We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Castle Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$116
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ty Carreg(Llanwrtyd Wells)
$100
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Cawdor(Llandeilo)
$166
$161
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
White Hart Inn(Llandeilo)
$78
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Lake Country House & Spa(Llangammarch Wells)
$135
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bronfelin Holiday Cottage(Llanwrtyd Wells)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Belle Vue Hotel(Llanwrtyd Wells)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (486)
Filter reviews
486 results
Traveler rating
216
170
63
19
18
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
216
170
63
19
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe lord nelson suitefour poster bedsteaklovely old hotelporkexcellent foodthe staff were extremely friendlyquirky hotelwould stay againhomemade cookieshuge bathroomold buildingevening mealdog friendly hoteltoilet paperfull welsh breakfastcreaky floorboards
Filter
Updating list...
445 - 450 of 486 reviews
Reviewed November 24, 2012

My first trip away on my own. I was greeted by friendly staff and shown to an excellent room with a comfortable bed and one of the best showers that I can remember. Later in the bar I met the man who had fitted out all the rooms. The food was very good, both in the evening and at breakfast. My only request would be for more choice for a vegetarian. I will return in better weather

Stayed: November 2012
Thank Ian-of-Leics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

stayed here for one night in November, hotel was full with a family group. arrived and was greeted by a very helpful well mannered man who checked us in and showed us to our room, the room was lovely- room 2 the Lord Nelson suite, very impressive with everything you could possible need, very well thought out with old furniture and modern facilities working well together, lovely roll top bath with plenty of hot water, room temperature was perfect never felt cool ,the cleaners need to be praised as the room and pulic areas were spotless. the same young man served us drinks in the afternoon and directed us to the comfy chairs in front of the open fire, nice and relaxing, we had dinner there too which was very good, hot and tasty with some very modern quirkiness which i like! wine list was good as was menu selection with there being many different options i could have chosen! slept really well bed was very comfortable, was woken by the above mention family groups children running around the corridors, which as not a big deal, went down for breakfast, there were 3 girls serving, one asked if we wanted tea or coffee, we ordered coffee which we got immediately, but then nobody came to take our breakfast order, all thinking that the other had done it! the family group were causing a little chaos as people were coming down joining the same table with people swapping tables etc giving them a hard time keeping up with who had been served or not, when we eventually got their attention we did get a very nice breakfast if maybe a little small, my husband ordered bacon, egg and sausage, and got just one of each, plus we were only given 1 slice of toast each, otherwise nice, just make sure you ask for exactly what you would like, highly recommended, would like to congratulate the young man( sorry dont know his name) a true asset to the company and sooo good at his job, a true role model for the others, and well liked by the drinking locals, carry on the good work! we will be back as your not too far from us! thanks

Room Tip: lord nelson room, attic room looks good too
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beth p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Have been here several times before and noticed that the staff have changed considerably.
Food menu is still the same with no real changes, although food is ok..

I expected more but got less.

Maybe the next visit will be better.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
2  Thank zumba_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tasteinnwales, Manager at Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2012

Dear zumba_11,

One of our prime goals is to deliver memorable and exceptional service experience to our guests and if we fail to do so on this occasion it leaves us restless and keen to make it right.

We are constantly reviewing our menus and try to keep the dishes fresh and seasonal. The printed al la carte menu changes monthly and we also have the specials board with changes daily if not twice-daily.

I sincerely apologise that we did not deliver to the standard you wished for and should you decide to return to the Castle, which I very much hope that you will, I hope we can surpass your expectations.

With all good wishes.

Gareth Davies
Manager
gareth@tasteinnwales.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We booked a last minute overnight here when our travel plans changed. After a delightful journey through the Brecon Beacons, we arrived to be given one of their 'best rooms' for the price of a 'good' one. This was spacious and well furnished. Though there are clearly some areas of this hotel which have still to be refurbished, it presents a warm, welcoming atmosphere. We had dinner in one of the many informal eating areas: the food is excellent - interesting and well-prepared and service in all parts of the establishment is friendly and professional. There is an most unusual shop attached to the hotel - a mix of African and Welsh goods. The young partners who recently took over this hotel and have engineered the changes own several other places in mid Wales. Judging by The Castle, they will be equally well worth trying.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank midlandmusician
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We stayed here with friends to see a rugby match at the end of August.
This hotel has recently reopened. We were met at reception and were able to check in early,
The staff were attentive and polite.
After a longish trek we located our room which was very clean and with adequate tea and coffee making facilities. The bathroom was also very well appointed.
After the game we had a very enjoyable drink in the bar and later had a meal. The food was well cooked and presented by very personable staff. We were also able to sit outside for a last drink.
This hotel is very welcoming and we would not hesitate to recommend to friends and stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JeffmaryPontypridd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews