to sleep earlier but accepted this. However when the noise was still going on at 12.15 I tried ringing reception again, the phone was answered by someone who pretended to be a local tyre and battery firm! On ringing back i was told the party was going on till 2 in the morning by someone who gave the impression of being drunk.On trying reception again at 1am they told us they were just getting people out.The noise finally finished at about 1.15.
We were supposed to be stopping for 2 nights but one night was more than enough, although the staff were appolagetic the next morning it was to late and we couldnt wait to leave.
Although it is a lovely hotel it is not suitable for anyone wanting a quiet get away.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank dave w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    134
    54
    14
    14
See reviews for
49
210
14
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

This place ticked all the boxes for us, old charming building, spacious modern rooms, clean and well done up. Dining rooms with traditional feel, stone walls, roaring fire, great food, friendly staff, cool ruins of a castle next door!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fehontastic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
222 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

Cant fault this place staff are all very keen to help. And the food is excellent well done to Gareth and his team. Hotel is central to a lot of great walks and drives. Also Llandovery itself is a great place to look around.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deepsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brynamman, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

Lovely old-style Hotel in Mid Wales. The rooms are very well appointed and very clean and extremely toasty and welcoming! It was my first time here and although the weather was cold, the welcome was warm - from the first minute there the staff were very attentive and supportive. They make sure everything is ok every step of the way throughout your stay, and if there is a concern, it is addressed and amended instantly without any problem. My boyfriend and I felt very welcome.
The food choice is excellent, a mix of varied fish dishes, steaks, pies, pork, lamb, and a decent range of vegetarian dishes also, which is good to see as usually that diet is left wanting on some other's menus. Dish presentation was great and there was just enough food to enjoy in the portions. Seating area is in the main pub part and not really a restaurant, so no need to dress up and maybe a more restaurant-style setting option would have been nice.
All in all I would go back there for a special stay over, the only unfortunate thing is the surrounding area, but that is nothing that the Hotel can control.

Room Tip: The Suites are front-facing onto the main road, so traffic can be a little noisy if at a busy time...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caitlyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

We have been eating here for a number of years through all the previous owners. Always had a lovely meal amid lovely old world charm. However, the new owners have got this so wrong!! We booked a table for the restaurant as we have many times before, we were even asked if we wanted to choose a table. They never told us that the restaurant was no longer used. Dressed up ready for a lovely intimate meal only to be shown to what used to be a lovely area to wait for your table or to have coffee afterwards. Lovely big open fire with leather settees. Now it is just another bar area with a few tables to have a meal at, nothing special and absolutely no privacy. In with all the drinkers who hogged the only last settee left. We were rather taken aback and my companion was all for leaving as this was nothing like we had expected. However, I decided to stick it out as was just hungry by now. The menu is pretty much bar food at restaurant prices without the surroundings. We both wanted venison as our main course and we were told they had run out, so why was it still on the blackboard on the specials list. Run out on a Friday night, someone forgot to order that week I think!! So had to rethink what we wanted. Ended up with steak (predictable) and the cheapest was £16.00 so be prepared. Prices were much higher than this. Average for a main course was about £17/£18, so really should not be in the bar with all and sundry walking in with their drinks. Felt very overdressed by this time, jeans and trainers order of the day. The food was very well cooked, but I expect it to be for the prices they were charging. Starters upwards of £6, so were desserts. We did mention about the restaurant area being closed, they told us just used for functions now, what a waste. I think he was the manager, he never actually introduced himself, told us they were trying for a pub experience!!! Suggest you just keep it that way and don't try and please everybody and end up pleasing no-one. Far too expensive for a pub meal!! Will not go again and could not recommend, so have lost local regular customers now. Suggest putting some kind of screen over front doors because if you sit at the table we had, you spend the whole evening turning away from the blinding headlights that come straight through the walkway. Ruined what was a lovely place to eat. Can't comment about the rooms, but look nice on the website.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

My wife and I travelled to watch Doncaster play Llandovery RUFC in the cup. What an excellent choice of accomodation. The staff were friendly , the room very comfortable. we had a meal in the bar whch was superb. Would recommend the Castle Hotel to anyone travelling in mid Wales.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AAL6263
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tasteinnwales, Manager at Castle Hotel, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
We are very glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Although for ourselves, we were a little disappointed with the rugby result - I'm sure the result, made an excellent start to your weekend away.

Many Thanks

Gareth Davies
gareth@tasteinnwales.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

Excellent hotel in Mid Wales, staff and food are the stand out factors here. Staff are brilliant all of them, and that cant be said about many places. Food is a mixture of traditional Welsh with a modern twist, but the thing that this place special is the 'Josper' oven. I have not come across anywhere else with one, and its great to have that barbecue flavour to steak and their Mezze's are excellent.

I have stayed here a lot, the surrounding area is amazing with loads of things to do and explore.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richard t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tasteinnwales, Manager at Castle Hotel, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Thank you for your appreciative comments and we are delighted that you enjoy your meal with
us.

Gareth Davies
gareth@tasteinnwales.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llandovery
11.3 mi away
The Cawdor
The Cawdor
#2 of 3 in Llandeilo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
20.5 mi away
Peterstone Court Hotel
Peterstone Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanhamlach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 871 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kings Head Inn
Kings Head Inn
#5 of 13 in Llandovery
4.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
The Royal Oak Inn
The Royal Oak Inn
#6 of 13 in Llandovery
4.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Drovers Bed and Breakfast
The Drovers Bed and Breakfast
#9 of 13 in Llandovery
5.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
5.7 mi away
Llanerchindda Farm
Llanerchindda Farm
#1 of 13 in Llandovery
5.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Hotel

Property: Castle Hotel
Address: Kings Road, Llandovery SA20 0AP, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Carmarthenshire > Llandovery
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Llandovery
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly refurbished Castle Hotel in Llandovery has recently been reopened, by the small family run business, Taste Inn Wales owned and managed Sean Gerrard, Glyn and Jessica Bridgeman. The rooms, lovingly refurbished and their interior is honest, friendly and welcoming to all. Whether you are planning an outdoor activity break on the mountains, water, or in the air, our facilities are ideally suited to help you rest, recharge and recover. The bar and restaurant serve high quality local produce, cooked simply and beautifully. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Hotel Llandovery, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing