We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, every which way round!”
Review of Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Castle Hotel
Ranked #3 of 13 Llandovery B&B and Inns
Lampeter, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Lovely, every which way round!”
Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

We live fairly locally and have used the Castle for Sunday lunches, evening meals as well as stay-overs when needing to be near the school for events late at night. The staff are always helpful and the surroundings comfortable and unpretentious. I would have no worries staying here as a single female or male traveller or as a couple or family. The only ( slight) concern is that we seem to be running out of things to try on the menu! Time for a review? A*****

Stayed December 2012
Helpful?
Thank judb20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tasteinnwales, Manager at Castle Hotel, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Dear JudB20,

Many thanks for your kind words, its reasuing to know that our hard work has paid off!

With kind regards

Gareth Davies
Manager
gareth@tasteinnwales.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    153
    58
    14
    15
See reviews for
53
228
16
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2012

The Castle Hotel is just great. We have been here at least 10 times and are never dissapointed. We go for a night or two to get away. The food is amazing and the wine is really good too. The rooms are spacious and comfortable. The lounge and bar are cosy with open fires and leather sofas. The staff are really friendly and nothing is too much trouble. If you are looking for a great place to stay to get away from all the stress of normal life then you should give them a visit. See you all soon Mr & Mrs Unwin.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nogotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2012

My first trip away on my own. I was greeted by friendly staff and shown to an excellent room with a comfortable bed and one of the best showers that I can remember. Later in the bar I met the man who had fitted out all the rooms. The food was very good, both in the evening and at breakfast. My only request would be for more choice for a vegetarian. I will return in better weather

Stayed November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ian-of-Leics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

stayed here for one night in November, hotel was full with a family group. arrived and was greeted by a very helpful well mannered man who checked us in and showed us to our room, the room was lovely- room 2 the Lord Nelson suite, very impressive with everything you could possible need, very well thought out with old furniture and modern facilities working well together, lovely roll top bath with plenty of hot water, room temperature was perfect never felt cool ,the cleaners need to be praised as the room and pulic areas were spotless. the same young man served us drinks in the afternoon and directed us to the comfy chairs in front of the open fire, nice and relaxing, we had dinner there too which was very good, hot and tasty with some very modern quirkiness which i like! wine list was good as was menu selection with there being many different options i could have chosen! slept really well bed was very comfortable, was woken by the above mention family groups children running around the corridors, which as not a big deal, went down for breakfast, there were 3 girls serving, one asked if we wanted tea or coffee, we ordered coffee which we got immediately, but then nobody came to take our breakfast order, all thinking that the other had done it! the family group were causing a little chaos as people were coming down joining the same table with people swapping tables etc giving them a hard time keeping up with who had been served or not, when we eventually got their attention we did get a very nice breakfast if maybe a little small, my husband ordered bacon, egg and sausage, and got just one of each, plus we were only given 1 slice of toast each, otherwise nice, just make sure you ask for exactly what you would like, highly recommended, would like to congratulate the young man( sorry dont know his name) a true asset to the company and sooo good at his job, a true role model for the others, and well liked by the drinking locals, carry on the good work! we will be back as your not too far from us! thanks

Room Tip: lord nelson room, attic room looks good too
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beth p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Have been here several times before and noticed that the staff have changed considerably.
Food menu is still the same with no real changes, although food is ok..

I expected more but got less.

Maybe the next visit will be better.

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank zumba_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tasteinnwales, Manager at Castle Hotel, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Dear zumba_11,

One of our prime goals is to deliver memorable and exceptional service experience to our guests and if we fail to do so on this occasion it leaves us restless and keen to make it right.

We are constantly reviewing our menus and try to keep the dishes fresh and seasonal. The printed al la carte menu changes monthly and we also have the specials board with changes daily if not twice-daily.

I sincerely apologise that we did not deliver to the standard you wished for and should you decide to return to the Castle, which I very much hope that you will, I hope we can surpass your expectations.

With all good wishes.

Gareth Davies
Manager
gareth@tasteinnwales.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We booked a last minute overnight here when our travel plans changed. After a delightful journey through the Brecon Beacons, we arrived to be given one of their 'best rooms' for the price of a 'good' one. This was spacious and well furnished. Though there are clearly some areas of this hotel which have still to be refurbished, it presents a warm, welcoming atmosphere. We had dinner in one of the many informal eating areas: the food is excellent - interesting and well-prepared and service in all parts of the establishment is friendly and professional. There is an most unusual shop attached to the hotel - a mix of African and Welsh goods. The young partners who recently took over this hotel and have engineered the changes own several other places in mid Wales. Judging by The Castle, they will be equally well worth trying.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank midlandmusician
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontypridd
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We stayed here with friends to see a rugby match at the end of August.
This hotel has recently reopened. We were met at reception and were able to check in early,
The staff were attentive and polite.
After a longish trek we located our room which was very clean and with adequate tea and coffee making facilities. The bathroom was also very well appointed.
After the game we had a very enjoyable drink in the bar and later had a meal. The food was well cooked and presented by very personable staff. We were also able to sit outside for a last drink.
This hotel is very welcoming and we would not hesitate to recommend to friends and stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JeffmaryPontypridd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llandovery
10.2 mi away
The Plough Inn
The Plough Inn
#1 of 3 in Llandeilo
826 reviews
11.4 mi away
White Hart Inn
White Hart Inn
#3 of 3 in Llandeilo
90 reviews
17.4 mi away
Castle of Brecon
Castle of Brecon
#2 of 2 in Brecon
469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Kings Head Inn
Kings Head Inn
#4 of 13 in Llandovery
166 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Level Crossing
The Level Crossing
#2 of 5 in Llandovery
67 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Drovers Bed and Breakfast
The Drovers Bed and Breakfast
#8 of 13 in Llandovery
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Hotel

Property: Castle Hotel
Address: Kings Road, Llandovery SA20 0AP, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Carmarthenshire > Llandovery
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Llandovery
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly refurbished Castle Hotel in Llandovery has recently been reopened, by the small family run business, Taste Inn Wales owned and managed Sean Gerrard, Glyn and Jessica Bridgeman. The rooms, lovingly refurbished and their interior is honest, friendly and welcoming to all. Whether you are planning an outdoor activity break on the mountains, water, or in the air, our facilities are ideally suited to help you rest, recharge and recover. The bar and restaurant serve high quality local produce, cooked simply and beautifully. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Hotel Llandovery, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing